Sunday Post – 15th January 2017

Standard

Sunday Post

This is part of the weekly meme over at the Caffeinated Book Reviewer, where book bloggers can share the books and blogs they have written.

This week was full throttle as I started back at Northbrook with the new term – the first session is my least favourite as we always have a mound of admin to wade through, but it was lovely to see everyone again. I also resumed my exercise classes – more fun and I wasn’t as stiff and sore as I thought I’d be, which was also a bonus! On Wednesday evening, I went to see a film of the live performance of The Tempest by the RSC at Stratford at the Connaught in Worthing. It was amazing – the special effects and the performances were stunning and filled me with the desire to see the real thing at The Barbican. I should have gone to the monthly West Sussex Writers’ meeting on Thursday night but the weather had other ideas. The rain turned to sleet with the forecast for snow later in the evening and I decided not venture out – I don’t do driving in snow if I can possibly avoid it. This week-end I’m grannying again, which is lovely as ever.

This week I have read:
A Symphony of Echoes – Book 2 of The Chronicles of St Mary’s by Jodi Taylor
In the second book in the Chronicles of St Mary’s series, Max and the team visit Victorian London in asymphonyofechoessearch of Jack the Ripper, witness the murder of Archbishop Thomas a Becket in Canterbury Cathedral, and discover that dodos make a grockling noise when eating cucumber sandwiches.

But they must also confront an enemy intent on destroying St Mary’s – an enemy willing, if necessary, to destroy History itself to do it.

This time-travelling adrenaline-filled adventure is every bit as foot to the floor as the first book, Just One Damned Thing After Another. I enjoyed following the exploits of Max and her fellow historians as they witness and chronicle some of the most famous events in History at great risk to their lives and look forward to continuing with this series.

Emperor of the Fireflies – Book 2 of the Tide Dragons series by Sarah Ash
emperorofthefirefliesKai and Masao, once enemies, are now condemned to the sea by the Tide Dragons Sacrifice. If Hotaru, the new emperor, is unable to summon the Tide Dragons of Ebb and Flood at the Autumn Moon Festival, he will forfeit the right to rule Cipangu. The two Sacrifices face a desperate race against time to free themselves from this ancient curse before Hotaru binds them with forbidden magic to obey his will – forever.

Sakami, Kai’s lover, has become a kitsune, a fox spirit. She is determined to do all in her power to save him – but is Hotaru, aided by his treacherous shikigami, Kurika, just too formidable an opponent to overcome?

This is a joy. I thoroughly enjoyed revisiting this vividly depicted Japanese world and quickly got swept back up into the story from where The Flood Dragon’s Sacrifice left off. I love the fact that we not only get a ringside seat at what is going on with the protagonists, but we also get to know what is driving the main antagonists, too. It makes for an enjoyably nuanced tale. I’ll be reviewing it in due course.

My posts last week:
Sunday Post – 8th January 2017

Review of The King’s Peace – Book 1 of the Tir Tanagiri series by Jo Walton

Teaser Tuesday featuring Emperor of the Fireflies – Book 2 of the Tide Dragons by Sarah Ash

Shoot for the Moon 2016 Challenge – How Did I Do?

My Outstanding Books of 2016

Friday Faceoff – Nobody likes a clown at midnight… featuring Chicot the Jester by Alexandre Dumas

Review of The Falconer – Book 1 of The Falconer series by Elizabeth May

Interesting/outstanding blogs and articles that have caught my attention during the last week, in no particular order:
50 Word Stories: Breakfast Memories https://richardankers.com/2017/01/14/50-word-stories-breakfast-memories/ Another quirky offering from the talented Richard Ankers

Inspirational F. Scott Fitzgerald quotes http://logicalquotes.com/f-scott-fitzgerald-quotes/
There are some really smart, enjoyably clever quotes in this post.

