Friday Faceoff – Love is friendship set on fire…

Standard

This meme was started by Books by Proxy, whose fabulous idea was to compare UK and US book covers and decide which is we prefer. This week the theme is fire, so I’ve chosen Burned – Book 7 of the Alex Verus series by Benedict Jacka.

 

This is the cover produced by Ace in April 2016 is certainly eye-catching. I love the view of the Shard from across the Thames bathed in the beautiful patterns of yellow, orange and red in an artist’s impression of fire. The darker cloud of sooty smooth behind the title font is both simple and effective. This is my favourite cover.

 

This UK offering, produced by Orbit in April 2016 is also well crafted and beautiful. The map of London is superimposed upon a red flame licking up the cover. However, I do find the blurb bang in the middle of the cover detracts from the drama and complexity of artwork.

 

Published in April 2016 by Tantor Audible, this cover is another compelling effort with the far more realistic flames engulfing the London cityscape with the Thames in the foreground. However, I think the title font is plain to the point of disappointing. What do you think and which is your favourite?

20 responses »

  1. Sorry I’ve not be by for a couple of days. Lots happening with family visiting and work.
    I think I like the Tantor cover most. I’d have to pick it up if I spotted it on a shelf.

    • I often prefer the UK covers – but this time around I love the beautiful effect of the US effort:). They are all really good though… This book cover meme great fun – and you’re very welcome to join in:)

  2. To be honest, the first one is kind of hard for me to really tell what I’m looking at. Like, I can see a lamp post and some buildings, but I wouldn’t have been able to tell it was London or even to tell that those were supposed to be flames. I like the second one. It’s clear and easy to see but also pretty and eye-catching.

    • I suppose because I know the London landscape reasonably well, I could recognise the specific building represented. But you’re right – the second one is also a wonderfully crafted cover:). Thank you for swinging by, Kristen and have a great weekend.

  3. I think I’d also go with the second cover. I think it’s the touch of using the London map to contrast with the solid red flame–a terrific use of space to establish style and place. The blurb is rather a pain, though. 🙂

  4. I like seeing the differences in covers and how the fire plays a role in each cover, but is integrated s differently. I think the second one is my favorite, although i agree with you that i don’t like blurbs/ quotes like that on the cover. They don’t really add anything for me and I think inside the book or on the back is a better place for those.

    • There are covers where it (just about) works – but here the artwork is so precise and beautifully crafted, I think it knocks the symmetry of the visual impact for six.

  5. I love the pattern on the first one, and how it almost looks like water. But the second one is definitely my favourite–it hits ALL my likes. Artwork, negative space, bold use of colour. Yes, yes, yes.

Leave a Reply

