Sunday Post – 5th June

Standard

Sunday Post

This is part of the weekly meme over at the Caffeinated Book Reviewer, where book bloggers can share the books and blogs they have written.

As it’s been half term, I have had a break from my teaching commitments, so have managed to motor ahead to complete editing the third draft of Breathing Space. We had the grandchildren staying over last Sunday and Monday, which was lovely as ever – and the puppy that my daughter is fostering also came for a sleepover. Unfortunately, she spent her time in the garden digging up the cats’ poo and eating it, which gave her an upset tummy – a real shame, as otherwise she is a poppet.

littlehamptonlibraryOn Wednesday evening, I attended a murder mystery evening at Littlehampton library, as part of their 110th anniversary celebrations – making them the oldest free library in West Sussex. The murder had been designed by Ann Cleves and was thoroughly entertaining, despite the fact that I was hopelessly wrong in guessing whodunit.

 

 

davidconstanstineOn Friday evening, as part of the Worthing World of Words 2016 literary festival, I attended a poetry reading by David Jenny FeldmanConstantine and Jenny Feldman. It was brilliant – both these poets were inspirational – I particularly loved David’s poem ‘Rec’ and Jenny’s poem ‘Swifts’. They also talked about their work, what inspires them and their writing process. I came away buzzing.

Yesterday, I attended three more brilliant talks as part of the Worthing WOW Festival – the first one was by my writing buddy and professional editor, Sarah Palmer who gave a workshop on how to write a synopsis. She gave us a step by step ‘how to’ guide and even more importantly, an example of a synopsis. As I’d rather write ten novels than one of these beasts, I found it really helpful.

The second talk was on social media for writers, where Nichola Smalley, who is the publicist for the literary publishing company And Other Stories, explained the different forms of social media and how writers could use them. Her best advice was to concentrate on the platform that we feel most comfortable using and to enjoy ourselves.

Literary agent Victoria Salter gave a fascinating talk on how she saw the state of the UK publishing industry, given the major changes she has seen in her nine years as an agent. This was a really interesting insight in what an insider felt about some of the seismic changes that have convulsed the industry.

I’ve had a really sociable, enjoyable week, in addition to reading four books, which are:

dangerousjourneyDangerous Journey – Book 3 of Beaver Towers by Nigel Hinton
During his stay last Bank Holiday weekend, Oscar was very keen to finish this story, so we curled up on the sofa together during a chilly afternoon and joined Phillip, Baby B and Nick on their battle against the Prince of Darkness. Once more, a tension-filled, enjoyable adventure that held Oscar’s attention until the end.

thehousewithnorooms1

The House with No Rooms – Book 4 of The Detective Daughter’s series by Lesley Thomson
When I attended the launch party for this book the previous week, of course I scooped it up – and got my copy signed. So I immediately dived into it as a treat – and loved it. Lesley writes with great perception and intelligence in this unusual whodunit.

 

lastcallatthenightshadeloungeLast Call at the Nightshade Lounge by Paul Krueger
This intriguing urban fantasy deals with the life and doings of Chicago bartenders, who battle evil flesh-eating demons by using cocktails – and these recipes are set out in The Devil’s Water Dictionary. This is great fun, with an intriguing, fresh twist on the urban fantasy trope, and an appealing protagonist, Bailey Chen. My review will be posted on the blog during the coming week.

 

Cursed – Book 2 of The Soulseer’s Chronicles by Sue TingeyCursed
I read and enjoyed the first book in the series, Marked, so when Sue contacted me and asked me if I’d like to read the second book, I immediately agreed. It’s great fun, with plenty of pace and chockful of surprises as half-daemon Lucky de Salle begins to discover what she is capable of. My review will be appearing on Brainfluff during the week.

My posts last week:
Sunday Post – 29th May

Review of Change of Life – Book 2 of A Menopausal Superhero series by Samantha Bryant

Teaser Tuesday – Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge by Paul Krueger

*NEW RELEASE SPECIAL* Review of The Many Selves of Katherine North by Emma Geen

My 1,000th Post – Shoot for the Moon Challenge 2016 – May Roundup

Friday Faceoff – In the Beginning There Was Nothing, Which Exploded featuring Hilldiggers – Book 2 of the Polity series by Neal Asher

*NEW RELEASE SPECIAL* Review of The House With No Rooms – Book 4 of The Detective’s Daughter by Lesley Thomson

Other interesting/outstanding blogs and articles that have caught my attention during the last week:

Joanna Maciejewska’s great piece of short fiction – Miye’s In http://melfka.com/read-online/miyes-in … A fabulous short story…

Self published thriller writer Seumas Gallacher generously shared his findings, when he tried a selection of a number of book-marketing websites aimed at the indie market.
…Authors–caveat emptor re book-selling websites–the final report makes for sorry reading… https://seumasgallacher.com/2016/05/31/authors-caveat-emptor-re-book-selling-websites-the-final-report-makes-for-sorry-reading/ … via @seumasgallacher

A tempting offer, if you’re looking for a quality read at a VERY reasonable price from one of the best indie writers I know.
Flaming June? Curl up under the blankets & read! …https://zenandtheartoftightropewalking.wordpress.com/2016/06/01/flaming-june-curl-up-under-the-blankets-read/ … via @guineapig66 Great value for a great book!

