Friday Faceoff – The hand that writes and having writ moves on…

Standard

This meme was started by Books by Proxy, whose fabulous idea was to compare UK and US book covers and decide which is we prefer. This week the theme is a cover featuring hands, so I’ve selected The Moving Finger – Book 4 of the Miss Marple Mysteries by Agatha Christie.

 

This edition was produced by HarperCollins in 1995. I rather like it – the gloved hand moving over the ancient typewriter evokes a strong period feel, which is well sustained by the author and title font. I would personally have preferred not to have that unappealing black block in the lower third of the cover, which rather spoils it for me.

 

Published in March 2007 by Black Dog and Leventhal Publishers, I also like this cover. The country postbox set in a dry stone wall gives a strong rural feel, with the bright green cloud below gives a strong indication that something is very wrong… Again, the fonts are right for the period. I would have preferred the postbox to have been picked out in bright red, which would have added another splash of colour, thus giving it extra eye appeal.

 

This edition, published by Harper Collins in 2012, is probably my favourite. The black background with the classic Christie signature in red really pops, while the lettering for the title font is simple – but that doesn’t prevent it from being effective.

 

This Bengali edition, produced by সেবা প্রকাশনী in December 2016, certainly catches the eye. There is something very disturbing about that outstretched arm – it looks so horribly vulnerable… And the rose nearby also tells a story. I don’t feel qualified to comment on the font, but this is a cover that stood out in the looong list of options I could have chosen.

 

This Turkish cover, published in June 2014, is the weakest one this week. The idea is okay – but the execution is very clumsy. Why would there be a spatter of blood across a poison pen letter? What compounds this mistake is the fact it looks so false, as no attempt has been to blend it so that it looks as though it belongs on the paper in the typewriter. So which is your favourite?

21 responses »

  1. Great choice. I like your pick this week, I also like the one with the vulnerable hand but I think the first cover is my favourite for some reason.
    Lynn 😀

    • Thank you, Lynn. I had a bit of a struggle with this theme, this week – but then remembered this book… I like the fact there is a range of different covers:)

    • Yes – I like that one, too. I think it really gives a strong period feel, which is a huge plus for it – especially given that historical murder mysteries are currently so popular.

  2. Hmmm, I think your choice is the strongest- the way they did the title gives and interesting clue to the title, and the signature/author name looks great. I like how that first one fits the period, too. Gotta love Agatha Christie, though I can’t recall if I’ve read this one. I’ve been meaning to hit the library and read through ALL of hers, but with title changes over the years I’ve had a few unexpected repeats 🙂

    • I know! It’s a bit of a puzzle unravelling the original name from the rename… I read the series to my children many, many years ago when they reached an age when they felt too grown up for children’s books, but still liked to be read to.

  3. Ah, these are great covers, all but that last one with the weirdo blood splatter. I do like that series of covers with the black’n’white image and the color on the bottom half. Honestly, I do think that newspaper-torn letters is my favorite. There’s always the promise of evil notes with torn news letters. 😉

  4. I love the 2nd cover especially. That whole series of covers is my favorite as they capture a spooky quality without taking it too far. I’ve thought about replacing my ragtag collection of Agatha Christies with those covers but it’s such a large project I keep chickening out!

    • You’re right – it’s a really big undertaking, isn’t it? Good luck with it, though… Perhaps you can put the word out and get your friends and family involved?

  5. I think that it’s hard to get a good cover for mysteries that would be atmospheric and eye-catching, and at the same time wouldn’t be too literal.
    For that reason, my favorite one is the Harper Collins one: simple, but it works. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.