Sunday Post – 23rd July 2017

Standard

This is part of the weekly meme over at the Caffeinated Book Reviewer, where book bloggers can share the books and blogs they have written.

Last week was once again, a busy social one. On Tuesday I spent the morning with a good friend – we visited Highdown Gardens and had lunch there, before making our way to the pier at Littlehampton to enjoy the cooling sea breeze as it was a wonderfully hot day. In the afternoon Himself and I went to see Frances in her school play which was devised by the students about the difficult subject of bullying. It was a passionate and moving piece and we were very proud of her. I fitted in my Fitstep class on Wednesday morning and taught Tim in the afternoon. I was able to listen to the professional recording of the cast singing the songs that Tim wrote for the film – it was amazing to actually hear them being sung and a fitting end to a fantastically successful year.

On Friday I ran my one day Creative Writing course at Northbrook. Though it was rather hot, we had a very enjoyable day listening to students’ writing and working on exercises designed to spark creativity through the summer break. Both my classes for the autumn term are now full. In the evening I went out to celebrate Sally’s birthday with a meal at The Fish Factory. She had an extra present – the wonderful news that Tim has passed his first English external exam. Last night we went round to my sister’s for a lovely meal and played some games in what is fast-becoming a really enjoyable weekly routine.

This week I have read:
The Masked City – Book 2 of The Invisible Library series by Genevieve Cogman
Librarian-spy Irene is working undercover in an alternative London when her assistant Kai goes missing. She discovers he’s been kidnapped by the fae faction and the repercussions could be fatal. Not just for Kai, but for whole worlds.
This is a real treat. The spiky characters we met in the first book are now tested as they struggle in a very personal way with this latest threat to the fabric of the world. We also get to meet more of the Fae – and a thoroughly annoying, self-centred bunch they are. I loved the depiction of this fantastic version of Venice – highly recommended. Review to follow.

 

One Fell Sweep – Book 3 of The Innkeeper Chronicles by Ilona Andrews
Gertrude Hunt, the nicest Bed and Breakfast in Red Deer, Texas, is glad to have you. We cater to a particular kind of guests, the ones most people don’t know about. The older lady sipping her Mello Yello is called Caldenia, although she prefers Your Grace. She has a sizable bounty on her head, so if you hear kinetic or laser fire, try not to stand close to the target. Our chef is a Quillonian. The claws are a little unsettling, but he is a consummate professional and truly is the best chef in the Galaxy. If you see a dark shadow in the orchard late at night, don’t worry. Someone is patrolling the grounds. Do beware of our dog. Your safety and comfort is our first priority. The inn and your host, Dina Demille, will defend you at all costs. We ask only that you mind other guests and conduct yourself in a polite manner.
This series just goes on getting better and better. I love the steady character development and how we learn more about Dina and her family in each book. This time around, we discover a bit about her sister’s adventures in between another cracking adventure. This is one of my favourite series of the year. Review to follow.

 

Chocolate Chocolate Moons by Jackie Kingon
It is a novel set in the future that tells the story of plus-sized Molly Marbles, who wins a scholarship to Armstrong University on the Moon, a haven for the plus-sized set where her weight drops from 287 Earth pounds to 47.6 without so much as passing up a piece of pie. When boyfriend Drew Barron dumps her, then jumps at a job at Congress Drugs, a company that makes low calorie food supplements, Molly’s weight is the least of her woes. And when her favorite treats, Chocolate Moons are found poisoned, she finds she has bitten off more than she can chew.
When author Jackie Kingon read my review of Sherlock Mars, she got in touch and asked if I would like to read the prequel, which gave an account of how Molly got her nickname. I jumped at the chance, finding this quirky read had stuck in my head. I enjoyed this science fiction cosy mystery. Review to follow.

 

My posts last week:

Sunday Post – 16th July 2017

*NEW RELEASE SPECIAL* Review of Face the Change – Book 3 of the Menopausal Superheroes series by Samantha Bryant

Teaser Tuesday featuring Chocolate Chocolate Moons by Jackie Kingon

*NEW RELEASE SPECIAL* Review of Star Witch – Book 2 of The Lazy Girl’s Guide to Magic by Helen Harper

Discovery Challenge 2017 and Tackling my TBR – June Roundup

Friday Face-off – Any planet is ‘Earth’ to those who live on it… featuring The Empress of Mars by Kage Baker

Review of The Invisible Library – Book 1 of The Invisible Library series by Genevieve Cogman

Interesting/outstanding blogs and articles that have caught my attention during the last week, in no particular order:

50 Word Stories: The Catch https://richardankers.com/2017/07/21/50-word-stories-the-catch/
A nicely sharp story from talented wordsmith Richard Ankers.

