Sunday Post – 2nd September, 2018 #Brainfluffbookblog #SundayPost

Standard

This is part of the weekly meme over at the Caffeinated Reviewer, where book bloggers can share the books and blogs they have written.

Apologies for having gone dark on the blog, but I was staying with my sister-in-law in Bexhill, who booked a flat with a sea view while she grappled with her thesis and invited me to join her last week. In doing so, I ticked off one of my bucket list wishes – writing in a round room with views of the sea from every window… It was glorious. I kept looking up and pinching myself to check I actually was there. The cherry on top was that the weather was lovely except for one rainy morning and Celia and I get along really well together and found writing together helped both of us.

As a result, in the three days I was staying there I managed to write over 16,000 words of Mantivore Preys, the second book in my series about telepathic alien, Vrox. I returned from the writing break feeling more refreshed and relaxed than I’ve felt for months. It was lovely to see Himself again – especially as he met me in Brighton to help me negotiate my very heavy cases on and off the train home.

Mhairi spent the day with me yesterday as we discussed all things writing and poked the Marketing dragon with a sharp stick. I hope you have all had a great week and I look forward to catching up with everyone during the week.

This week I have read:

A Muddle of Magic – Book 2 of the Fledgling Magic series by Alexandra Rushe
What’s a nice Southern girl doing in a place like this?

Whisked from humdrum Alabama to the fantastical land of Tandara by a mage who won’t take no for an answer, Raine Stewart finds herself tangled in a muddle of magic. A Dark Wizard is out for her blood, a demonic golem has orders to dispatch her . . . and she stinks at magic. Being a wizard, even a baby wizard, is harder than Raine thought.
I regularly crash into the middle of series and don’t find it a problem, but I think I would have benefitted from having read the first book in this series. That said, I found Raine an enjoyable, sympathetic protagonist and the various adventures engrossing. The outstanding feature of this book was the variety of the magical monsters on offer, along with the excellent scene-setting.

The Zero Blessing – Book 1 of The Zero Enigma by Christopher G. Nuttell
Caitlyn Aguirre should have been a magician. Her family certainly expected her to be a magician. But by the time she reached her twelfth birthday, Caitlyn hadn’t even managed to cast a single spell! In desperation, her parents send her – and her magical sisters – to Jude’s Sorcerous Academy, her last best chance to discover her powers.

But as she struggles to survive her classes without a single spell to her name, Caitlyn starts to uncover an ancient mystery that may prove the key to her true powers … If she lives long enough to find it.
I thoroughly enjoyed this one. School-based stories are a weakness of mine, anyway. But Nuttell really nails the sympathetic young protagonist in this engrossing children’s book that is too good to leave to the youngsters. Ideal for fans of Harry Potter…

Fury – Book 3 of the Menagerie series by Rachel Vincent
1986: Rebecca Essig leaves a slumber party early but comes home to a massacre—committed by her own parents. Only one of her siblings has survived. But as the tragic event unfolds, she begins to realize that other than a small army of six-year-olds, she is among very few survivors of a nationwide slaughter.

The Reaping has begun.

Present day: Pregnant and on the run with a small band of compatriots, Delilah Marlow is determined to bring her baby into the world safely and secretly. But she isn’t used to sitting back while others suffer, and she’s desperate to reunite Zyanya, the cheetah shifter, with her brother and children. To find a way for Lenore the siren to see her husband. To find Rommily’s missing Oracle sisters. To unify this adopted family of fellow cryptids she came to love and rely on in captivity.

But Delilah is about to discover that her role in the human versus cryptid war is destined to be much larger—and more dangerous—than she ever could have imagined.
This is the final book in this disturbing dystopian fantasy in an alternative world where supernatural creatures used to live alongside humans peacefully – until the Reaping. I was sort of expecting more of the same gritted struggle to stay hidden by this small band, who are desperate not to be caught again. I hadn’t expected to also get a ringside seat at the Reaping, the defining event which led to the persecution of all supernatural races. This gripping final instalment answers all sorts of questions raised in the previous two books and successfully brought the series to an amazing and emotional climax.

