Sunday Post – 25th June 2017

Standard

This is part of the weekly meme over at the Caffeinated Book Reviewer, where book bloggers can share the books and blogs they have written.

Last Sunday was sweltering, which I loved. But even I was glad of the air-con in the car as we drove to Ringwood to see my mother and father-in-law for Father’s Day. It was lovely to see them again – and admire their marvellous display of sweet peas they’ve grown.

This was another very hectic week – Monday we had the family coming to stay, so it was a case of ensuring bedrooms were all ready to go. I was teaching at Northbrook in the evening – we had two excellent sessions this week, with a great range of thought-provoking and well written pieces of work from the students. I cannot believe this coming week sees the final session of my Creative Writing classes for the year.

On Wednesday – the hottest day of the year so far – I decided to rejoin my Pilates and Fitstep group. I am once more the newbie, as the Littlehampton class has folded due to lack of numbers and the Middleton group is far more advanced. I muddled through and just jigged around in time to the music when I got hopelessly lost, but loved taking part once again. In the afternoon, I was teaching Tim – we were tweaking and rewriting song lyrics for the film as the cast will be in the studio recording the songs in just over a fortnight’s time. In the evening, it was writing group. There were only three of us, but we were able to sit out in the garden as it steadily grew darker – bliss!

On Thursday, writing buddy Mhairi came over for the day and my sister also popped in as she was waiting for her broadband to be connected. In the evening, I attended Tim’s show with the Chichester Free School – it was an entertaining evening as the standard was impressive. Tim performed ‘You Got to Pick a Pocket or Two’ as Fagin from Oliver and ‘Evermore’ from Sleeping Beauty, which he did beautifully and had me in tears… It is so wonderful to see him up on the stage performing so confidently and with such talent and passion.

On Friday morning, Tim reflected on his very positive experience of performing in this show during his lesson. He had composed a new tune – a lovely quirky number and after he performed it for me, I asked him if he could call it ‘Sarah’ and let me have a copy of it as a birthday present… He was delighted and was only too happy to do so. He also played me the finale for the film – and once more, I found myself filling up as I listened to it – such a hauntingly beautiful piece of music. In the afternoon – I went to the hairdresser and had my hair dyed purple…

Oscar stayed over on his own on Friday night, as Frances had a sleepover with a school friend before John picked her up from Brighton and we had both grandchildren last night. Sadly, the weather has been a whole lot cooler with spells of misty rain at times and while I know the garden and landscape could do with the moisture, I would have loved to have taken Oscar for a walk along the beach if the weather had been halfway decent.

As it has once more, been such a very busy week with the family staying over and so much going on, my reading and blogging has suffered. Apologies for not responding with my usual promptness.

This week I have read:
A Peace Divided – Book 2 of the Peacekeeper series by Tanya Huff
Gunnery Sergeant Torin Kerr had been the very model of a Confederation Marine. No one who’d ever served with her could imagine any circumstance that would see her walking away from the Corps. But that was before Torin learned the truth about the war the Confederation was fighting…before she’d been declared dead and had spent time in a prison that shouldn’t exist…before she’d learned about the “plastic” beings who were really behind the war between the Confederation and the Others. That was when Torin left the military for good. Yet she couldn’t walk away from preserving and protecting everything the Confederation represented. Instead, ex-Gunnery Sergeant Torin Kerr drew together an elite corps of friends and allies–some ex-Marines, some civilians with unique skills–and together they prepared to take on covert missions that the Justice Department and the Corps could not–or would not–officially touch. But after their first major mission, it became obvious that covert operations were not going to be enough. Although the war is over, the fight goes on and the Justice Department finds its regular Wardens unable to deal with violence and the people trained to use it. Ex-Gunnery Sergeant Torin Kerr has a solution: Strike Teams made up of ex-military personnel, small enough to maneuver quickly, able to work together if necessary. Justice has no choice but to implement her idea and Torin puts her team of independent contractors back into uniform. It isn’t war, it is policing, but it often looks much the same.
No… that wasn’t the book – it was only the blurb, honest. I really enjoyed this thoughtful, politically aware addition to this strong, well-written military science fiction adventure.

Sherlock Mars by Jackie Kingdon
Molly Marbles runs a successful bistro on terraformed Mars. But a virtual restaurant opens near her place, offering the experience of delicacies from across the Solar System with none of the calories. What will this do to her business? Then its owner is murdered in her kitchen. Molly, an amateur detective, springs into action to help the police solve the mystery, while also planning her pop-star daughter’s wedding, keeping her kitchen staff from feuding, and protecting her cyborg friend from the humans-only mob. Meanwhile, the infamous Cereal Serial Killer has escaped prison on Pluto and has everyone worried. Things are getting hectic, but Molly is a resilient and resourceful woman. And her knack for mysteries sees her nick-named ‘Sherlock Mars’.
This science fiction cosy mystery is great fun – I’m a sucker for whodunit mysteries set in space and this is one of the cosy variety…

My posts last week:

Sunday Post – 18th June 2017

Shoot for the Moon Challenge 2017 – May Roundup

Teaser Tuesday featuring A Peace Divided – Book 2 of the Peacekeeper series by Tanya Huff

Review of Cold-Forged Flame – Book 1 of the Ree Varekai series by Marie Brennan

*NEW RELEASE SPECIAL* Review of A Peace Divided – Book 2 of the Peacekeeper series by Tanya Huff

Friday Face-off – In ancient times cats were worshipped as gods… featuring Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats by T.S. Eliot

Review of A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

This week, I simply haven’t been spending sufficient time online to be able to compile a list of intriguing and entertaining blog posts. In the meantime, thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to visit, like and comment on my site and may you have a great week.

