Sunday Post – 11th December 2016

Standard

Sunday Post

This is part of the weekly meme over at the Caffeinated Book Reviewer, where book bloggers can share the books and blogs they have written.

Well, what a busy old week this has been! Last Sunday it was my mother’s birthday party and my lovely sister hosted the gathering of the clan. It was fun catching up with everyone and as ever, a shock at seeing how quickly my nephew is growing up… I completed this term’s course at Northbrook on Monday and Tuesday and we are now finished until the second week in January, which sounds like it’s a while away, though I know from experience it comes around very quickly. Which is just as well as I have the loveliest students, a number of whom have been coming to the classes since I started teaching 8 years ago and are also firm friends. On Wednesday evening, I went out with my marvellous writing group for a meal at a local restaurant – lovely food and great company. On Thursday evening I attended the December meeting of West Sussex Writers, where Many Pannett discussed writing novellas and in the second half of the meeting provided an excellent writing workshop, which I really enjoyed – I even managed to write a poem.

However Friday saw me laid low with the worst migraine I’ve had in years… nausea, temperature and terrible shooting pains in the head – which wasn’t good because I was also grannying. Fortunately Himself was home, so was able to drive us to and from Brighton to pick up the grandchildren in the evening and although very groggy and rather sorry for myself I managed to accompany him, though took myself off to bed for a couple of hours before starting the bedtime routine. They are going to be helping us decorate the house for Christmas throughout the week-end, as well as a bit of shopping and just chilling or playing with their toys. It’s been a while since we’ve seen them, so it’s great to catch up on their doings.

As for my rewrite – it won’t come as a shock when I declare I haven’t been near it this week… This coming week my blogging will also be interrupted as I’m away for a few days and simply haven’t had the time or space to organise myself to cover my absence (it was on the list for Friday…)

This week I have read:

A Natural History of Dragons – Book 1 of The Memoirs of Lady Trent by Marie Brennan
anaturalhistoryofdragonsEveryone knows Isabella, Lady Trent, to be the world’s preeminent dragon naturalist. Here, at last, in her own words, is the story of a pioneering spirit who risked her reputation, prospects, and her life to satisfy scientific curiosity; of how she sought true love despite her lamentable eccentricities; and of her thrilling expedition to the mountains of Vystrana, where she made discoveries that would change the world.

This was recommended to me by the wonderful Kitvaria Sarene during an intense evening at Bristolcon talking books, so I made it a top priority on my TBR list and decided to treat myself this week. And I’m delighted I did – it’s a gem. A review will be following shortly.

 

How to Train Your Parents by Pete Johnson
howtotrainyourparentsMoving to a new area and a new school, Louis is horrified to discover his parents changing into ultra-competitive parents, wanting him and his younger brother to get straight As at school and join all sorts of after-school clubs and activities like the other kids in the area. Suddenly Louis’s life is no longer his own…

This is sharp and funny – and very pertinent. I think a fair number of children could do with more benign neglect, or at least the time to just hang out in their bedrooms with sufficient free time to find out who they are and what they like doing when someone isn’t breathing down their necks.

 

Judged – Book 3 of the Blackhart Legacy by Liz de Jagar
Kit’s job description includes solving crimes – the supernatural kind . . .judged
Glow, a fae-created drug, is rapidly going viral and the suppliers have to be shut down. Teaming up with Aiden and Dante, Kit follows leads across London, tracking down dealers. They stir up trouble, making themselves a target for the gang they’re trying to stop.

In the Otherwhere, Thorn stumbles across a secret that could destroy both the human and Fae worlds. The Veil that separates our human world from the fae realms is weakening and the goddess is dying. And if she dies and the Veil fails, madness and chaos will wreak unstoppable havoc upon both lands.

 

My posts last week:
Sunday Post – 4th December 2016

Review of Thornyhold by Mary Stewart

Teaser Tuesday featuring Judged – Book 3 of the Blackhart Legacy by Liz de Jagar

*NEW RELEASE SPECIAL* Split the Sun – Book 2 of the Inherit the Stars series by Tessa Elwood

Shoot for the Moon Challenge – November Roundup

Friday Faceoff – And Soul Meets Soul on Lovers’ Lips… featuring Living Dead in Dallas – Book 2 of the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris

Review of Penric and the Shaman – Book 2 of the Penric and Desdemona novella series by Lois McMaster Bujold

Interesting/outstanding blogs and articles that have caught my attention during the last week, in no particular order:
The Curious and Little-Known Slang Terms Found in Modern Britain https://interestingliterature.com/2016/12/09/the-curious-and-little-known-slang-terms-found-in-modern-britain/ If you’re hunting for pressies for the word-nerds in your life. Or want to drop a heavy hint to someone…

Lessons Learned from Agatha Christie: Have Mischievous Fun with Misdirection https://jeanleesworld.com/2016/12/08/lessons-learned-from-agatha-christie-have-mischievous-fun-with-misdirection/ An enjoyable and well written article on the craft of writing misdirection – and how an ill-considered cover can wreck it all…

Exoplanet animation – simply amazing http://earthianhivemind.net/2016/12/04/exoplanet-animation-simply-amazing/ Steph has provided this wonderful animation – and that’s not the half of it…

Only one among many https://photolicioux.wordpress.com/2016/12/05/only-among-many/
Another hauntingly good photo from this excellent site.