My posts last week:

Sunday Post – 27th August 2018

Review of Nolander – Book 1 of the Emanations series by Becca Mills

Can’t-Wait Wednesday featuring Nyxia – Book 1 of The Nyxia Triad by Scott Reintgen

Review of The Zero Blessing – Book 1 of The Zero Enigma by Christopher G. Nuttall

*NEW RELEASE SPECIAL* Review of Kindred Spirits – Book 5 of the Gabriel Ash and Hazel Best series by Jo Bannister

Apologies but this week I am unable to feature other articles and blogs as I normally do, because I haven’t been browsing online – I’ve been writing, instead. Have a great week and thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to visit, like and comment on my site.

Advertisements

27 responses »

  1. That must have been heaven, Sarah. Writing in a house that has sea views from every window. *sighs happily* I’m really happy to hear your retreat was such a productive writing time for you. 🙂

    My own vacation began on Friday; I’m visiting my parents for the holiday weekend (tomorrow is Labor Day here in the U.S.), and our weather has been superb. August had been very hot and humid, so having more comfortable temperatures made it much nicer for walking nature trails, visiting downtown Chatham, and reading and eating meals out on the patio. And once I get home tomorrow, I’m looking forward to a week of writing and other good things!

  2. The room you described sounds so heavenly, Sarah. I can see why it would be a dream come true. That was nice of your sister-in-law to invite you to stay with her for that week. I am glad you were able to get so much writing done while there! I am not sure I would be very productive. I would want to stare out the windows the entire time. Haha! It sounds like Fury was a good wrap up in the trilogy. I hope you have a wonderful week, Sarah!

  3. That does sound awesome being able to write while seeing the sea from all the windows. And that’s nice that writing together helped you both. I am really curious about your telepathic alien series. I am glad to hear you read some good books this week as well. Have a great week!

    • Thank you, Lola:). It was a magical experience watching the sea as I was typing my story… I’m planning on writing all three books in the initial trilogy, The Arcadian Chronicles, and releasing them close together – hopefully in early 2019. I hope you, too, have a good week – preferably free of headaches!

  4. I’ve had a full week aa well. Sunday, a week ago, we visited a pastor-friend’s church in Richwood, TX, about thirty miles south of us, then went on a few miles to Lake Jackson, where my “grandson” made us a pancake lunch. After a visit with his father, who’d had surgery, we headed home, tired but happy. Monday I manned the Ambassador Table at my university: Tuesday, I went back looking for the credit card I’d lost (We never found it, but we were able to put a freeze on it before any charges were made on it.). I may have just dumped it with my lunch trash. Had a great visit with the cardiologist that afternoon and am now sure I can make it through to the end of the semester without any interruptions for surgery or procedures. PTL! Wednesday was my first class, and if I can judge from the first day, I have a super group. Thursday I met a friend for lunch, had my hair cut Friday, and cooked all day Sunday. Labor Day (Mon.) (today) we had friends over for pulled pork BBQ and Bluebell ice cream for dessert. It’s been a great week!

    • That sounds frenetically busy. I hope the class continues to be really great – though with you teaching them, I can’t see why they wouldn’t be fabulous. Glad no one picked up your credit cards before you froze it and I’m delighted the news from the cardiologist was so positive. As for the meal on Monday – it sounds delicious. Eating with friends and family is always special, isn’t it? I hope this coming week is another great one, Rae:).

  5. Happy to hear you’re writing! I’m itching to get back to work, and with the kids ALL going to school today, I finally can! For all the people who’ve been asking me, “What are you going to do with yourself when they’re all in school?” Me: “Work.” Them: “You’re going to cry.” Me: “Nope.”
    Now if they SURVIVE the whole first day without incident? Then I might shed a few tears of relief. 😉

  6. Wow, how amazing to write in a room with all those wonderful views of the ocean Sarah. That would keep me from doing anything but staring out the window. I am very interested in the books you read last week. Another genre that I never thought I would read, but find myself starting to enjoy.

    • I’m glad you are enjoying the genre, Carla:). Fantasy is a very broad church so folks can find all sorts of books with a fantastic spin on the world… And yes… I found myself dreaming of that writing room this week:)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.