Review of Smoke by Dan Vyleta

Standard

I picked this one off the shelves because I loved the look of the cover and the idea that this book filled a gap left by J.K. Rowling and Phillip Pullman appealed.

England. A century ago, give or take a few years. An England where people who are wicked in thought or deed are marked by the Smoke that pours forth from their bodies, a sign of their fallen state. The aristocracy do not smoke, proof of their virtue and right to rule, while the lower classes are drenched in sin and soot. An England utterly strange and utterly real. An elite boarding school where the sons of the wealthy are groomed to take power as their birthright. Teachers with mysterious ties to warring political factions at the highest levels of government. Three young people who learn everything they’ve been taught is a lie – knowledge that could cost them their lives.

This book is set in a Dickensian England in an alternate time when any negative emotion appears as either soot or Smoke. The aristocracy and upper classes generally don’t show any signs of such debased behaviour, whereas the lower orders are steeped in it. London, with its factories and crowded living conditions, is a byword for degradation and filth as a perpetual cloud of Smoke infests its streets. We follow the fortunes of three youngsters – two boys who are pupils at the boarding school – Charlie and Thomas and a girl Livia.

I thoroughly enjoyed the way this book opened and found the initial tension and questions surrounding Smoke pulled me into the story. However, while it continued to be enjoyable and there was never any risk of my not finishing it, the readability factor that initially hooked me began to dissipate. Vyleta seemed to need to thoroughly explain his world and that was the factor that began to drive the story, rather than the other way around. It is, indeed, a fascinating premise. But I did find the continual addition of random characters who we never saw again giving us slices of their viewpoint rather jarring and it diluted the characterisation and strength of the initial protagonists, who became rather generic. The love triangle also seemed an oddity and didn’t sit at all well with me, given how it cuts right across the gothic atmosphere and managed to diminish the story into a will-they-won’t-they romance while also trying address some really big and interesting themes.

I’m conscious that it sounds as if I thought this was a bad book and it’s not. There premise is original – Vyleta handles the subsequent class divide really cleverly – and at times, the writing is wonderful. But I have a feeling that this book is trying to be a gothic, Dickensian read while having a wide YA appeal and in trying for both goals has managed to fall short of the original greatness this book promised. Having said that, I’m glad I’ve read it and would be interested in reading other works by this author – he certainly has a fertile, original imagination.
8/10

15 responses »

  1. well sucks that the characters were handled so badly , but I gotta say the world does sound enticing to me . Then again , there’s a limit to how much world building and exploration one can tolerate .

      • I go through that every time, When I start a book my initial ratings are different to when i end the book

  2. Hmm I like the idea of it and would be ok with a love triangle etc but I’m not sure so much world building would work for me. I’m guilty of skimming over lots of descriptions and explanations as my brain just doesn’t take it in.

    • No, it really really isn’t a bad book! I was a bit irked initially because I thought I was reading a great book – and there were a few issues that got in the way of that. But it is still an enjoyable, worthwhile read:)

  3. That line of ‘Filling in that gaping hole’ really drew me in to learn more about this.

    I was disappointing though to read that there’s a love triangle (Why!!!!?? Why!!!??) and combining that with the factors of random, once-off character viewpoints and the type of world building I’m not sure if it’s going to be for me. I might pick it up if I see it though because that premise has me very interested!

    • Yes… that WHY was exactly how I was feeling about this one, Di. It’s a really cracking premise – but it did feel as if someone suggested he ought to add in a romantic aspect, so that’s what he did. It’s still a good book, though not the great one I thought it would be.

Leave a Reply

