Teaser Tuesday – 19th April 2016

Standard

Teaser

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This is my choice of the day:
Outriders – Book 1 of the Outriders series by Jay Posey
37%: Lincoln nodded and walked over to the booth, doing his best impression of the weary outriderstraveller, which fortunately wasn’t too tough since he’d been awake for at least thirty-two hours straight. He’d been stuck in a middle seat on the trip up between an overweight narcoleptic who snored and a skinny author who wanted to talk about is books the whole time. Lincoln would gladly have traded the author for the snoring man’s twin brother.

BLURB: A daring hostage rescue leads to the discovery of an imminent terrorist attack. Thanks to the Outriders, thousands of lives are saved. Until they aren’t. Despite the intelligence and the warnings provided by the unit, the terrorist attack goes off unhindered. What was supposed to be a triumph becomes a tragedy, and a ‘mission completed’ completely unravels. And when they learn the reasons why, the Outriders find themselves tasked with stopping a war before it can ever start. A dangerously cunning woman who most assuredly should be dead has seemingly returned. And her plans aren’t just devastating, they might be unstoppable. How do you defeat a hidden enemy when you can t let them know they’ve been discovered? You send in the Outriders.

This military science fiction caper starts with a bang and hasn’t let up since. I’m thoroughly engrossed and really enjoying not completely knowing what is going on as the strong characters and dual narrative keep the tension levels high. I just hope it continues as it started out…

 

15 responses »

  1. How do you not sleep for thirty-two hours? I know people do it, but I don’t think I would have nodded off by then. I like the teaser you shared and think this book sounds like it will be good–very intense! I hope you are enjoying it!

    • Oh, I’m having a blast – it’s great fun! I’ve been awake non-stop for 27 hours and then went to bed, because the others around ganged up and insisted, though I still wasn’t really tired and took quite a while to nod off. But Lincoln is hard-core military and I think they sleep-deprive their elite forces during training so they have to be able to function effectively under such conditions…

      • Yes, I’ve especially liked Three of the Duskwalker trilogy… I’ve written a review of the sequel (Morningside), which I liked, even though I think the first book was better, really great. I need to get myself this new one 😀

  2. Thirty-two hours straight? – Sounds like my uni days! Sounds like a very intriguing book though – I haven’t read enough military sci fi (though I love my military fantasy! and my military history for that matter). How are you enjoying it?

    • You’re very welcome – I remember reading about Margaret Sanger when at uni… I’m glad the book about her is so compelling – she deserves to be better known.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.