Can’t-Wait Wednesday – 9th September, 2020 #Brainfluffbookblog #CWC #WOW

Standard

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we’re excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they’re books that have yet to be released. It’s based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine.

This week’s Can’t-Wait offering – Dead Man in a Ditch – Book 2 of the Fetch Phillips Archives by Luke Arnold – release date 22nd September

#urban fantasy #crime noir #private investigator

BLURB: A former soldier turned PI solves crime in a world that’s lost its magic in this brilliant sequel to actor Luke Arnold’s debut The Last Smile in Sunder City.

The name’s Fetch Phillips — what do you need?

Cover a Gnome with a crossbow while he does a dodgy deal? Sure.

Find out who killed Lance Niles, the big-shot businessman who just arrived in town? I’ll give it shot.

Help an old-lady Elf track down her husband’s murderer? That’s right up my alley.

What I don’t do, because it’s impossible, is search for a way to bring the goddamn magic back.

Rumors got out about what happened with the Professor, so now people keep asking me to fix the world.

But there’s no magic in this story. Just dead friends, twisted miracles, and a secret machine made to deliver a single shot of murder.

Welcome back to the streets of Sunder City, a darkly imagined world perfect for readers of Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher.

I thoroughly enjoyed the first book in this series – see my review of The Last Smile in Sunder City – so I’m looking forward to reading this one to see where the story goes next.




18 responses »

  1. I’ll have to look for the first one. This looks like a really interesting read. I’m all for anything that involves covering a gnome with a crossbow while he does a dodgy deal!

    • It was a really interesting take on the crime sub-genre, wasn’t it? Though I’m glad I didn’t realise the author was a well-known actor, as I probably would have avoided it if I’d known!

    • Hm… I got mightily fed up with Fetch. And lost patience with the plot, too… In fairness, however, a number of bloggers whose opinion I respect thoroughly enjoyed it. So it could just have been me!

      • After that–what was it, Afterland?–I don’t blame you! We do need a certain mindset for certain reads. Heaven knows I have no patience for LOTR most days, and DUNE keeps glaring at me and I KNOW I should give it a try and yet I don’t know if I’m in the right mood this fall for it…

      • I do get a tad fed up with overly whiny protagonists. Fair enough if they struggle a bit – but he seemed to whine throughout – to the extent that even other characters were calling him out on it!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.