Daily Archives: June 17, 2016

Friday Faceoff – Better a Witty Fool than a Foolish Wit

Standard

This meme was started by Books by Proxy, whose fabulous idea was to compare UK and US book covers and decide which is we prefer. This week’s topic is comparing covers featuring fools. I was unable to find any covers depicting fools, but instead went for a cover that took me back to a cracking series I thoroughly enjoyed – J.V. Jones’ The Book of Words trilogy. Master and Fool is the third and final book.

masterandfoolThis first cover was published by Aspect in November 1996 as a paperback. Whether this is the cover we’ve got, I’m not sure – it may well be as we picked up the first book on a whim and then pre-ordered the next two books, desperate to know what would happen next…

masterandfool1

This second cover is the produced by Orbit in 2000. I like the lettering and simplicity, with the drama and menace played out in the centre, making it my preference. The first cover is too garish, with no sophistry. It looks a bit like a child’s adventure book, which is badly under-selling the power and punchy enjoyment of Jones’ storytelling skills. What do you think?

