#Sunday Post – 13th May, 2018 #Brainfluffbookblog

Standard

This is part of the weekly meme over at the Caffeinated Reviewer, where book bloggers can share the books and blogs they have written.

A shorter week as it was Bank Holiday Monday – which was also my son’s birthday, but for all that it turned into a very busy one. I worked through Monday and finished the main content edit on Breathing Space and now I’ve got a line edit to do and then I’ll be good to go. I’m aiming to release Breathing Space on 26th June.

On Thursday it was my sister’s birthday – and we spent the day working through Tim’s COPE folders ensuring that every piece of paper was signed and all the front pages were correctly cross-referenced, while my long-suffering sister ensured the page numbers were correct. All fiddley and vital – as any mistake could cause Tim to fail. The folder gets sent away on Monday… I felt terrible imposing on my sister like that – but as ever, she was lovely about it. In the evening we went out for a delicious meal at our favourite Chinese restaurant and had intended to come home and watch a nice film – but we dozed off as we were too shattered. On Friday, I taught Tim in the morning and then my writing buddy Mhairi and I travelled up to Haywards Heath to see Lesley Thomson, Elly Griffiths and William Shaw discuss their attitude to their writing in a fascinating three-way interview. It was a delight to touch base with Lesley again, who is such a warm, likeable person and I came away with a hardback, signed copy of her latest book which I’m dying to tuck into…

We travelled to Ringwood yesterday as one of my sister’s dear friends from France is celebrating a special birthday in Fordingbridge with all her family and we are meeting up with our parents for a meal today. All in all, a busy week in the best sense.

This week I have read:

Scylla and Charybdis by Lindsey Duncan
Anaea Carlisle, raised on an isolated space station populated solely by women, believes the rest of the universe has been plunged into anarchy and ruin by an alien-engineered disease known as Y-Poisoning. On a salvage mission, she helps rescue a hypermental named Gwydion who challenges everything she thought she knew.

Forced to flee the station with Gwydion, Anaea finds herself in an inexplicable, often hostile world permanently divided between the Galactic Collective and the Pinnacle Empire. She longs for some place to call home, but first, she’ll have to survive …
This was another unusual, fascinating read by a Grimbold author… They are not kidding when they say they want science fiction with a difference. Highly readable and engrossing – I stayed in bed far later than I should to see what happens next.

 

Obscura by Joe Hart
In the near future, an aggressive and terrifying new form of dementia is affecting victims of all ages. The cause is unknown, and the symptoms are disturbing. Dr. Gillian Ryan is on the cutting edge of research and desperately determined to find a cure. She’s already lost her husband to the disease, and now her young daughter is slowly succumbing as well. After losing her funding, she is given the unique opportunity to expand her research. She will travel with a NASA team to a space station where the crew has been stricken with symptoms of a similar inexplicable psychosis—memory loss, trances, and violent, uncontrollable impulses.
This was another storming read – a psychological thriller set in space, which when done well, works really effectively because everyone is essentially trapped. This one had me on the edge of my seat, with a fantastic action-packed finish.

 

The End of All Things – Book 6 of the Old Man’s War series by John Scalzi
The Colonial Union’s Defence Force was formed to save humanity when aggressive alien species targeted our worlds. Now Lieutenant Harry Wilson has an urgent new mission, as a hostile universe becomes ever more dangerous. He must investigate a sinister group, which lurks in the darkness of space playing different factions against one another. They’ll target both humans and aliens, and their motives are unfathomable.
I spotted this one in the library and immediately scooped it up – I thoroughly enjoyed the Old Man’s War series and wanted to see where Scalzi would take it next.

 

DNF – The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes by Ruth Hogan
It doesn’t happen very often these day – and make no mistake, this is beautifully written with wonderfully portrayed characters – but it is also achingly sad as it deals with children dying. I had a nightmare after starting it and decided not to proceed.

My posts last week:

Sunday Post – 6th May 2018

Review of Bound – Book 8 of the Alex Verus series by Bendict Jacka

Teaser Tuesday featuring Obscura by Joe Hart

Can’t-Wait Wednesday featuring Outcasts of Order – Book 20 of the Saga of Recluce by L.E. Modesitt Jr

Review of The Cold Between – Book 1 of the Central Corps novels by Elizabeth Bonesteel

Friday Face-off – I was asleep when dinosaurs roamed the earth… featuring West of Eden by Harry Harrison

*NEW RELEASE SPECIAL* Review of Obscura by Joe Hart

Interesting/outstanding blogs and articles that have caught my attention during the last week, in no particular order:

Change in Perspective https://www.spajonas.com/2018/05/11/change-in-perspective/ Indie author S.J. Pajonas explains how a trip to the dentist recently fired up her writing muscle…

Yeah, but, John, if The Pirates of the Caribbean breaks down, the pirates don’t eat the tourists https://lynns-books.com/2018/05/11/yeah-but-john-if-the-pirates-of-the-caribbean-breaks-down-the-pirates-dont-eat-the-tourists/ Lynn featured a really interesting selection of covers during this favourite meme of mine – plus the complete programme of upcoming covers for the next year…

#writersproblems: #technology #grief https://jeanleesworld.com/2018/05/10/writerproblems-technology-grief/ This should not be happening… really!