A really enjoyable quiz.
What Is Your Spirit Animal? https://www.buzzfeed.com/egeen/what-is-your-spirit-animal-2c0p3 … via @buzzfeeders This is fun:))

And this is also a hoot…
Eleanor Roosevelt says: | The Müscleheaded Blog https://jeanreinhardt.wordpress.com/2016/06/01/eleanor-roosevelt-says-the-muscleheaded-blog/ … via @jeanreinhardt1 This made me howl with laughter…

As you can see, it’s been a busy week – again. And a momentous one, given that I’m now a millennium blogger, so here’s to the next thousand posts! Many thanks to all of you who take the trouble to visit and comment, it’s always appreciated. I’m now hoping that the weather will stop sulking in the foothills of April and finally give us a June worth the name, as I’m fed up with wearing jumpers and thick coats. Have a great blogging and reading week, everyone.

29 responses »

  1. You’ve had a busy week! But the festival sounds amazing. I’d love to attend something like it! Hope you have a wonderful week 🙂
    My Sunday Post

    • Thank you – yes, it’s been a wonderful week with so much going on. Lovely to meet up with and mix with other writers. Hope you have a great week, too:)

  2. Sounds like you had a wonderful week, I like the idea of the murder mystery evening it sounds like fun. Enjoy your books and have a great week!

    • I’m going to go through Kimba’s link to visit you- but just to let you know, your wordpress link isn’t working from my site, so if you’re not getting many hits, that might be the reason!

  3. You are fortunate to have such festivals nearby…or I assume they aren’t far. I am intrigued by the book The House with No Rooms. Enjoy your week, and thanks for visiting my blog.

    • I’m very lucky – Worthing is our local medium-sized town and only 20/25 minutes drive away:). And yes – I can really recommend The House with No Rooms if you are looking for a well written murder mystery series with a difference.

  4. What a great half-term you’ve had (apart from the poorly dog) I think Anne Cleeves creates wonderful plots for her books so that Murder Mystery evening sounds really good – and I miss having children to read to – what a perfect way to spend a cool afternoon.

    • Thank you for swinging by Heather:). It’s been a fab week – now all I need for PERFECTION is for the sunshine to continue for more than ONE DAY…

  5. The murder mystery evening sounds fabulous, and that library looks amazing. And the literary agent discussion I imagine would be very interesting as well. Thank you for the links as well- I’m going to go explore some of them. Have a wonderful week. 🙂

  6. Grandkids and a puppy? That does sound like a great week 🙂 And that’s so awesome that you went to a murder mystery! I’d love to do that. When I was in high school I had a couple murder mystery dinners at my house with friends, and we all dressed up and everything, but it’d cool to try one like the one you went to. The literary festivals and talks you attended sound great too. It sounds like you really had a good week!

    I really want to read Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge, so I’ll be looking forward to that review 🙂

  7. I think you got your wish about the weather. Am reading this Monday afternoon and have been in Cambridgeshire today where it’s been gorgeous. You sound like you had a great week, not so much the puppy though. Enjoy being back at school!

    • Thank you Emma:). It’s been fabulous down here on the coast, too. Yes… the puppy being a bit poorly wasn’t the greatest – although she’s as good as gold, other than her off-grid eating habits… And yes, it was lovely being back today.

  8. It sounds like you’ve had a nice break so far. Except perhaps for the dog digging in your garden. I do not miss that about having a dog, although I do miss other things. The murder mystery evening sounds like something I would really enjoy. I am really looking forward to reading your thoughts on Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge. It sounds like a fun one. Congratulations on reaching 1000 posts! I’m so terrible at noticing things like that for my own blog, I’m afraid.

    I hope you have a great week, Sarah!

    • Thank you, Wendy:). The puppy is a poppet, but it was a shame, because she was evidently very uncomfortable. If you enjoy urban fantasy, then Last Call is definitely worth checking. I have to say, I don’t generally bother to keep track of my number of posts, but happened to notice the previous week when going into my archives where they’re numbered that I was coming up to my 1,000 – and WordPress kindly sent me a congratulatory message as well. The murder mystery was great fun, especially going along with a friend. And have a lovely week, yourself – fingers crossed the weather holds for a few more days!

  9. The Worthing WOW Festival sounds great! You must have had a blast, based on the things you shared with us about it. And I agree with the advice regarding social media. Some writers say we should be on all of them, but I don’t see how that’s possible from a practicality standpoint. It’s best to use what you like best and then be yourself.

    What did you get on the spirit animals quiz, btw? I got a blue whale.

    And what did you mean by half-term? Is it a break halfway through the current school semester? It’s different terminology than what we use in the US, so that’s why I was curious.

    • I was an elephant on the spirit animals quiz – which felt a tad spooky. As a child I was fixated on elephants and knew all sorts of facts about them, which I’d bore everyone with at mealtimes… You’re right – half-term is a week-long break in the middle of each semester and is very welcome:). Do you have something similar over in the US? And we’re very blessed – there is a thriving cultural scene here with all sorts of talks and get togethers for writers and poets. What about you – is there a similar setup where you are?

      • Yes and no. Colleges and universities have a week’s break (known here as Spring Break) halfway through the spring semester. The fall semester has a three-day break in November for Thanksgiving, but not a week-long one.

        I live about 40 minutes away from Boston, which has a lot of writing and reading related events. Getting in isn’t a problem; I prefer to take the train because there’s so much car traffic getting into the city. But… I haven’t been interested in going into Boston lately. I think a lot of it is because I’m already traveling every other weekend; and now that the first round of this year’s busy-ness has passed, I want some time to relax at home when I can. We’ll see, I guess.

  10. Looks like you had a blast on the festival and it had a lot of interesting things to offer. I’m somewhat jealous, but on the other hand, if something like that was around my place, my introvert would argue to not to go anyway…
    Also, thank you for mentioning my short story! ❤

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.