#Sunday Post – 6th May, 2018 #Brainfluffbookblog

Standard

This is part of the weekly meme over at the Caffeinated Reviewer, where book bloggers can share the books and blogs they have written.

And the sun is shining! Yesterday my sister and I wandered along the beach eating ice creams and watching the sun glinting on the water at Littlehampton beach. It’s been a much easier week, I’m glad to say.

On Monday evening, I had a particularly wonderful Creative Writing lesson – my students rose magnificently to the writing exercise and the quality of the writing we heard had me walking out of the room on air. I always enjoy my teaching – but that was definitely a golden moment… On Thursday, my wonderful friend, Mhairi came over for more talk about books and marketing and suchlike – and the dark arts are looking a little less murky. I am now working on the final book in my Sunblinded trilogy, Breathing Space, going through the final editing phase and hope to have it out sometime in June/July… watch this space.

This week I have read:

The Hyena and the Hawk – Book 3 of the Echoes of the Falls by Adrian Tchaikovksy
Tchaikovsky’s epic fantasy trilogy, Echoes of the Fall, following The Bear and the Serpent. From the depths of the darkest myths, the soulless Plague People have returned. Their pale-walled camps obliterate villages, just as the terror they bring with them destroys minds. In their wake, nothing is left of the true people: not their places, not their ways. The Plague People will remake the world as though they had never been. The heroes and leaders of the true people – Maniye, Loud Thunder, Hesprec and Asman – will each fight the Plague People in their own ways. They will seek allies, gather armies and lead the charge. But a thousand swords or ten thousand spears will not suffice to turn back this enemy. The end is at hand for everything the true people know.
This was yet another in the fabulous run of books I’ve read, recently. A wonderful end to an outstanding series… I reviewed this one during the week.

Song of Blood and Stone – Book 1 of the Earthsinger Chronicles by L. Penelope
Orphaned and alone, Jasminda lives in a land where cold whispers of invasion and war linger on the wind. Jasminda herself is an outcast in her homeland of Elsira, where her gift of Earthsong is feared. When ruthless soldiers seek refuge in her isolated cabin, they bring with them a captive–an injured spy who threatens to steal her heart.
This was an interesting dystopian fantasy adventure that was a solid start to this series with an engaging protagonist. Recommended for fans of romance fantasy.

 

 

My posts last week:

Sunday Post – 29th April 2018

*NEW RELEASE SPECIAL* Review of Before Mars – Book 3 of the Planetfall series by Emma Newman

Teaser Tuesday featuring Song of Blood and Stone – Book 1 of the Earthsinger Chronicles by L. Penelope

Can’t-Wait Wednesday featuring Furyborn – Book 1 of the Empirium by Claire Legrande

*NEW RELEASE SPECIAL* Review of The Hyena and The Hawk – Book 3 of the Echoes of the Fall series by Adrian Tchaikovksy

Friday Face-off – The hand that writes and having writ moves me… featuring The Moving Finger – Book 4 of the Miss Marple Mysteries by Agatha Christie

*NEW RELEASE SPECIAL* Review of Song of Blood and Stone – Book 1 of the Earthsinger Chronicles by L. Penelope

Interesting/outstanding blogs and articles that have caught my attention during the last week, in no particular order:

Have You Joined Our Banned Book Club? https://thisislitblog.com/2018/05/04/have-you-joined-our-banned-book-club-yet/ This sounds like a really cool idea – have a group read of a book that has previously been banned… Check it out.

All Is Ready for the Mars InSight Lander http://earthianhivemind.net/2018/05/04/ready-mars-insight-lander/ Steph has provided a fascinating video clip from NASA explaining what they hope to achieve with this new Mars mission.

Thursday Doors https://jeanreinhardt.wordpress.com/2018/05/03/thursday-doors-99/ Whether you use these wonderful photos as a writing prompt, or admire the wild, tumbledown beauty – these are a delight

The reality of a loss of faith
https://zenandtheartoftightropewalking.wordpress.com/2018/05/02/the-reality-of-a-loss-of-faith/ Viv’s articles are always worth reading – and this one is no exception…

Interview with Emma Newman https://fantasy-hive.co.uk/2018/04/interview-with-emma-newman/ Emma Newman, author of the fabulous Planetfall series, discusses her writing in this riveting interview.

Have a great week and thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to visit, like and comment on my site.

