Teaser Tuesday – 16th August, 2016

Standard

Teaser

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This is my choice of the day:
Autonomy by Jude Houghton
34% The tour included endless rows of pristine assembly lines, the workers silently and efficiently autonomyconstructing components, machine shops full of smoke and dust and grease, a triage centre, a cafeteria that fed a million people a day with jellyfish and insects, and even an underground catacomb of stone shelves where workers in tightly overlapping shifts were allowed to rest for a couple of hours.

“So in total we have seven hundred and fifty buildings, each with twenty thousand workers, and a turnover of over thirty-five million employees a day,’ Solquist said proudly.

BLURB: Balmoral Murraine works in a Battery, assembling devices she doesn’t understand for starvation pay. Pasco Eborgersen is the pampered son of an Elite, trying to navigate the temptations of the Pleasure Houses, the self-sacrifice of the Faith, and the high-octane excitement of Steel Ball. They never should have met, and now they will rip the world apart.

What happens when ninety percent of the world lives on skaatch – a jellyfish and insect composite?
What happens when mankind spends more time in alternative life sims instead of in the “real” world?
What happens when economic interest is the sole determinant of global decision making?
What happens when a single secret is discovered that calls into question everything we have ever believed?
Welcome to the Autonomy. Welcome to your future.

This is a compelling near future tale about what happens when civilisation crashes in 2020. The remnants of world leaders decide in their wisdom (highly plausible when you think that many current governments are clearly unfit to lead us out of a wet paper bag…) that runaway capitalism is the way to keep humanity alive. The writing is smooth and readable, the plotting sharp and the message very chilling… I’m loving it.

24 responses »

    • I quite understand:) I’m not mad about the modern trend for pychological thrillers – wouldn’t it be boring if we were all the same? Thank you for dropping by and have a great week.

  1. I passed this one up. Now I’m rethinking that choice. Sounds like all kinds of emotions will be explored in it. And I like a book that makes me rant while reading it. LOL

    • It’s exploring the world though family – which I always enjoy. And the ongoing storyline has drawn me right in – I’m not sure whose side I’m even on at present… I have a nasty feeling that if the terrorists win, a lot more folks are going to die. I’m halfway through it and would read it all day if I could, but I’ve too much work to do!

    • I quite understand! Funnily enough, I not normally a great one of apocalytic sci fi for the same reason – but this time around, I felt so fired up and angry on behalf of the hapless people caught up in this nightmare, as well as fully convinced that this could well play out EXACTLY like this – that I kept on reading and got thoroughly engrossed.

    • I know! But for some reason, I’m not finding it downbeat or depressing – though it’s an effort to tear myself away and get stuck into the mountain of work I’ve got…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.