Sunday Post – 9th July 2017

Standard

This is part of the weekly meme over at the Caffeinated Book Reviewer, where book bloggers can share the books and blogs they have written.

Last Sunday was my birthday party – held by my marvellous mother and it gave a great excuse to provide a gathering of the clan. It was a wonderful occasion with a purple theme (to match my new hair colour) and rounded off the now regular ritual of the family rounders game. Once again, we were very fortunate with the weather which was warm and sunny – ideal for a party in the garden.

During the week, I’ve been enjoying Wimbledon – I’ve loved watching it since I was a teenager who played tennis for the school – and found the current heatwave a joy. It has brought back so many happy memories of other hot summers years ago.

On Tuesday, my sister and I attended a talk on the history of watches at Worthing Library given by one of my writing group buddies, Geoff Alnutt – aka The Speechpainter. He covered the history of watchmaking in the last century by focusing on ten iconic wrist watches in a fascinating and informative presentation. On the way home, we stopped off to walk along the seafront and up the riverside walk in Littlehampton to admire the stunning sunset, reflected in the pond-smooth sea and river. A magical end to a lovely evening…

This week-end, Oscar is staying with us, after phoning me up to tell me that he had grade As for every subject in his report – including for trying, being polite and working hard, as well as for being academically clever. My sister came over for a meal last night and we plan to have breakfast together at a local café and then walk along the beach before it becomes too crowded.

This week I have read:
Dichronauts by Greg Egan
Seth is a surveyor, along with his friend Theo, a leech-like creature running through his skull who tells Seth what lies to his left and right. Theo, in turn, relies on Seth for mobility, and for ordinary vision looking forwards and backwards. Like everyone else in their world, they are symbionts, depending on each other to survive. In the universe containing Seth’s world, light cannot travel in all directions: there is a “dark cone” to the north and south. Seth can only face to the east (or the west, if he tips his head backwards). If he starts to turn to the north or south, his body stretches out across the landscape, and to rotate as far as north-north-east is every bit as impossible as accelerating to the speed of light. Every living thing in Seth’s world is in a state of perpetual migration as they follow the sun’s shifting orbit and the narrow habitable zone it creates. Cities are being constantly disassembled at one edge and rebuilt at the other, with surveyors mapping safe routes ahead. But when Seth and Theo join an expedition to the edge of the habitable zone, they discover a terrifying threat
This is another amazing hard science fiction offering from one of the most inventive, imaginative writers who has ever penned a futuristic story. But you really need to visit Greg Egan’s website to get a real sense of the rules that run this particular world.

The Fallen Kingdom – Book 3 of The Falconer series by Elizabeth May
Aileana Kameron, resurrected by ancient fae magic, returns to the world she once knew with no memory of her past and with dangerous powers she struggles to control. Desperate to break the curse that pits two factions of the fae against each other in a struggle that will decide the fate of the human and fae worlds, her only hope is hidden in an ancient book guarded by the legendary Morrigan, a faery of immense power and cruelty. To save the world and the people she loves, Aileana must learn to harness her dark new powers even as they are slowly destroying her.
A gripping read that brings this engrossing YA fantasy/steampunk mash-up series to a triumphantly successful conclusion. This series is one of my favourites of the year so far.

Slouch Witch – Book 1 of The Lazy Girl’s Guide to Magic series by Helen Harper
Let’s get one thing straight – Ivy Wilde is not a heroine. In fact, she’s probably the last witch in the world who you’d call if you needed a magical helping hand, regardless of her actual abilities. If it were down to Ivy, she’d spend all day every day on her sofa where she could watch TV, munch junk food and talk to her feline familiar to her heart’s content. However, when a bureaucratic disaster ends up with Ivy as the victim of a case of mistaken identity, she’s yanked very unwillingly into Arcane Branch, the investigative department of the Hermetic Order of the Golden Dawn. Her problems are quadrupled when a valuable object is stolen right from under the Order’s noses. It doesn’t exactly help that she’s been magically bound to Adeptus Exemptus Raphael Winter. He might have piercing sapphire eyes and a body which a cover model would be proud of but, as far as Ivy’s concerned, he’s a walking advertisement for the joyless perils of too much witch-work. And if he makes her go to the gym again, she’s definitely going to turn him into a frog.
Himself tracked this one down – and once he’d read it, immediately commanded I do the same. He’s right. It’s sharp, funny and original with an excellent world and strong magic structure. I’m delighted to report that the sequel is being released any day now.