Fore-edge Painting: Images on Book Edges https://kristentwardowski.wordpress.com/2016/12/06/fore-edge-painting-images-on-book-edges/ I didn’t know what this was called before Kristen told me – although I have seen examples of it in old libraries of rare books. Just wish we could somehow resurrect it…

Many thanks for visiting and taking the time and trouble to comment – and may you have a wonderful reading and blogging week.

16 responses »

    • Yes… they are, aren’t they? Still a lot more wobbly and washed out than I would like. But as ever, the children were a delight – soooo good. And my writing group IS amazing:)). Have a great week, Laurel – I LOVE your Christmas decor.

  1. Sounds like a busy week indeed, but like you had a lot of fun events. That sounds like a nasty migraine, I have migraines as well and they really are the worst. I hope you’re feeling better soon! We just got our house decorated today, it’s fun to bring the Christmas spirit inside by decorating. Have a great week!

    • Thank you, Lola! Yes, it’s a while since I was laid quite so low, but I’ve been under intense stress recently so I guess that’s where it’s coming from… Yes – I always love to see the house decorated up, too:). Hope you have a great week.

    • Thank you, Kristen – what a lovely thing to say:). Yes… the birthday party was lovely and it was a very busy, social week. I just wish I was better prepared for Christmas! Thank you for swinging by and hope you have a great week.

  2. Quite a week! Sorry to hear about the migraine- how awful, but happy birthday to your mom! And glad you got some grannying time in too. 🙂 The History of dragons books have had my eye because, well, dragons and I’ve seen good reviews and more mixed ones, so I’ll be curious to see what you think. although it sounds like you liked it! It is a series I’m definitely interested in, but just haven’t pulled the trigger on it yet.

    That Christie post sounds good too, I’ll have to check it out.

    • Thank you, Greg! Yes, it was lovely to see Mum on her birthday – she is a remarkable lady and lovely to catch up with the g/children as I haven’t had them for a while. A Natural History of Dragons won’t be to everyone’s taste – but I loved it:). I hope you manage to stay warm this week with all your snow.

  3. Just like you, the end of school and life in general (including some rainy weather which always affects my arthritis chronic pain–although it’s certainly not as bad as having a migraine which evidently laid you out!) caught up with me and I am going to skip my Sunday (Evening) Post. I am not going to do it early Monday morning; I am not going to apologize or give reasons for not doing it; I am simply skipping it altogether this week. I reviewed two books I finished (one I read and didn’t totally understand, but went out on a limb and shared my confusion but admiration for the book, the other a re-read.
    I think I deserve the night off after teaching Sunday School so our teacher could celebrate Christmas early with her family, going to our quarterly Four Friends Book Club, which meets about once a quarter and was the best yet, and attended a funny Christmas play. I have just come home with all my loot a full tummy and a satisfied feeling. I will post my Monday Morning Musings first thing tomorrow morning at http://powerfulwomenreaders.com as usual.
    I hope the coming week sees you catching up and getting a lot done.

  4. I feel like today for me is like Friday was for you. Except I’m not having a migraine… but I’m overtired and having trouble concentrating on just about everything.

    You sound a lot cheerier than you have on past Sunday Posts, though. I hope whatever was the cause of your stress lately has smoothed out, and that you’re starting to feel better. Glad to hear your mom’s birthday party was a lot of fun (my mom’s birthday was also last week *smiles*) and your writing-related events went well, too.

    • Yes… the situation HAS eased somewhat – and I cannot be too sad when the grandchildren are around as they are a joy:)). Yes, I love celebrating my mother’s birthday – I’m very lucky to have such a strong relationship with her. I hope you soon feel less tired, although I think it goes with the time of year – the long nights and gloomy days don’t help, do they?

      • Yes, I’m feeling better now, thank you. I think it was a combination of not getting enough sleep for a few nights in a row, plus feeling overwhelmed after looking ahead to a busy week. Though I wouldn’t be surprised if weather played a factor, too…

  5. Migraines are the worst! But in spite of it you had a busy week. I was chatting with a friend earlier this week and we both agree that the winter break between classes is never as long as we would like or need it to be. Fingers crossed for a better week!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.