Teaser Tuesday – 17th May 2016

Standard

Teaser

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This is my choice of the day:
The Nothing Girl – by Jodi Taylorthenothinggirl
1% I think I was more angry than scared. I’d worked my way up to this – this was the most important and probably the last act of my life and someone was telling me two paracetamol were sufficient, as if I just had a mild headache, instead of a life so unbearable that I didn’t want to be in it any longer.

BLURB: Known as “The Nothing Girl” because of her severe stutter and chronically low self-confidence, Jenny Dove is only just prevented from ending it all by the sudden appearance of Thomas, a mystical golden horse only she can see. Under his guidance, Jenny unexpectedly acquires a husband – the charming and chaotic Russell Checkland – and for her, nothing will ever be the same again. With over-protective relatives on one hand and the world’s most erratic spouse on the other, Jenny needs to become Someone. And fast!

I’ve just trudged through the opening pages of an shocker, so felt I needed something special – and this is my choice. Himself giggled through this – and at 2 am a couple of nights ago, woke me up while weeping over it… He reads A LOT and I can’t remember him doing that before. So I thought I’d give this one a go…

13 responses »

  1. Hi Sarah,

    I was intrigued by your teaser lines and indeed the full premise of the book, right up until the mention of the mystical golden horse! I’m afraid that I was lost to the story after that point, so I wn’t be adding it to my own list.

    As you sound in the mood for this genre of reading, I hope that you enjoy the rest of the book and thanks for sharing your lines 🙂

    Yvonne

    • Yes! To be honest this is different to anything I usually read – but then, I’m not sure where you’d actually park it on the shelves. It falls between several main categories…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.