Friday Faceoff – Nobody likes a clown at midnight…

Standard

This meme was started by Books by Proxy, whose fabulous idea was to compare UK and US book covers and decide which is we prefer. This week the theme is clowns. To be honest I’ve found this one a bit of a nightmare, but have finally tracked down this Alexandre Dumas, offering – Chicot the Jester.

 

chicotThis is the cover produced by Boomer Books in July 2008 and is my favourite. It is apparently taken from a painting and I love the grin, the sense this young man has been around, knows the score and enjoys his life.

 

chicot1This Latvian cover produced by Vārniene in 1993 also appears to refer to a classical painting. My ignorance of classical art means that I cannot tell if this is a book cover artist’s effort or the reproduction of an actual picture, but the sheen on the silk dress is lovely and eye-catching.

 

chicot2This edition is presumably the cover of the free classical edition available on Kindle and accounts for the drab, generic effort featuring a likeness of Dumas instead of trying to tempt the reader to pick this one off the shelf.

 

chicot3This Spanish edition, produced in June 2013 by Createspace features a young woman, presumably the woman of Monsoreau of the title. It’s a lovely portrait and I look at it and wonder who she was. Which cover is your favourite?

17 responses »

  1. I think the first thing that comes to my mind when one says Clowns is “It” by stephen King . I do like your choice though , granted I’m unsure which cover to pick as my favorite , I can definitely say the dull Kindle cover is the worst

  2. The Kindle cover shows how little they care. The first cover is brilliant. I like the Latvian cover too. It gives more information that the Spanish one, and I love the shiny dress 🙂

  3. The first one is my favorite as well, there’s lost of personality in how that character is depicted. That kindle cover is my least favorite of these, it looks so bland. Wouldn’t entice me to grab it.

Leave a Reply