37 responses »

    • You certainly can! During the autumn and spring terms, I have a strong teaching focus but in the shorter, summer term, I ask students to present a favourite piece of writing by an author they love to the class and talk about why they like it – it’s not mandatory, but most do. This week 2 students presented poems – ‘Vigil’ by Imtiaz Dharker and ‘I Wandered Lonely as a Cloud’ by William Wordsworth. The exercise was to write about an event, using the style and/or setting of either poem. Everyone produced amazing work. I wish you could join me too!

  1. I love it when a lesson has amazing results. I wish so much that we had Star Trek-ish teleport capabilities so that the best lessons could be attended by everyone interested.

    • That’s a lovely thought, Deb. And the other wonderful side-effect would be that I could stroll back in time and relive the experience, too:)).

    • It was wonderful, Laurel:). It wasn’t too insanely hot and we got to watch the boats trundling up and down the river while sitting on the pier and chatting about this and that… One of my favourite days of the year so far!

    • Thank you so much Kimberly – it was fabulous… And I would love some more joy – and sunshine – in my coming week, too. And we can then share it!

  2. The beach outing sounds lovely! I miss the beach so much. Good luck with all the final edits of your book. Have a fabulous Sunday!!!

    • We’re very blessed, living a very short drive from the beach so we can nick down there more or less when we want… I hope you had a lovely day, too, Jenea – and that your week is a great one.

  3. Ooh walks on the beach and ice cream… it’s that time of year! It’s finally feeling like spring around here too, and thank goodness! Glad you had a good week, and a good class. 🙂

    The hyena and the Hawk sounds really interesting, I’m curious now about these soulless ones…

    I need to check out the Newman interview, and those writing prompt images as well!

    • It was lovely, Greg – especially sweet as the very first ice cream of the year:)). And the Echoes of the Fall series is a real treat. The Newman interview is cracking.

  4. Lovely weather you’re having. And that ice cream sounds yummy. it was wonderful week with your class doing so well too. I hope you have another stellar week, Sarah:)

    My Sunday Post

    • The weather has been marvellous and it was absolutely fabulous, Laura:)). Thank you for you kind good wishes regarding next week and I hope yours, too, is wonderful.

    • Thank you Rae – you’ll know that those particular moments don’t come along all that often, so it’s wonderful when it all falls into place and the whole session goes off like clockwork:)).

  5. I’m so glad to hear that this week was an easier one for you. Your day with your sister sounds absolutely lovely. And yay for such an amazing writing class. That had to feel good. I’m off to read your review of Song of Blood and Stone now. I’m so curious to see what you thought of it. Hope you have a wonderful week!

  6. Your walk on the beach sounds so peaceful and wonderful! I am glad you have had an easier week this week, Sarah. I enjoyed your review of Song of Blood and Bone. Thank you for the link to the interview with Emma Newman. I need to get back to reading her books soon. I hope you have a great week, Sarah!

  7. Isn’t it wonderful when the sun comes out and the world wakes back up from winter? Gosh, I feel so full of energy lately and it’s because everything is green and happy again. 🙂 Glad you got out and enjoyed the outdoors!

  8. The day with your sister sounds beyond fantastic! And that’s great about your creative writing students. I’ve never really taken a creative writing class and wonder how I’d do as creativity is not really my middle name! I hope you’re having a wonderful week!

    • Yes – it was a drop of golden happiness that will linger long in the memory:)) As will that lesson – I’m very blessed… I have a lovely bunch of students.

  9. The sun is shining here too, Sarah! We’re actually expecting a fairly nice week weather-wise, and this past weekend wasn’t too bad, either. I was in Salem, MA for the annual Massachusetts Poetry Festival… and… oh my goodness, was it incredible. Fun, informative, and (most of all) inspiring. I’m hoping to write one poem per day during this week’s vacation from the day job.

    It sounds like you had a lovely day with your sister – beaches and ice cream make a wonderful pair, don’t they? 🙂

    • Oh yes – beaches and ice creams are definitely designed to go together:)). I, for one, would love to read your poem about the Poetry Festival – it sounds live a wonderful event.

      • I didn’t necessary write a poem about the festival. Rather, I came away from the event with lots of ideas for new ones. 😉 I’m hoping to blog a little bit about the festival, too… once I get my blogging life back together.

      • Which is even more valuable! It’s lovely to have a stimulating, creative time that gives you lots of ideas and material for future work:)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.