Teaser Tuesday – 6th September, 2016

Standard

TeaserTeaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
This is my choice of the day:
The Fettered Flame – Book 2 of the Shkode trilogy by E.D.E. Bellthefetteredflame
40% Zee had not given the event any thought until now, who cared if some artists were killed in an ironic twist to their own dark obsessions? It wasn’t as if General Dronna frequented artistic events; Dronna’s sole artistic endeavours begot the spatter pattern of blood. She could not imagine her attending.

BLURB: The Fettered Flame is a genre-bending fantasy novel that continues the saga of two dying worlds, plagued by their own unique struggles for power. Follow the journeys of Cor – a woman striving to understand her powers of magic and how they connect to her past, Atesh – her contemplative dragon companion, and Jwala – a dragon plunged into a rebirth of ancient ideals.

This epic fantasy is definitely intriguing. Unfortunately, I have had a frantically busy week-end that has meant the moment I’ve picked up the book, I’ve fallen asleep… I’m hoping that I can get a bit of downtime to properly bond with the characters. It isn’t my absolutely favourite subgenre, a wide-sweeping story told via a variety of characters in third person viewpoint. However, I particularly enjoy the dragon world, where Bell’s quirky storytelling has a fascinating plotline unfolding.

22 responses »

  1. I hope you’ll find some time to read more and connect with the characters! The dragon part of the story sounds intriguing and I like the cover. Epic fantasy isn’t my favorite sub genre either, although I used to love it when I was younger.

    • That said, I still read a fair amount of it – and when done well it can still blow me away… As did Spellbreaker last month:). Thank you, Lola, yes – I managed to read more of it last night and I’m now far more into the story.

  2. Genre Bending Fantasy with dragons and the writing sounds quality , was the first book good coz I’m sold on this teaser

    • *shuffles feet* I jumped into this one, as this is the new release and plan to read the first one later… That said, I’m not floundering too much – when I finish it, I’ll be reviewing it.

  3. This book sounds like it is pretty engaging, even though you were too tired to read it! Fantasy stories that have dragons just really seem to intrigue me. I will definitely check this series out! 🙂

    • Yes, I haven’t managed to get through the first book – I ran out of time and as this is the new release I felt I needed to bump it up to the top of the pile. But I like the writing and the world is really interesting. I’ll let you know how I get on with it!

    • Yes, the blue dragon is very fine, isn’t she? Your psychological thriller looks very engrossing. And scary! Thank you for dropping in, Laurel and hope you enjoy ‘The Sister’.

    • I’m not sure that this would be the one I’d recommend for starters… The book I think is fantastic is TOOTH AND CLAW by Jo Walton, who sets her dragons in an early Victorian landscape after the style of Anthony Trollope’s novels. It’s a remarkable book where the draconic behaviour is a really nifty metaphor for runaway capitalism. Your TT this week seemed an unusual story – have a great reading week, Sandra:).

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.