Untitled https://photolicioux.wordpress.com/2017/07/17/untitled-110/ I love this rippling effect on the building, which turns it into something far more interesting…

…Istanbul is Constantinople… however many letters it takes to spell it… https://seumasgallacher.com/2017/07/20/istanbul-is-constantinople-is-istanbul-however-many-letters-it-takes-to-spell-it/ This recollection from best-selling indie author Seumas Gallacher reminded me of hours of fun playing similar word games when going away on holiday with my grandparents…

Reverse Bucket List https://dogdaysanddelights.wordpress.com/2017/07/18/reverse-bucket-list/ I really like this idea – as well as striving for more adventures, why not celebrate and recollect those we have already experienced?

British Fantasy Awards 2017 – Good News! https://hierath.wordpress.com/2017/07/14/british-fantasy-awards-2017-good-news/ Good news indeed! This is an impressive and astonishing number of nominations for a small indie press – and I’m honoured to be one of the authors they have signed up this year…

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to visit, like and comment on my site and may you have a great week.

42 responses »

  1. It sure sounds like you had a busy week social wise. Here it’s been a rather warm week too.

    I heard good things about the Invisible Library and that Ilona Andrews series. I haven’t read any of them yet though. I am glad to hear you enjoyed them :).

    A sci-fi cozy mystery sounds like a fun combination of genres! I hope you’ll have a great week!

    • Thank you, Lola:). Oh yes – in the unlikely event of wanting something to read – I recommend both these series – and the sci-fi cosy mystery is also great fun.

  2. I am now very curious about the series that includes One Fell Sweep.

    Your creative writing class sounds like fun.

    Thanks for visiting my blog, and for your thoughts on hair color. I’m now looking forward to a different kind of journey with various colored highlights. LOL.

    • It is The Innkeeper’s Chronicles by Ilona Andrews who also writes a fair amount of romance. Yes – the one day class was great and reminded me just how much I miss my regular fix of Creative Writing classes. Best of luck with the highlights:)

  3. Glad to hear about your week. Sounds like a busy one but you managed to keep up with reading and blogging. Wow, I’m speechless. 🙂
    I only managed to read one book last week and did two weekly posts. 😦
    Have a wonderful week, my friend.

    • Thank you – and I hope you have a wonderful week, too:). I’m editing rather than writing, which is why I’m hitting the books so hard and reading so much! Once I start writing again, I’m sure my reading and blogging will tail off…

  4. Wow, what a week! It sounds like such a goodie but also super busy.

    I’m so interested to start The Invisible Library – just need to find time to get to it!

    Hope you have had a lovely weekend and another good week ahead of you.

    • Thank you, Di – it was certainly a good week. I hope you soon manage to find some time to get to The Invisible Library, I’m very interested to find out what you think of it… I hope that you, also, have a great week, Di:)

    • Thank you Jan:). Yes – The Innkeeper’s Chronicles is a fantastic series – certainly one of my favourite series of the year so far. Glad the idea of the reverse bucket list also appeal to you, too and I hope you, too, have a great week.

  5. That play about bullying sounds awesome, nice to see kids spreading awareness like that. And sounds like you had a pretty good week! The Fish Factory sounds neat.

    I really need to continue w/ the Invisible Librar series.

    • Yes, we were very proud that she wanted to devise a play on such a topical and urgent subject – there is now talk of making it into a film, apparently. And yes – the white wine and parsley fishcakes at the Fish Factory are to die for… I highly recommend The Invisible Library series. Have a great week, Greg:)

  6. This whole post made me smile, Sarah. 🙂 What a great week you had, between all the get-togethers, good news, and little things to spark your creativity and (from the sounds of it) make your heart sing. What kinds of games do you play when you visit your sister?

    • Thank you, Sara! It was a lovely week – made all the better for the sunshine:)). Our favourite game is the card game Dobble – if you ever get a chance to play it, I highly recommend it. We also enjoy Nostalgia, when the three of us discover just how much we DON’T recall about the 1960s, 70s and 80s.

      • *lol* I don’t think I’ve ever heard of Dobble. What kind of game is it?

        Also, I second the beauty of sunshine. We’re finally seeing it again here after two dreary days of rain, and already it feels refreshing. 🙂

      • Dobble is a card game with circular cards full of symbols, a bit like snap and it’s the first one who can identify the same symbol on their own card and either puts down or picks up, depending which version you’re playing. It’s huge fun, easy to learn and takes a lot of concentration to play successfully:).
        We are currently in a rain phase, but we have been promised more sunshine at the weekend:)

    • Yes! They aren’t flawless – but she writes with charm and energy that I find beguiling. I’m guessing they are Marmite books – you either love them or loathe them – but the sheer quirkiness and originality of some of her ideas means I shall be looking out for anything else she writes…

  7. You’ve been staying busy! That’s good. 🙂 Sounds like you had a great week. Hope you have a wonderful one this week.

  8. I’m catching up on your summer and it seems so much more positive than your sickness-filled spring. I hope the good trend continues.
    Also, congratulations on filling your both classes: nothing speaks more of the teacher than eager students. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.