Sunday Post – 18th June 2017

Standard

This is part of the weekly meme over at the Caffeinated Book Reviewer, where book bloggers can share the books and blogs they have written.

Last Sunday was once again all about the garden. I’m very carefully not saying anything about the weather except that it isn’t raining and it isn’t cold, as last time I bragged about the marvellous sunshine we were having on my Sunday Post, we had gale-force winds and torrential rain for the next five days.

It has been a very busy week as my sister has finally arrived from France and is busy moving into a flat just up the road. I have been helping her buy furniture and sort out where important things like the best supermarket, the local branch of her bank, and furniture stores are. Once she has settled in, I’m really looking forward to showing her all the lovely walks and beauty spots around here. I still cannot quite believe she will only be living five minutes away from me.

On Thursday, Tim took his first external exam. We don’t know whether he has passed it or not, but he did brilliantly – remaining so calm throughout and answering all questions. I’m so proud of how hard he has worked to get where he is.

As you will see below, I haven’t got much reading done this week as my sister was staying with us for the first five days, only moving into her flat on Friday. We had a lot of catching up to do…

This week I have read:

The Dog Walker – Book 5 of the Detective’s Daughter series by Lesley Thomson
January, 1987. In the depths of winter, only joggers and dog walkers brave the Thames towpath after dark. Helen Honeysett, a young newlywed, sets off for an evening run from her riverside cottage and disappears. Twenty-nine years later, Helen’s body has never been found. Her husband has asked Stella Darnell, a private detective, and her side-kick Jack Harmon, to find out what happened all those years ago. But when the five households on that desolate stretch of towpath refuse to give up their secrets, Stella and Jack find themselves hunting a killer whose trail has long gone cold.
I thoroughly enjoyed this one. One of the reasons why this is the only book I’ve read this week, is that The Dog Walker – with the steady drip feeding of clues, potential suspects and witnesses – deserves to be read slowly, so I took my time and savoured it. I will be reviewing it in due course.

My posts last week:

Sunday Post – 11th June 2017

*NEW RELEASE SPECIAL* Review of River of Teeth – Book 1 of the River of Teeth novella series by Sarah Gailey

Teaser Tuesday featuring A Peace Divided – Book 2 of the Peacekeeper series by Tanya Huff

Review of The Sorcerer’s Garden by D. Wallace Peach

Review of The Keeper of Lost Things by Ruth Hogan

Friday Face-off – My guitar is not a thing. It is an extension of myself featuring Soul Music – Book 16 of the Discworld series by Terry Pratchett

*NEW RELEASE SPECIAL* Review of Borne by Jeff VanderMeer

Interesting/outstanding blogs and articles that have caught my attention during the last week, in no particular order:

Events – What to look forward to in Summer 2017http://earthianhivemind.net/2017/06/15/events-look-forward-summer-2017/ A very useful mini-roundup of some major events for SFF book lovers in particular – is anyone going to these?

Lessons Learned from John Kaag: Re-route, Re-boothttps://jeanleesworld.com/2017/06/15/lessons-learned-from-john-kaag-re-route-re-root/ Another beautiful, profound article from this talented writer on negotiating family life…

#WhenDreamsComeTrue with Sarah Hardy Publicist at Bloodhound Books https://mychestnutreadingtree.wordpress.com/2017/06/16/whendreamscometrue-with-sarah-hardy-publicist-at-bloodhound-books-sarahhardy681-bloodhoundbook/ A lovely article about how a woman is in the process of achieving her dream job

The Leaning Tower of Pisahttps://photolicioux.wordpress.com/2017/06/03/the-leaning-tower-of-pisa/ I love this photo…

Please Do Not Support my Patreonhttp://writerunboxed.com/2017/06/17/please-do-not-support-my-patreon/ The hilarious Bill Ferris strikes again on yet another how-not-to article for aspiring writers and bloggers…

Thank you for visiting and taking the time and trouble to comment – and may you have a wonderful reading and blogging week.

20 responses »

  1. How lovely to finally have your sister living just up the road from you. I know you’ve been looking forward to this time getting here so it must be lovely helping her settle in. I’ve not started the Lesley Thomson series of books yet but I have a few of them on my TBR so must try and squeeze them in soon. Hope you have a good week ahead 🙂

  2. That’s wonderful about your sister moving so close! How nice for her to have someone who knows all the ins and outs. The hardest part of moving is finding the best grocery stores and the pretty walks and all that. I will hope the gale force winds stay away and you have another week of not bad weather. I’m curious about The Dog Walker. It sounds really good and just the kind of book I’d enjoy. I need to add it to my TBR. Have a great week!

    • Yes – she’s popped round this morning to do some online admin. It’s lovely having her here:). As for The Dog Walker – as well as the rest of the series – I highly recommend them as intelligent and satisfying reads.

  3. Having family close by is such a blessing. We live in a small town, and our close friends who are like our brothers and sisters (many of them older) are no more than a ten to fifteen minute drive away. It makes us close not only in physical distance but emotionally.

    • It’s lovely when there is such a sense of community. Sadly, although we’ve lived in the same close for over 20 years, there isn’t the same feeling here – partly because until very recently we had some fairly awful neighbours. But it’s wonderful having someone so close emotionally to be close physically, too.

  4. So many wonderful things happening, Sarah! So happy for you. Andm wow! That cover for The Dog Walker is stunning. I enjoy a lot of the same types of books and will be adding this series to my wish list. Would love to meet the characters. Have another fabulous week!

    My Sunday Post

  5. Hehe…yes our weather looking forward is something I am looking forward to, so I totally understand not wanted to jinx it. We spent the weekend cleaning up debris. The front of our house was covered in leaves, dirt and more from the storm.

    • I’m sure… So sorry for the folks who had storm damage – I don’t know if it’s the case in the US, but here, we can’t get cover for gates and fences damaged in storms under standard house insurance – which can make reparations very expensive:(. Hope you have a great week, Kimber.

  6. That’s wonderful that your sister has finally moved back to the UK! I know you’ve been looking forward to it for a while, so i must be thrilling now that the moment has finally arrived. 🙂 And great news about Tim, too.

    The weather here has been going back and forth between beautiful and “ugh.” We’re in the middle of a humid stretch now; it’s not overly hot, with high temps in the low to mid 80s F (26 to 29 Celcius), but it’s very sticky and uncomfortable. Hopefully it will dry out soon. I’m visiting my parents next weekend, and we’re planning to visit Heritage Gardens in Sandwich on Friday, so less humidity would be ideal for that.

  7. Oh dear re: the weather! It’s been frosty here in my portion of the Southern hemisphere but also it hasn’t been awful – when it’s sunny it’s still decent. Unfortunately today is pretty overcast but I’m managing and have the Ugg boots out in full force! 🙂

    That’s great news about your sister! What fun! I’m kind of glad to see you can have a ‘normal’ week and only finish one book though! Ha ha. 🙂

    Hope you’re having a good week this week!

    • It’s been a ‘different’ week this week – partly due to the very high temperatures we’re having. I’m loving it, but I’m conscious that many folks – my husband included are suffering. As for the single book read – I think this coming week will be the same as I’m editing quite intensively:).

Leave a Reply

