Sunday Post – 28th October, 2018 #Brainfluffbookblog #SundayPost

Standard

This is part of the weekly meme over at the Caffeinated Reviewer, where book bloggers can share the books and blogs they have written.

Firstly, I want to thank everyone who responded during the week regarding my illness – your good wishes and hopes for a speedy recovery definitely helped. It was also very good news that this was half term week, so I was able to take it a bit easy and thankfully the giddiness and nausea has eased up and I’m trying a sticker system to help rejig my sleeping patterns.

On Tuesday I had a meeting regarding Tim and my in-laws stopped for a stay in the town, giving us the opportunity to spend the day with them on Wednesday. The weather was glorious and so we visited Highdown Gardens and later had lunch together at the local garden centre. It was lovely to catch up with them, before they left on Thursday morning.

Himself has been struggling with deafness as he has a build-up of earwax. For some reason, our local surgery no longer is prepared to remove it, so we are still using the drops and have gone online and ordered a syringe in order to be able to have a go ourselves. In the meantime, he is off work officially sick as he cannot safely do his job, being too deaf to use a phone. Oh for the good old days, when the practice nurse was prepared to perform this task! I’ll be very glad when he can hear again. Because everything is sounding loud in his head, he is now mumbling so I can’t hear him and he is unable to hear me unless I shout.

This weekend I’m off to Bristolcon with my lovely friend, Mhairi. We are catching a train tomorrow at stupid o’clock to get to the conference for around 10 am. We’re staying overnight and then returning home on Sunday. So bear with me if I don’t get around to responding to your comments for a few days.

Last week I read:

Muse of Nightmares – Book 2 of Strange the Dreamer series by Laini Taylor
Sarai has lived and breathed nightmares since she was six years old. She believed she knew every horror and was beyond surprise. She was wrong.
In the wake of tragedy, neither Lazlo nor Sarai are who they were before. One a god, the other a ghost, they struggle to grasp the new boundaries of their selves as dark-minded Minya holds them hostage, intent on vengeance against Weep.
I loved this book almost as much as Strange the Dreamer and given the complexity of the world-building and sheer oddness of the setup, I was impressed with the coherence and strength of the ending. This is an outstanding series.

 

The Consuming Fire – Book 2 of the Interdependency by John Scalzi
The Interdependency, humanity’s interstellar empire, is on the verge of collapse. The Flow, the extra-dimensional conduit that makes travel between the stars possible, is disappearing, leaving entire star systems stranded. When it goes, human civilization may go with it—unless desperate measures can be taken. Emperox Grayland II, the leader of the Interdependency, is ready to take those measures to help ensure the survival of billions. But nothing is ever that easy. Arrayed before her are those who believe the collapse of the Flow is a myth—or at the very least, an opportunity that can allow them to ascend to power.
This quirky, enjoyable epic science fiction adventure takes many of the main themes that power this sub-genre and gives them a Scalzi twist, making this a must-read series for me. Politically powerful women, outrageously greedy nobles and an approaching apocalyptic event… what’s not to love?

 

On Silver Wings – Book 1 of the Hayden War Cycle series by Evan Currie
In the future, mankind has colonized other worlds, mined asteroid belts, and sent ships so far into the blackness of space that light from their drives won’t reach Earth for centuries. Through it all, life has been found in almost every system we visited and yet we’ve never encountered another intelligent species.
Until now.
I enjoyed this colony world adventure where embattled humans are facing an alien species with far greater technology. Currie is one of my favourite indie authors and can be relied upon to produce plenty of foot-to-the-floor action and sympathetic characters.

My posts last week:

Sunday Post – 21st October 2018

Review of KINDLE Ebook Charmcaster – Book 3 of the Spellslinger series by Sebastien de Castell

Teaser Tuesday featuring On Silver Wings – Book 1 of the Hayden War Cycle series by Evan Currie

Can’t-Wait Wednesday featuring Murder in the Dark – Book 6 of the Ishmael Jones series by Simon R. Green

Review of PAPERBACK Strange the Dreamer – Book 1 of the Strange the Dreamer series by Laini Taylor

Friday Face-off featuring Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury

*NEW RELEASE SPECIAL* Review of KINDLE Ebook Soulbinder – Book 4 of the Spellslinger series by Sebastien de Castell

Interesting/outstanding blogs and articles that have caught my attention during the last week, in no particular order:

Best Villains in Science Fiction and Fantasy http://bookwyrmshoard.com/top-ten-tuesday/best-villains-in-fantasy-and-science-fiction/ Do you agree with the line-up? Who would you add to this list?

Letting Go of Perfectionism the DIY MFA Way https://diymfa.com/community/letting-go-perfectionism#disqus_thread Fantasy writer Sara Letourneau provides excellent advice for those whose writing slides to a halt over this issue

The Best Children’s Books to Read With KIDS https://paulspicks.blog/2018/09/23/best-childrens-books-to-read-with-kids/ This is a nifty list if you are lucky enough to be able to share your love of books with any smaller people…

Pride and Prejudice and Other Classics I Didn’t Read http://melfka.com/archives/2931 This thoughtful article addresses the dreary literary snobbery that can pervade our otherwise delightful community…

Sunday Post #268 https://gregsbookhaven.blogspot.com/2018/10/sunday-post-268.html?spref=tw Greg generally finishes his weekly roundup – which is always entertaining in itself – with a selection of fabulous images and this week he has surpassed himself… I love those cloud maidens!

