Daily Archives: June 30, 2016

The Real Neat Blog Award

Standard

real-neat-blog-award

I’ve been nominated by this award by Drew @ TheTattooedBookGeek and Lynn at Books and travelling with Lynn. Thank you so much, folks – we have shared a lot of books and chat over the last few months and I very much enjoy both our interactions and reading your articulate, intelligent blogs.

Apologies for having been so tardy in my response, but one of the issues has been struggling with a glitchy computer that used to keep sulking. I cannot believe the speed at which I’ve just powered through my Inbox with the new shiny model I’m getting to grips with. I’m going to answer a variety of questions posed by both Drew and Lynn.

1. If you could meet any author, from any time (past and present), who would that be and what would be your most pressing question?
The author I’d love to meet would be William Shakespeare and my question would be, given that you retired to Avon-upon-Stratford to farm sheep in your later years – did you give up writing? Or did you burn out and writing give you up?

2. What’s your preferred reading format, book or e-reader?
I still love print books – there is nothing in the world that beats the smell and feel of a brand new book, BUT we are both book addicts in a small, busy house and all our book storage areas were full years ago. I would, of course, be reasonable and clear out all the books I’ve read, but given that Himself won’t, I am reluctant to find myself surrounded by shelves full of military fantasy, sci fi and murder mysteries. So my Kindle has become my next-best friend, not least because of the WONDERFUL gismo that allows me to make the font as big as I like when my eyes are screen-sore.

3. Who is your absolute favourite character, ever? I know you’re probably groaning and rolling your eyes but there must be one character that springs to mind immediately – probably followed by a host of others – but, I want that first knee jerk reaction please and why!
Granny Weatherwax. I fell in love with her when I first encountered her more years ago than I can recall in Terry Pratchett’s Equal Rites. But as I’ve grown older with children and grandchildren of my own, I now fully appreciate the power of headology as a way of ensuring that you persuade people to do what you want them to do without appearing to…

4. If you could make any book into a film/TV series, which book would you choose?
I’ve always thought Anne McCaffrey’s Dragonriders of Pern series would make a cracking TV series. There is loads of adventure, along with strong likeable characters, fabulous dragons and some really great plot twists – the best one turning the whole series from fantasy into science fiction.

5. Favourite drink/tipple/beverage to have whilst reading?
My favourite drink is lapsang souchong tea. Yummm…

6. Most anticipated book for the remainder of 2016?
Necessity, which is the third book in the Thessaly series by Jo Walton. She is an amazing writer with great range. She writes with intelligence that never underestimates her readers and produces astonishing books that are sparkling, witty and wholly original. I think she is one of the best speculative writers alive today and shamefully under-appreciated.

7. What is your favourite genre of book to read?
Science fiction and fantasy – outstanding examples of each stroke part of my soul no other genre quite reaches. Even historical thrillers, or crime.

And my nominees for this award are listed below. However, I realise everyone is really busy and whether you decide to take up this award and display the badge – know that you were nominated by me because I admire your blog and your contribution to the blogging community.
Loreen at Coffee and Cats
Zeezee at Zeezee with Books
Jean at Jean Lee’s World
Bette at Bette A. Stevens, Maine Author
DJ at MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape
Ali at IWuvBooks
And here are your questions. I have borrowed/pinched Lynn’s really neat idea (see what I did there?) of combining some of my favourite questions posed by Drew and Lynn and then added a couple more of my own.

1. If you could meet any author, from any time (past and present), who would that be and what would be your most pressing question?

2. Who is your absolute favourite character, ever? I know you’re probably groaning and rolling your eyes but there must be one character that springs to mind immediately – probably followed by a host of others – but, I want that first knee jerk reaction please and why!

3. What is your favourite series out of all the books you’ve read? The series you would recommend without hesitation.

4. What’s your preferred reading format, book or e-reader?

5. Who is your favourite animal character, and why? This can be a mythical creature like a dragon, or real, like Elsa in Born Free.

6. What is your most anticipated book for the remainder of 2016?

7. Imagine someone has given you a magical Audible account and you can order up your favourite narrator to read aloud the book you’ve always wanted to hear. Who would be narrating the book and what would it be?