Teaser Tuesday – 4th April, 2017

Standard

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by The Purple Booker.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This is my choice of the day:

The Forever Court – Book 2 of the Knights of the Borrowed Dark trilogy by Dave Rudden
47% The ancestral home of the Croits was called Eloquence, and it was a ruin. The island on which it stood was only a few kilometres across, split in two by an axe-wound of a valley, sheer and bare and brutal, as if someone had tried to murder the world and this was where the blade had fallen. Straggly, desiccated trees half-heartedly dotted its flanks. The air smelled of dust and the distant sea, and it was so cold that the weak sunlight felt like ice water on Uriel’s skin. This wasn’t the kind of landscape that was content to be photographed by tourists or painted by nice men with beards. This was the kind of landscape that made poets fall in love with it and then drove them steadily mad.

BLURB: Life is returning to normal for Denizen Hardwick. Well, the new normal, where he has to battle monsters in quiet Dublin bookshops and constantly struggle to contain the new powers he has been given by Mercy, the daughter of the Endless King. But Denizen may need those powers sooner than he thinks – not only are the Tenebrous stirring again but the Order of the Borrowed Dark face a new threat from much closer to home…

Don’t pay any attention to the percentage indicator – I’ve only just started this one as the nice publishers have produced an omnibus version as an arc. But the reason why I snapped this one up in a heartbeat was that I read and reviewed Knights of the Borrowed Dark last year and loved it. So when I saw the sequel was available, it was a no-brainer. This sharp, witty writing in this children’s dark fantasy punches well above its weight as can be seen from the above description.

20 responses »

  1. If you remember my review of Freeks, I like battle scenes that are “full-on” which have “seriously creepy”, so I might like this one you chose for your Teaser. Here’s mine, from my friend’s autobiography:
    “Our mother was born in a farmhouse three years before the stock market crash of October 1929. Her earliest memories recall a rural upbringing in South Texas during the Great Depression. The stories of her childhood describe the qualities of integrity, generosity, and duty to community exemplified by her parents in the midst of many hardships.” This is from the forward. Oh, Did I mention the author is 91 years young?

  2. Your teaser led me to look up this series. I haven’t heard of it before, but according to Goodreads many readers have tagged this one middle grade, which seriously impressed me. When I saw your description of children’s dark fantasy I had initially assumed YA, because for MG that is some good writing. I can see why you say it punches well above its weight!

  3. Well, it might be tagged Middle Grade, but I’m not too sure about that one… The storyline, the characterisation and that knife-sharp description is very sophisticated. Frankly, I think it’s been mismarketed – I’d definitely put it in the YA slot. I’m an experienced reader and the writing is demanding and twisty enough to keep me entirely on my toes and hungry for more – I think it could have beginning readers flailing.

  4. Sounds good. I may have seen this one around before but as it’s no 2 in the series I didn’t look too closely – as I’d want to pick up No.1 first – and of course I’m trying to contain my books at the moment. I’m definitely interested to see how you feel about the series as a whole – is it two books or three?
    Lynn 😀

    • It’s a trilogy and neither book is hugely long – they are also real page-turners. Maybe you could make a note of this one – but I do really recommend this series.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.