My posts last week:

Sunday Post – 2nd July 2017

*NEW RELEASE SPECIAL* Review of Eleventh Hour – Book 8 of the Kit Marlowe series by M.J. Trow

Teaser Tuesday featuring The Fallen Kingdom – Book 3 of The Falconer series by Elizabeth May

*NEW RELEASE SPECIAL* Review of Sungrazer – Book 2 of the Outriders series by Jay Posey

Shoot for the Moon Challenge 2017 – June Roundup

Friday Face-off – All that is gold does not glitter featuring Making Money – Book 36 of the Discworld series by Terry Pratchett

*NEW RELEASE SPECIAL* Review of The Fallen Kingdom – Book 3 of The Falconer series by Elizabeth May

Interesting/outstanding blogs and articles that have caught my attention during the last week, in no particular order:
Happy Belated Birthday Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone https://coffeeandcatsblog.wordpress.com/2017/07/08/happy-belated-birthday-harry-potter-and-the-philosophers-stone/ This is a lovely article celebrates the publication of this genre-changing series – and charts the impact it had on one particular family

On the Science of Bibliosmia: That Enticing Book Smell https://interestingliterature.com/2017/07/07/on-the-science-of-bibliosmia-that-enticing-book-smell/ A fascinating look at the history of our relationship with books – other than reading them…

On Writing – food for thought http://earthianhivemind.net/2017/07/07/writing-food-thought/ There are lots of quotes on writing, but these two that Steph has selected are particularly apt and useful.

When Book Covers Fail Characters https://kristentwardowski.wordpress.com/2017/07/05/when-book-covers-fail-book-characters/ I’m fascinated by this subject – as anyone who has read my weekly Friday Face-off will know and Kristen has some interesting things to say about it.

3 Reasons Why I Love Doing Research http://melfka.com/archives/2353 An excellent article on one of the tasks all writers have to tackle – and Joanna’s love of it.

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to visit, like and comment on my site and may you have a great week.

31 responses »

  1. You seem to have had a great week last week, reading wise. I hope you have another awesome one this week. Thank you for sharing the articles of other blogs. I’ll check them out. Enjoy your books, hon and happy reading. 🙂

  2. Happy birthday, and what a fun celebration! Not to mention the lovely purple hair. I’ve always wanted at least a streak of purple. Now I will be lucky to have my hair dyed again…however, my daughter finally found an organic dye that, hopefully, will not cause my skin to break out!

    I am curious about Slouch Witch.

    Enjoy, and thanks for visiting my blog.

    • Thank you, Laurel – and this is FINALLY the last about my birthday! Thank you for your good wishes and best of luck with your hair. I’ve so much enjoyed having my hair another colour! Oh yes – Slouch Witch is definite worth tracking down. Have a great week:)

  3. Glad you had a nice birthday and family get- together. And some nice hot weather too. 🙂 Summer goes by so fast, we might as well be warm right?

    So glad too that the Falconer series ended well for you. I’ve been thinking about reading those for a long time, but just haven’t yet. Your thoughts on the finale there have me thinking maybe I should get to them!

    • Thank you for your kind good wishes, Laura:) Yes! I love purple, too. It happens to be a colour I wear a lot and the colour-themed party was wonderful:)

  4. What a lovely week…almost makes turning a year older worth it! The books look interesting and I am going to MAKE time to check out the blogs you list. My Better Half loves watches and clocks and would really enjoy the lecture. I am envious of your walks with your sister. It must be nice to have a sister. Have a super week. I start both my Bookworm Club for fourth, fifth, and sixth graders and the new teaching job this coming week. Pray for me.

    • Yes… there were times when we were growing up that it all got a bit intense – but I feel very blessed that I have 2 lovely sisters, who are always there if I need them… I will pray for you, Rae:). I know only too well that as well as being a joy, what a demanding profession teaching is.

  5. What a lovely week you had, Sarah! I’m especially glad that you’ve been able to enjoy your sister’s company so much now that she lives nearby. 🙂 And just because it’s worth saying over and over – Happy birthday!

  6. Oh happy birthday! And love the look of a few books there. Hope you have a great week!

  7. Happy belated birthday! Sounds like you had the very best of days and from the picture it doesn’t look like the weather could have been better. And it sounds like the fun has continued with the visits from Oscar and your sister! Have a great week!

  8. Sounds like you had a great time and this summer will provide some great memories for the summers (and winters) to come.
    The lecture on watchmaking sounds interesting and I can’t help wondering whether this knowledge will make its way in some form into one of your stories.
    Also, I’m not sure I’ve said that before, but you look lovely with purple hair!

    • Thank you Joanna:). Yes – I used Geoff’s knowledge when it came to writing Miranda’s Tempest and I wanted information on one of the earliest timepieces created.
      My hair has now faded to a rather fetching pink and I’ve had blonde highlights added to ensure I don’t get a nasty growth ring, but I still really like it:)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.