Have a great week and thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to visit, like and comment on my site.

33 responses »

    • Thank you, Sassy – oh yes… Bristolcon was fabulous! I returned home earlier this afternoon feeling exhausted but really, really happy. I hope that you are soon recovered, Sassy – it’s a bad time of the year to fall ill, now that it’s suddenly so brutally cold. Have a better week.x

    • Thank you – Bristolcon really was wonderful – it’s widely known as The Friendly Con and that absolutely sums it up! The trip there and back was worth it – I just can’t believe how quickly it flew by…

    • Thank you with your kind advice – I had no idea that earwax could be such a problem. Fortunately, while I was off gallivanting at Bristolcon, Himself managed to get an emergency appointment. He has to go back again next week, but they are on the way to sorting it out, thank goodness! And yes – I had a brilliant time at Bristolcon:)).

    • Thank you Jennifer:). Yes – I’m now 3 stickers up, which means three nights where I had a reasonable amount of sleep, so I’m getting there!

      I shall certainly be posting all about my wonderful trip to Bristolcon:))

  1. I have had that earwax problem, too, and it is very distressing. The nurse in my doctor’s office irrigated my ears, removing the wax, and ordered some drops for future use.

    Enjoy your week, and thanks for visiting my blog.

    • Thank you Laurel – yes, Himself is far more like his normal lovely self than the mumbling grumpy version I was dealing with when he couldn’t hear. And he will definitely continue taking the drops on a weekly basis – we don’t want to go through this again!

      I hope you, too, have a great week and take care:)

  2. I’m listening to the Consuming Fire right now. I’m so glad I dumped the audiobook I was not enjoying and moved on! Have you ever tried the Ear Candles for removing wax? I hear they work really well. My daughter has an earwax issue too and we’ll probably have to do them as well soon.

    • Thank you for your kind advice regarding the earwax issue, SJ. No… I’ve heard of it, but never tried the Ear Candle. Fortunately, Himself found an audiology clinic who were prepared to squeeze him in and are in the process of sorting him out. Thank goodness! I look forward to hearing what you think of The Consuming Fire – and I completely agree – Life is too short to endure books that you aren’t enjoying. Have a great week, SJ.

  3. Thank you for indirectly reminding me to check my comments on the DIY MFA post! It’s been a crazy past couple weeks, so checking in there has slipped my mind. I’m glad you enjoyed the article enough to share it with your readers. 🙂

    Glad to hear you’re starting to feel better. Hope you have an amazing time at Bristolcon! And I’m sorry to hear about Himself’s ear problems. I imagine that feel uncomfortable, on top of it causing hearing problems.

    • Yes – thank goodness Himself managed to wangle an emergency appointment during the weekend. And that we’re able to afford it! The situation is certainly a LOT better and he has another appointment tomorrow when it should be fixed.

      You’re very welcome – I thought the article was excellent so felt it needed sharing:) Have a great week, Sara.

  4. Have fun at BristolCon! Hope it’s a wonderful show. And sorry to hear about Himself- I hope his ear situation is resolved soon.

    I hope the consuming Fire is good- I’m looking forward to it. I liked the first book. And thank you for linking my post!

    Have an awesome week!

    • You’re welcome, Greg. Your weekly show of pics is stunning – I always love them and figured that others might want to also love them, too…

      Thank you – yes, Himself is now getting his ears sorted out – I had no idea such an apparently minor problem could cause so much upset and discomfort.

      I hope you enjoy The Consuming Fire – I thoroughly enjoyed it and should be reviewing it during the next couple of weeks. Have a great week, too:)

  5. I’m very experienced in the earwax removal as my daughter had issues all the time when she was young.

    You are reading all the books I want to read. They are on my tbr. Anne – Books of My Heart

    • I’m very relieved I’m not in a position to have to deal with this one – Himself managed to get an appointment with an audiology clinic – thank goodness.

      Yes… I’ve had a fabulous run of books, particularly this last month, Anne. I look forward to hearing what you make of them!

  6. Eventful week for you. I hope your husband’s problems are much better SOON. As the holidays approach, things will only get busier and more demanding. Try to take some time out for YOURSELF. You deserve it!

    • They are great fun – but I would counsel that you read The Collapsing Empire befoe you pick up The Consuming Fire – I think you might struggle a bit if you didn’t:)

      • Oh aren’t you good? I’m a shocker for crashing midway into a series and surprisingly, I regularly get away with it. Which is why I make a point of warning readers when I don’t think it’s a tactic that will work…

  7. I’m glad your sickness didn’t last too long (though it might have felt like that to you), and I hope to see more “all good and healthy posts” as I read on. 😉

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.