Review of INDIE Ebook Sweep of the Blade – Book 4 of the Innkeeper Chronicles by Ilona Andrews #Brainfluffbookreview #SweepoftheBladebookreview #@SciFiMonth2019

Standard

I absolutely love this sci fi/fantasy mash-up, as it is so funny, smart and cleverly plotted – see my review of Clean Sweep. It has also stuck in my head, so I was absolutely thrilled when I saw this one was available – and treated it to myself once I’d completed the major rewrite of Mantivore Prey. I’m linking this review to the @SciFiMonth2019 event.

Maud Demille was a daughter of Innkeepers. She knew that a simple life wasn’t in the cards, but she never anticipated what Fate would throw at her. Once a wife to a powerful vampire knight, Maud and her daughter, Helen, had been exiled for the sins of her husband to the desolate planet of Karhari. Karhari killed her husband, and Maud had spent a year and a half avenging his debts. But now all the debts are paid. Rescued by her sister Dina, Maud had sworn off all things vampire. Except she met Arland, the Marshal of House Krahr. One thing led to another and he asked for her hand in marriage. She declined. Try as she might, she can’t just walk away from Arland. It doesn’t help that being human is a lot harder for Maud than being a vampire.

This is something of a spinoff, as this is the first book that doesn’t feature Dina, the young innkeeper, but instead follows the fortunes of her sister, Maud. We first meet with her and the adorable Helen in the previous book, but to be honest if you haven’t read any of the other innkeeper books, this would be a good entry point.

I love the fusion of fantasy and sci fi – because these vampires aren’t the blood-drinking batlike creatures that regularly turn up in urban fantasy, they are a space-faring alien species with a martial culture honed by spending generations battling a ferocious species intent on decimating their kind, while snacking on their children. They are larger and stronger than humans and value strength, cunning and awesome fighting skills. Maud happens to have those. And yes… there were times in the book when I was frankly sceptical at her fighting ability – until a certain point when it becomes clear how she manages to hold her own against these hulking fighters. It’s neatly done and if you don’t register it, there’s no explanation – you, the reader, are left to join up the dots.

The romance between her and Arland is well handled, given it is something of a slowburn affair, given that Maud had already been swept off her feet by a vampire warrior and it didn’t end well. There are reasons why she isn’t about to rush off into the sunset with yet another gorgeous vampire, no matter how well connected he is, or how attracted she is to him. After all, she now has a young daughter to consider, and she doesn’t want to end up exiled on another dusty hellhole struggling for survival, again. And yes – this made her one of the most sympathetic protagonists I’ve encountered in a while. I burned through this one far too fast and though the next book on my list is a cracking read, it’s taken longer to bond with it than it should, simply because the protagonist isn’t Maud and the world isn’t peopled with sharp-toothed predators who like fighting for fun…

Highly recommended for fans of both fantasy and science fiction adventure stories with a splash of romance.
10/10

14 responses »

  1. Whoa, I NEED this! I sort of remember the other books in the series but for some reason I thought they were strictly fantasy. I just read a Sci fi/fantasy mash up and LOVED it (How Rory Thorne Destroyed the Multiverse) so I’m sure I’d love this😁 Thanks Sarah!

    • Yes – you’ll have remembered correctly if you recalled it as a fantasy tale, because the sci fi aspect doesn’t come in until the second book SWEEP IN PEACE. But it’s an outstanding series and just goes on getting better…

  2. Ilona Andrews is the best. I love everything she writes. I followed this series on the blog in the serial parts as they were posted and bought the book ASAP. I would read all the Innkeeper books first though because they give us the background on these characters and the world PLUS they are also amazing. Outstanding review, Sarah!

    • Thank you, Anne! She is fabulous, isn’t she? In fact – I believe ‘she’ is a husband and wife team… And I completely agree that ALLLL the books should be read – but I’m guessing anyone that uses this one as an entry point is probably going to rush out and get the rest of the books, anyway:)).

  3. Pingback: #SciFiMonth Mission Status: week three

    • This series is one of my all-time favourites. I love the way it starts out being one thing and then turns into something else. And I also love the slightly madcap humour that runs alongside the very well written adventure…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.