Teaser Tuesday – 3rd July, 2018 #Brainfluffbookblog #TeaserTuesday

Standard

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by The Purple Booker.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This is my choice of the day:

Running Out of Space – Book 1 of the Sunblinded trilogy by S.J. Higbee

31% The air around him crackled. I held my breath, waiting for things to happen. They always did around him. He crammed more into a minute than anyone else I’ve ever met. And when he’d pass by, I’d gasp. Partly in disappointment, partly in relief. Except he didn’t. Pass by, I mean.
“Ah, here you are, little Lizzy.”
“Good day to you, General,” I stuttered.
“Shipboard life, does it agree with you?”
“Yes, thank you, General.” Expecting him to continue, I edged back a fraction.
His gaze welded Lnard to the spot, standing alongside me. “Many congratulations on the shining state of your cargoholds.” He gave me a wink, murmuring, “Your Captain does love his spit and polish, doesn’t he?”

BLURB: Lizzy Wright has yearned to serve on the space merchant ship Shooting Star for as long as she can remember – until one rash act changes everything…

Lizzy and her friends weren’t looking for trouble – all they’d wanted was to prove that fertile English girls could handle themselves when on shore leave without being accompanied by a sour-faced chaperone and armed guard. Looking back, maybe taking a jaunt off-limits on Space Station Hawking wasn’t the best idea – but no one could have foreseen the outcome. Or that the consequences of that single expedition would change the lives of all four girls, as well as that of the stranger who stepped in to save them.

Now Lizzy has more excitement and danger than she can handle, while confronting lethal shipboard politics, kidnapping, betrayal. And murder.
Um… I know – my own book… Except this is what I’m reading right now on my Kindle as I’m doing a major edit in readiness for the paperback edition.

16 responses »

    • Thank you Laura. Breathing Space is coming out on Sunday – I’ve been working on it alongside my teaching commitments, so it’s taken a bit longer than I had originally planned… I’m delighted to have the Sunblinded trilogy finally completed – and to know that I haven’t finished with Lizzy, either.

    • Thank you, Tammy. Yes – I mostly write action-adventure, but I include a dollop of humour. In my experience, Life is often hilarious even as it’s kicking you in the shins.

  1. You should absolutely use these posts to highlight your books. Why not indeed. Lovely snippet – I need to read your first book (I’m sorry I’m a bit useless but, as you may have noticed, my own books unfortunately seem to play second fiddle, although I’m gradually becoming a bit better with my schedule and requests – one day I will achieve balance (but don’t hold your breath).
    Lynn 😀

    • No worries, Lynn. As a reader and book blogger as well as a writer, I understand what it’s like:). I am really looking forward to getting this first trilogy finally published!

    • Thank you, Kathy. I did hesitate before adding it – but as I am actually reading it on my Kindle, it seemed daft to open up another book just for the Tuesday Teaser.

  2. I recently got this book, as well as its sequel, “Dying for Space”, for my Android Kindle app. I LOVE the covers of both — although the cover of “Running Out of Space” is a different one. I prefer the one in this post MUCH more!!

    Oh, and did you say you’re bringing out a PAPERBACK edition of “Running Out of Space”?! WOW!! Please let me know when it will release!!! As you probably know, I ADORE printed books!!!! Yes, I’ll read ebooks occasionally, but printed books will ALWAYS steal my heart!! So do let me know! I have skimmed “Running Out of Space”, and really like it! Now I need to settle down with it and read it properly! But oh, the PAPERBACK!!! 🙂 🙂

    Hope you’re having a GREAT weekend!! I’m catching up with all of my replies and comments back!! HUGS!! ❤ ❤ ❤ 🙂 🙂 🙂

      • Thank you so much Maria – how kind of you to get hold of the books! Yes – I certainly will be making something of a fuss about the paperback release as a lot of my students don’t do ebooks and are a bit frustrated they cannot read any of my novels… I’m hoping to have it out by early September. I’m glad you have enjoyed your skim-read of Running Out of Space – along with the humour. As the books are mostly action-adventure, in my experience when stuff is massively going wrong, you have 2 options – you laugh or you cry. Sometimes crying is the correct response, but far more often it has to be the laughter and the humour that gets you through.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.