Can’t-Wait Wednesday – 1st November, 2017

Standard

40276268 – vintage old pocket watch and book

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we’re excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they’re books that have yet to be released. It’s based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine.

This week’s Can’t Wait offering – Artemis by Andy Weir

#science fiction #adventure #Moon #crime thriller

Jazz Bashara is a criminal. Well, sort of. Life on Artemis, the first and only city on the moon, is tough if you’re not a rich tourist or an eccentric billionaire. So smuggling in the occasional harmless bit of contraband barely counts, right? Not when you’ve got debts to pay and your job as a porter barely covers the rent.
Everything changes when Jazz sees the chance to commit the perfect crime, with a reward too lucrative to turn down. But pulling off the impossible is just the start of Jazz’s problems, as she learns that she’s stepped square into a conspiracy for control of Artemis itself – and that now, her only chance at survival lies in a gambit even more unlikely than the first.

I loved The Martian – the book, that is, rather than the film which was a disappointment. So I’m very much looking forward to this one – apart from anything else, I’m delighted it features a female protagonist. It is being released on 14th November – so not too long to wait!

34 responses »

    • Oh yes – whether you’ve read The Martian or not, I think this one will be enormous fun:). And it will be interesting to hear your reaction, given that you are coming to this author with no expectations.

  1. I was checking it out last night. Definitely want to read it. And I will go into it with no preconceived expectations except for a fun read.

  2. Sounds great! I might have to pick it up. I didn’t read the Martian but maybe I saw the movie. I know I saw the one where the man was stuck on Mars and had to create an indoor garden to live, etc. Was that it?

  3. I’m looking forward to this one – just reading The Nine (my reading is very slow this week for some reason – nothing to do with the book which is proving to be very good) but, I should get to this tomorrow.
    Lynn 😀

  4. I haven’t read The Martian, but I did really like the movie. This new book sounds like it will be very good! I will have to add it to my wish list. Thanks for bringing it to my attention, Sarah!

    • And I highly recommend the book. While the film was reasonably enjoyable, it lacked the bite and humour of the book and chose to miss out a great deal of the drama and tension of that climactic journey Marks makes across the plain. I’ve read Artemis and I’m so impressed…

  5. Pingback: The Handwriting Challenge | Sara Letourneau's Official Website & Blog

    • There isn’t quite the hard science fiction in this one that there is in The Martian. I love them both, but I found this embattled protagonist particularly engrossing.

Leave a Reply

