Teaser Tuesday – 31st October, 2017

Standard

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by The Purple Booker.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This is my choice of the day:

Beasts of Extraordinary Circumstance by Ruth Emmie Lang

76% Her name was Nancy, and even though Clay was disruptive, she like me because the angel, Micah, had also come through her school, so it was obvious I wasn’t the problem. “How do you do it?” she asked the day Clay jumped on his desk and broke it. “How do you live with two boys? One is enough to drive me crazy.”

“I grew up with four sisters,” I said. “I’d take a fraternity over a sorority any day.”.

BLURB: Orphaned, raised by wolves, and the proud owner of a horned pig named Merlin, Weylyn Grey knew he wasn’t like other people. But when he single-handedly stopped that tornado on a stormy Christmas day in Oklahoma, he realized just how different he actually was.

Whatever I thought this book would be – it isn’t. Set in the US in a contemporary setting it depicts someone with paranormal superpowers. But it is as far away from a superhero adventure as you can possibly get. Beautifully written, the story circles around Weylyn’s life mostly told by the people he comes into contact with and I’m loving it.

 

ANNDDD…

Mello & June It’s a Book Thang are hosting the final stop of the blog tour for Running Out of Space

24 responses »

    • Actually, this one is closer to your type of reading material than you might think. It certainly the classic urban fantasy read I thought I was getting – more contemporary and mainstream:)

    • Ah… you see, I was brought up in an all-woman household, so the innate boistrousness of boys was something I had to learn to cope with – whereas the way girls negotiate felt far more natural. I’m really glad I had both a daughter and a son – it make me far more understanding of both genders.

  1. I LOVED the teaser! Here’s mine from The Resurrection of Joan Ashby by Cherise Wolas:
    “The golden suitcases are stored in the trunk. The big man lifts Vita out of the wheelchair, places her gently in the backseat, and carefully shuts the door. Joan had not expected him to be so kind, out here in the open, in the crazy Delhi airport.” This happens on a trip, and Joan is at the mercy of strangers, finding herself in charge of a frail old woman she almost chose not to talk with when she sat next to her on the plane. The woman later turns out to be a rich and influential Indian woman who is going home to die, and she helps/listens to Joan when Joan really needs someone. The heavy set man who refused to speak to her has arranged for quick passage through customs for both women, and turns out to be an ambassador or government official rather than the objection clout Joan assumed he was. This just proves that appearances and first judgments can be deceiving.

  2. This one has been on my radar because of the cover but I really liked the teaser and the thoughts on it you shared. I would have thought it would have been more of an adventure tale as well. I’ll have to look for this one!

    • Oh yes, there is plenty happening, Katherine. I think it’s going to be a best-seller as it is one of those quirky books that falls outside the general genre classification. I think you’d enjoy it:)

Leave a Reply

