Daily Archives: April 16, 2024

Review of INDIE Ebook Quarter Share – Book 1 of the Golden Age of the Solar Clipper series by Nathan Lowell #BrainfluffINDIEbookreview #QuarterSharebookreview

Standard

This is one of the reviews that I wrote during spells in the last three years when I was well enough to do so – but then got sick again and didn’t post it.

BLURB: When his mother dies in a flitter crash, eighteen-year-old Ishmael Horatio Wang must find a job with the planet company or leave the system–and NerisCo isn’t hiring. With credits running low, and prospects limited, he has just one hope…to enlist for two years with a deep space commercial freighter. Ishmael, who only rarely visited the Neris Orbital, and has never been off-planet alone before, finds himself part of an eclectic crew sailing a deep space leviathan between the stars.

REVIEW: This isn’t the first time I’d read this author’s work – I enjoyed The Wizard’s Butler. But I doubt that I would have made the hop sideways from fantasy to space opera, without Himself having done so, first. And I’ll join in the general chorus that resounds about this series of books – it really has a different feel from most space opera. There are no aliens, no spectacular space battles. It’s a story of a teenage boy in first-person viewpoint, who is just a bit too old to get any proper help when he is unexpectedly orphaned – and how he fares when he joins a merchant spaceship. It’s all about how to make coffee, coping with watch patterns, making friends and money.

Ishmael is clearly very clever and rather precocious in that way only children often are, especially if they’ve been especially close to a single parent. And his relationship with his mother is key. She was an ancient literature professor and obviously a strong, opinionated woman with a lot of passion, who loved her son very much. I inhaled this book and then went straight onto the next. I don’t do that very often – and I’m delighted to discover that there are a fair few books in this series. When reading this one, I kept turning the pages as I got lost in the world, rooting for Ishmael to succeed on board, while he continued growing up. I’m very much looking forward to the next book, Half Share.

Highly recommended for fans of space opera, especially if you enjoy books where it’s more about the world rather than what happens in it. 9/10

After writing the above review, I went ahead and read the read all the books in this twelve-book series, which charts Ishmael’s progress as a merchanter and takes the story in some unexpected places. It’s stayed in my memory as an unusual space opera reading experience, but overall very enjoyable.