Can’t-Wait Wednesday – 27th September, 2017

Standard

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we’re excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they’re books that have yet to be released. It’s based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine.

This is my first time taking part in this meme, but given that I have been an active Netgalley member for a couple of years now, it makes sense to share my excitement about the upcoming releases I am in the process of reading and reviewing.

This week’s Can’t Wait offering – Select by Marit Wiesenberg

#YA #contemporary #dystopian science fiction #paranormal #romance

Coming from a race of highly-evolved humans, Julia Jaynes has the perfect life. The perfect family. The perfect destiny. But there’s something rotten beneath the surface—dangerous secrets her father is keeping; abilities she was never meant to have; and an elite society of people determined to keep their talents hidden and who care nothing for the rest of humanity.

This book is due to be released by Charlesbridge Teen on 3rd October and I will be reviewing it in due course.

23 responses »

    • Thank you Barb. Yes, I really enjoyed this one – particularly the way the protagonist was written – and you’re right, it was that cover that first attracted me. Thank you for swinging by:)

  1. Welcome to Can’t Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday! I love it when the blogs I follow do this meme, because I always end up discovering new books. Like this one! This is the first I’ve heard of Select but it sounds very interesting!

    • Thank you, Mogsy:). I really enjoyed the protagonist in this one – I thought she was very well done and the book has been left with a nice twist RIGHT at the very end…

    • This is dystopian in that she is set up to fail within the rules set by her father – not the fact that the world is particularly awful. Just her little corner of it seems uniquely unfair…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.