47 responses »

  1. Last Sunday was super warm here too, we were only outside for a short while when visiting my mom and I even burned my skin a little as I didn’t think to apply sunscreen.

    That’s nice you got to visit your father on father’s day and neat they grow sweet peas!

    It sure sounds like you had a hectic week with everything you had going on! But sounds like a god week to with the writing group and the Pilatus lesson you joined.

    How did the hair dye turn out?

    Sounds like you had a good reading week even though you only read two books, they both sound like good ones. Have a great week!

    • Thank you for your comments Lola – and sorry I’m STILL so behind… Yes, it was a very hectic week, though in a good way. And the hair is great – I’m hoping there will be photos next week:)

    • I’ll come to your literary coffee shop, Deb, if you’ll open it. I might even help out for free while you write during the less busy periods. I have been thinking of trying the local writer’s group at our library.

    • My writing group has been incredibly important to me over the years… They have certainly improved my work and provided the impetus to keep going at times when the going got tough – but I am very fortunate in that they are all people who are talented writers AND solidly good friends, so that although they can be quite critical, it is because they care about me and my writing and are NOT trying to play any nasty little power games. Be careful – the wrong group can destroy your confidence.

  2. It sounds like a fun and busy week for you, Sarah. I was stuck indoors most of the time because a tropical storm brought lots of rain. But the weekend has been sunny and I’m spending tie outdoors reading, enjoying the pool and ignoring the yard which needs tending. LOL

    My Sunday Post

    • Oh I fully concur with you! Reading and enjoying the pool has to be the number one priority – let’s face it, the weeds aren’t going anywhere, are they?

  3. It sounds like you had a busy week. Glad you muddled through the first class. I am sure that will change and you’ll be rocking in no time. Weds was our hottest day too. I hope this week is filled with good books, good friends, and cool weather.

    • Thank you, Kimba. I’m looking forward to the good books and good friends and family. Though I have to say – I would rather have the hot weather back:).

  4. Sounds like a busy week but a productive one! I need to get back to pilates. I’ve been a slacker this past month (or two) and I can definitely tell. I always just feel better if I’m taking pilates and yoga and just getting more exercise in general. Sherlock Mars sounds intriguing and different. It sounds like a fun read. Have a great week!

    • Thank you Katherine – yes… I’m very relieved to be getting back to my exercise regime at long last! I hope that you, too, manage to make it back to class soon. It makes a huge difference to my overall wellbeing:). Yes – Sherlock Mars is certainly great fun, especially for cosy mystery fans. I hope your week is also turning out to be a good one.

  5. Wow. Definitely a busy week, but for several good reasons. And I’m glad to hear that Tim’s school performance and his overall confidence and positive attitude about it. I’d say that you must be incredibly proud of him, but that pride sparkles through in the words you wrote. So I can already tell. 🙂

    You dyed your hair purple? Can we please see a photo?? 😀

    Also, I couldn’t help but notice the phrase “birthday present.” Is your birthday coming up?

    • Yes! It was my birthday yesterday… a BIG one, which is why I dyed my hair purple:)). My mother is throwing a family party for me on Sunday, which should be interesting as it will be held outdoors whatever the weather and the forecast is for driving rain and high winds…

      • By yesterday, did you mean the 26th or the 27th? Because my dad’s birthday is June 27th. 🙂

        Oh gosh. I hope the weather forecast for Sunday improves!

      • My birthday was on 26th:). So I’m one day out from your father’s birthday – and I’m a typical Cancer, for what it’s worth:). Fortunately, the forecast for Sunday is steadily improving – thank goodness!

  6. It sounds like you had a great week. And, you’re already enjoying having your sister nearby to call in for visits Have fun this week – the weather is a little cooler here.
    Lynn 😀
    PS I second the vote to see your purple hair.

  7. Oh sounds like your weeks are like how mine had been going. Busy. lol. Hope you get some time to relax. Have a great week!

    • Thank you, Melissa! You’re right – it’s been insanely busy, what with one thing and another. However things should very suddenly start to ease off come next Monday (I hope!). I hope you, too, are beginning to find some time to relax – and many thanks for visiting:).

  8. Two weeks behind again… Sheesh. Sorry for all the late comments!

    We have a whole bunch of family coming in next week (EIGHT PEOPLE!!! How am I even going to cope???) but I’m glad you managed!

    I’ll be back with comments on the latest Sunday Post soon! I didn’t even get one done last weekend as I was on a ‘tech break’!

    • A very wise response, I think… Maybe having a leave of absence would be a good idea in order to get a load of other things done!

      Best of luck with the visitor invasion – eek! 8 is a large number to feed and entertain… Hopefully they will all pitch in and treat you like a treasured host instead of a hotel owner! I’ll be thinking of you…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.