Teaser Tuesday – 14th November, 2017

Standard

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by The Purple Booker.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This is my choice of the day:

A Plague of Giants – Book 1 of the Seven Kennings series by Kevin Hearn

72% The bard ends his completely miserable audience by saying he’ll stay at the Raelech embassy and then tosses out a wish for me to “be well,” which is more alarming than the news of my army’s destruction. People are beginning to notice. To question my health. My sanity! My fitness to rule.

BLURB: In the city of Pelemyn, Fintan the bard takes to the stage to tell what really happened the night the giants came . . .

From the east came the Bone Giants, from the south, the fire-wielding Hathrim – an invasion that sparked war across the six nations of Teldwen. The kingdom’s only hope is the discovery of a new form of magic that calls the world’s wondrous beasts to fight by the side of humankind.

This epic fantasy has an interesting structure – we learn about the unfolding drama as a volcanic eruption triggers a major and unwelcome migration of a people through a magically enhanced bard. He recites the story of what happens, complete with the resulting political fallout to a bulging city of refugees, taking on the persona of the various key characters through his magical gift, or ‘kenning’. I’m enjoying it – though having to really concentrate to keep track of the eleven protagonists that keep popping up. Himself has raved about this one, so I’m looking forward to a climactic ending…

35 responses »

    • I shall definitely be reviewing this one, Laura – I thoroughly enjoyed it:). Thank you for popping in and have a great reading week – Passing Strange looks very promising.

    • You’re very welcome:). If you enjoy Urban Fantasy that gets tangled up with gods, then Kevin Hearne’s Iron Druid series might well also interest you. Have a great week, Denise:)

    • Oh yes – I’ll definitely be reviewing it. While it sounds a mess, it actually isn’t. I’m enjoying the way the story unspools, particularly now that I’m a good way into it. I’ll admit it did take a while before I really got into it, but I found the structure took some getting used to. I think this is a Marmite book – you either love it or loathe it, but then Kevin Hearne tends to have that effect anyway, I think.

    • Yes… I’ve also read mixed reviews. I haven’t found it a huge struggle to keep track of who is doing what to whom, but I think that’s because the structure really helps. Thank you for swinging by:)

    • It isn’t the muddle it may at first seem, as these characters are all funnelled through the bard, who clearly introduces them. But – yes – you do have to concentrate! Thank you for swinging by:)

    • I do have to think a bit at times – but because you keep returning to the bard between each character and he always reminds his audience about the context, it does work.

  1. I’ve also heard mixed reviews for this one – I’ll be keen to see what you make of it. Hearne is an author I enjoy reading and I really liked the look of this one.
    Lynn 😀

    • Yes… I certainly had to concentrate – but as the story gathered momentum, I found it easier and once the story sucked me in I didn’t want to stop reading. But I did initially find it a bit of a struggle…

  2. This doesn’t seem like one I’d typically pick up, but at the same time it sounds interesting, and I like the cover. I just might have to check it out. 🙂 Thank you for sharing! And, thank you for visiting my blog! 🙂

  3. I am reading Splendor by Shehanne Moore. Holding my breath as the girl is getting in trouble on every page 🙂 I like Shehanne’s books and her heroines. My next book on the list is Running Out Of Space 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.