10 of the Best Short Literary Epitaphs https://interestingliterature.com/2017/01/13/10-of-the-best-short-literary-epitaphs/ …and this one does exactly what it says…

Most Requested #6 Jan 2017 https://librarystaffpicks.wordpress.com/2017/01/12/most-requested-6-jan-2017/ It always makes fascinating reading to discover what is the most requested book in the Ballyroan area

Thursday Doors https://jeanreinhardt.wordpress.com/2017/01/12/thursday-doors-74/ This popular weekly post looking at different doors takes a slightly grim turn…

Many thanks for visiting and taking the time and trouble to comment – and may you have a wonderful reading and blogging week.

27 responses »

  1. Sounds like your work week was off to a good start, although all the admin sounds less fun. we had some rain and a bit of snow, but mostly it just snowed hard and then was gone soon again. A Symphony of Echoes sounds like a good read, I like the cover for that one. Have a great week!

    • Oh, it’s a hoot – with lots going on:). I’m so glad I discovered this series at the end of last year, it’s been a joy so far – and the good news is there are more books to come.

  2. Oh it sounds as if things are getting busy! I’m glad you got through all of the admin work as that sounds frustrating, but good to get it out of the way I guess.

    I’ve never seen a film of a live performance before but it sounds interesting!

    • I’d never seen a film of a live performance before, either. We had to be in our seats well before the performance – there were some interviews with the actors and director telling us what they were looking to achieve and shots of the theatre and then when the curtain went up – we sat back and enjoyed the performance. But I do want to see this production live, now I’ve watched the film. I LOVE this play…

    • Yes… it was a bit full-on. They are growing up SO fast. Frances is now 12 and Oscar is 7 – I’m very glad we’ve also got them next week-end as J is off work for the whole week-end, which will make it more fun and we’re also celebrating my dad’s birthday.

  3. A Symphony of Echoes sounds great, one of the compelling things about that series for me as a prospective read is finding out what historical events the author chooses to visit. 🙂 I am definitely going to read those!

    I’m not fond of the snowy weather when driving either!

    • I highly recommend the Chronicles of St Mary’s series – I’ll be honest – it doesn’t emphasise too much about the historical side of it. But Taylor’s writing is just so punchy and entertaining, I think she could make the phone directory and page-turner:)

  4. You’ve had a good “first week back”. I am finishing up my “preparation weekend” with first class day at the university Wed. followed by second class session of my Kiddie Class on Thurs. I also have a doctor’s appointment Thurs. with a new PCP and hope to get some answers as to why I feel so lousy all the time. My friend told me about vitamin B 12 shots for us “older folks.” I’m going to ask him about them. Have I mentioned to you how much I enjoy and how often I “check out” the interesting/outstanding blog posts you mention? Just one more thing to thank you for, Hon!

  5. I’m with you on driving in inclement winter weather. I postponed a trip to Cape Cod to visit my parents a couple weekends ago because of a snowstorm. No one likes to drive in that, and you’re safer (and warmer / drier) inside, too.

    On another note: That’s great about The Tempest! One of your manuscripts is inspired by or tied in with that story somehow, right? So it must have been meaningful on that level to watch the film as well. Where is the Barbican, btw? Is it a theater in London?

    • Yes… and given the fact that it was a talk – I just didn’t feel it was worth spinning out the car – again! You’re so right about The Tempest – and I was thrilled to see such a quality production. Yes – the Barbican is a theatre complex on the banks of the Thames:).

    • When I saw it was on, I was really keen to get to see it. I’ve already started the rewrite – but it was very comforting as I was able to check whether there were any anomalies or aspects I’d got wrong and while Prospero was far more cuddly and kind than my version, everything lined up, while Caliban just broke my heart all over again…:)

  6. Looks like you’ve had another busy week :). I envy you watching the life performance movie :). I’ve watched “Winter’s Tale” ballet this way and it was amazing… I wish to see more.
    And thank you for sharing the Thursday Doors post – I’ve read it with interest!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.