Teaser Tuesday – 29th October, 2019 #Brainfluffbookblog #TeaserTuesday

Standard

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by The Purple Booker.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This is my choice of the day:

Autonomous by Annalee Newitz
21% “I’m sorry we didn’t get to talk more, Xiu. Can you shake hands?” She held out her hand, tiny and calloused with an age her face didn’t show. Paladin extended his arm, allowing the scuffed metal of his fingers to curl around the pale pink of hers. She pressed her fingertips into his alloy, which yielded slightly and recorded the whorls embedded in each.

They matched nothing in the databases he had access to. Either Bluebeard had a completely unregistered identity, or age had degraded her prints so much that she was effectively untraceable.

BLURB: Autonomous features a rakish female pharmaceutical pirate named Jack who traverses the world in her own submarine. A notorious anti-patent scientist who has styled herself as a Robin Hood heroine fighting to bring cheap drugs to the poor, Jack’s latest drug is leaving a trail of lethal overdoses across what used to be North America—a drug that compels people to become addicted to their work.

On Jack’s trail are an unlikely pair: an emotionally shut-down military agent and his partner, Paladin, a young military robot…

I have cut short the rather chatty blurb. So far I’m really enjoying the world and premise of this interesting cyberpunk sci fi adventure. Looking forward to seeing what happens next…

16 responses »

    • Thank you, Tammy:)). I thought I’d give it a go for Sci Fi Month – as you can see, I’m not all that far into it. Apparently the issues come later in the story, but so far, so good…

    • I’m thoroughly enjoying it so far. The world is very detailed and believable for a near future adventure and her take on human and bot freedom an interesting one…

    • Yes… I’ll freely admit that this one has thoroughly split reviewer, Dani. Some of the characters are bots and some are indentured humans, whose interactions with people are compromised, so bonding with them can be tricky. Relationships in this book are also… uncomfortable and Newitz doesn’t flinch from exploring what happens when one person in a relationship has all the power and the other person is in their thrall. I found it a fascinating, convincing read – and if you are on the geeky side, the worldbuilding is very well done. I will be writing a review on this one.

    • Yes… I’ve been intrigued about the strength of the criticism levelled at it – and have been working out why before I write about it. Because I thoroughly enjoyed it.

      • There are some uncomfortable issues around sex and the Stockholm syndrome, which aren’t exactly spelt out, but left for the reader to join the dots. Some readers are clearly caught off balance by this. Indeed, I was a bit peeved at what I felt was one story turning into another – before realising it was my own discomfort driving my response. It is also unapologetically anti-capitalist and that also doesn’t play well with a number of reviewers…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.