Can’t-Wait Wednesday – 3rd April, 2024 #Brainfluffbookblog #CWC #WOW

Standard

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we’re excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they’re books that have yet to be released. It’s based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine.

This week’s Can’t-Wait offering:

Myth-Touched – Book 2 of the Shadows of Eireland series by Joanna Maciejewska – release date – 20th April 2024

#urban fantasy adventure #feisty heroine #post-apocalyptic setting

BLURB: In the war, being hunted by mythborn was day to day life. Peacetime had changed things, but myth-touched Kaja never expected to be hunted alongside the mythborn…

With her life hanging by a thread, Kaja had little time to consider Eithne’s offer of aid. Now, free of her affliction, she bears the consequences of that decision. Stuck among her former enemies, caught navigating the nuances of lies and politics, she’s presented with little choice but to accept the out offered by Cathal, leader of the Scáthanna.

But Cathal and his team have troubles of their own as an invisible enemy haunts their steps. If Kaja helps them, she’ll be targeted as well, and when dealing with a faceless enemy, the only way to survive is by carefully choosing allies and tempering trust.

Failure could cost their lives.

I’m a fan of Joanna’s writing – her cracking Sand & Sorcery series, Pacts Arcane and Otherwise, is one of my all-time favourites – see my reviews of By the Pact, Scars of Stone, Shadows of Kaighal and Demon Siege, in addition to my review of the first book in this urban fantasy adventure set in Ireland, Humanborn. So when I saw this one was shortly to become available, I immediately pre-ordered a copy as I’ve often thought of Kaja and her plight since reading the first book. This is one I’m keenly anticipating!

16 responses »

    • She’s a very talented author with a particular knack for writing atmospheric and memorable settings… This is one I’m particularly looking forward to reading:)).

  1. While I am not fond of books re sorcery, I must admit I like the po’d look of the lady on the cover.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.