What is the point of being a nasty reviewer? http://www.keeperbookshelf.com/what-is-the-point-of-being-a-nasty-reviewer Marcy has some interesting things to say about reviewers who do nothing but write rude, demeaning comments about every book they encounter…

Top Ten Tuesday – Purple Cover Lover – http://www.tenaciousreader.com/2018/05/08/top-ten-tuesday-purple-cover-lover/ Lisa has selected all her favourite purple covers – and a wonderful feast for the eyes they are, too.

Have a great week and thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to visit, like and comment on my site.

34 responses »

  1. If I don’t finish a book, it may be because the content is too emotional. I don’t care to ever read a book about a serial killer or children being mistreated. Too upsetting.

    I hope you have a lovely week!

  2. That’s nice you had an extra free day this week, but it sure sounds like you had a full week in the good sense of the word. That’s great you finished the content of Breathing Space and only need to do the edits now. Sounds like all 3 of the books you read this week were a hit! I hope you’ll have a great week!

  3. “A busy week in the best sense” – I definitely agree. Between writing / editing progress, your sister’s birthday, family time, lots of reading… I hope this coming week offers more of the same! I just came back from a long weekend visiting my parents on the Cape. It’s been an absolutely lovely week off from work, so now I’m in denial that tomorrow is Monday…

    Also, not sure when the UK celebrates the holiday, but it’s Mothers Day here in the States, so… Happy Mother’s Day, Sarah. 🙂

    • Thank you so much, Sara:). We celebrate Mothers’ Day back in March, but getting together with my mother and sister again today was a suitable treat, anyway:).

      Delighted to hear you had such a lovely Sunday and I know what you mean about Monday!

  4. It sounds as if your week was a very special one! Congratulations on getting Tim’s work completed. I’m sure it is very detailed and technical–the kind of thing I hate to do! We are both out of school for the summer until the 20th or so of August. We are hoping to take some day trips into Houston proper to see/experience some places we’ve heard about but haven’t gone. Mostly retail-themed trips. I plan to take my walking stick and shop til I drop!

  5. I’m getting very curious about Obscura. Sounds like you had a busy week. Happy Birthday to all and Happy Mother’s Day, Sarah!

    • Thank you Laura – and grovelling apologies for the very late reply… Being away for last weekend has put me horribly behind with my commenting this week:). I hope you get a chance to pick up Obscura – I thoroughly enjoyed it.

  6. Sometimes busy in the best sense is good. 🙂 Sounds like a nice week! I haven’t been out for Chinese in ages and you know it sounds quite good right about now! Also- I just bought Obscura and can’t wait to get into it, it sounds fabulous. I like a good thriller in space. 🙂

    Hope you have a wonderful week ahead!

  7. Thanks for including a link to my post from last week! Sounds like you had a lot of work to do but you got it all done. That must be a weight off your shoulders. I picked up Obscura in both ebook and audiobook. Sounds thrilling!

    • Lol… thank you for the kind thought – but no relaxing this week! Having been away over the weekend I’m allll behind with my emails and blog-visiting…

  8. Obscura sounds really good and just the type of thing I love. Also, I’ve been trying to get to Fated by Jacka for weeks. Soon. I keep telling myself. Anne – Books of My Heart

    • Yes – Obscura is fabulous – and if you like that, you’d also enjoy Emma Newman’s Before Mars – have you read that, Anne?

      As for Fated – you’re in for a treat! Especially as it goes on improving throughout the series… I’m looking to hearing your take on it:)

    • It was a wonderful evening – they all spoke very well and it was lovely to see the mutual respect between them. They clearly know each other’s work very well and the discussion was clever and insightful without being pretentious. A wonderful evening and very much worth the £2.00 ticket!

  9. That was one busy week with all the birthdays and work… It sounds to me, though, that you’ve nailed it.
    I can also understand DNF-ing a book because it’s too emotional. It’s the “it’s not you, it’s me” case, but you shouldn’t feel guilty about it. Your mental health comes first.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.