Can’t-Wait Wednesday – 1st November, 2023 #Brainfluffbookblog #CWC #WOW

Standard

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we’re excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they’re books that have yet to be released. It’s based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine.

This week’s Can’t-Wait offering – The Hunting Moon – Book 2 of The Luminaries series by Susan Dennard – release date – 7th November, 2023

#fantasy #feisty heroine #YA

BLURB: Winnie Wednesday has gotten everything she thought she wanted. She passed the deadly hunter trials, her family has been welcomed back into the Luminaries, and overnight, she has become a local celebrity.

The Girl Who Jumped. The Girl Who Got Bitten.

Unfortunately, it all feels wrong. For one, nobody will believe her about the new nightmare called the Whisperer that’s killing hunters each night. Everyone blames the werewolf, even though Winnie is certain the wolf is innocent.

On top of that, following her dad’s convoluted clues about the Dianas, their magic, and what happened in Hemlock Falls four years ago is leaving her with more questions than answers.

Then to complicate it all, there is still only one person who can help her: Jay Friday, the boy with plenty of problems all his own.

As bodies and secrets pile up around town, Winnie finds herself questioning what it means to be a true Wednesday and a true Luminary—and also where her fierce-hearted loyalties might ultimately have to lie.
It’s a while since I tucked into The Luminaries – see my review – but it’s proved to be a highly memorable read, as I was immediately keen to get hold of this one to answer a host of the many unanswered questions left at the end of the first book. Apart from anything else, I also want more time in that amazing forest Dennard created… So I’m delighted to have got hold of this book and it’s next up in my reading queue😊.

25 responses »

    • Thank you, Stephanie:). I did have a few quibbles with The Luminaries. But it certainly stuck in my head – so I’m very pleased to have a copy of this one, too.

    • Thank you, Jody – this is one where you definitely need to have read the first book before tucking into this one:). But I like Dennard’s writing anyway – and this is one I’ve been waiting for, so I was delighted to get the arc:)).

  1. I keep meaning to start this series. I’ve never seen that cover before. It’s just as pretty as the US version!

  2. I would really like to read this series. I have the first two books in her Witchland series I want to read. I hope you love this when you read it!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.