Shoot for the Moon Challenge 2016 – November Roundup

Standard

After setting some crazy writing goals with my writing partner, Mhairi Simpson, moonway back in the dying throes of 2015, how am I doing?

Family issues rather ambushed me and I had little mental energy or necessary headspace required to cope with my demanding rewrite. On a more positive note, I gave a talk at West Sussex Writers on the joy of writing reviews and posting them online and my Creative Writing course gathered momentum, while Sally and I finally sorted out Tim’s syllabus and have drawn up a coherent schedule of work for him for the next two years.

• During November, I read eleven books. Again, it’s been a great reading month. I really enjoyed songsofseraphinethe wonderful the children’s book Clover Moon by Jacqueline Wilson, cyberpunk adventure Synners by Pat Cadigan, Bloodrush by Ben Galley and E.D.E. Bell’s penricsmissionThe Banished Craft – however Songs of Seraphina by Jude Houghton and Penric’s Mission by Lois McMaster Bujold are my standout reads for the month.
Challenge – To review a minimum of 100 books during 2016 and widen my reading to include more authors new to me. I fulfilled this challenge in August, but I am continuing to read and review more enjoyable, exciting books.

 

• I am currently stranded in the boggy mid-book bit of Miranda’s Tempest. Realistically, I don’t expect to get much further this side of Christmas, but there’s no point in getting in a spin about it. I’ll continue as and when I can manage it.
Challenge – To continue to submit my work.

 

• I’ve continued to improve my fitness with Pilates and Fitstep classes and we’re now learning extra steps for the jive and tango – so much fun … thanks to the marvellous Louisa Jones, an inspired and very patient teacher. I hadn’t quite reached my target weight during November, but it was very close and I am continuing to improve my fitness and stamina.
Challenge – To continue to improve my fitness.

Another month where nothing has gone to plan… Oh well, that’s Life I suppose. I wrote just under 17,000 words on my blog during November, nearly 6,000 words on my teaching admin and just over 10,00 words on my rewrite of Miranda’s Tempest, bringing my total for the month to just under 33,000 words.

How are you getting on with your targets now the year is drawing to an end? Are you anywhere close to fulfilling them?

10 responses »

  1. 😦 I’m sorry that things are still trying right now, Sarah. I hope things get resolved soon, so you can enjoy the holidays, get back on track writing-wise, and not feel so stressed out. *hugs*

  2. How interesting to catch up with you! I wouldn’t dare set goals except to get through the next day or the next week, or through the semester. Right now my goal is to get through, all the time enjoying, Christmas!

  3. I can imagine it’s annoying when life interferes with plans, but I also think it shows both the strength of your character and ability to adapt. You don’t abandon your goals, but you also seem to know when it’s the time to slow down: Miranda’s Tempest might not be ready, but you’ve shown before you’re able to go back on track and catch up with things once life gets out of the way, and I’m sure you’ll do it again. 🙂 I’m keeping my fingers crossed for that. 🙂

    • Thank you for your kind words, Joanna:). I certainly intend to do so. And as I’ve been taking a break, I’ve had a couple of lightbulb moments as to how to introduce the themes I want to address more effectively, so I’m hoping the enforced delay will in the end prove to be fruitful. In the meantime, I very much appreciate your faith and encouragement!

      • You’re welcome :). I apologize for my encouragement being rather spotty recently. I need to get back to reading blogs weekly because I end up with huge backlogs all the time.

Leave a Reply

