Teaser Tuesday – 28th March, 2017

Standard

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by The Purple Booker.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This is my choice of the day:

Occupy Me by Tricia Sullivan
p. 14 ‘I got this.’ Panting with effort, the old man lifts one Abercrombie & Fitch clad leg by six inches and, with shaky control, lets it down into the open space of the briefcase. The foot and then the leg disappear, and then he seems to fold like a paper airplane until he is holding the top edge of the briefcase and lowering himself in entire. It’s like a magic act where the girl disappears. The oxygen tank comes last; there is a burst of noise, a gout of smoke – and the case falls closed.

Your fingers snap the locks shut and seize the handle of the briefcase. You try to lift it, but it weights as though filled with rocks inside rocks, exponentially increasing functions of rocks all pressed inside like gravity trying to hide up its own back end.

BLURB: A woman with wings that exist in another dimension. A man trapped in his own body by a killer. A briefcase that is a door to hell. A conspiracy that reaches beyond our world. Breathtaking SF from a Clarke Award-winning author.

Tricia Sullivan has written an extraordinary, genre defining novel that begins with the mystery of a woman who barely knows herself and ends with a discovery that transcends space and time. On the way we follow our heroine as she attempts to track down a killer in the body of another man, and the man who has been taken over, his will trapped inside the mind of the being that has taken him over. And at the centre of it all a briefcase that contains countless possible realities.

As can be seen, I haven’t got all that far into this one, though Sullivan is always worth reading as she pushes at the boundaries of where the genre can go – and immediately the second person pov pulls me in. So far, gripping and unusual, though I’m not completely sure what is happening… But that’s okay. This is Sullivan. I’m humming with anticipation while on the edge of a completely different and exciting world – I LOVE this genre!

13 responses »

  1. Sounds like a complex and fascinating read!
    Here’s my Tuesday Teaser from The Fire By Night by Teresa Messineo. Like you, I’ve just started:
    “When Queen walked into the tent from the cold and the rain and the muck outside, rubbing her frozen hands together, she managed to bring summer and honeysuckle and the smell of home cooking, along with her. She was tiny–petite, she always corrected–was wearing the smallest men’s regulation trousers, which she had taken in and still had to wear cuffed.” This description is of one of the WWII field hospital nurses. The author has a style that lends real “flair” to a gruesome time of the war.

  2. I can identify with your comments although, I remember, as a kid, reading a book by Wm. Faulkner that was really over my head. I didn’t understand what was happening and kept telling myself I’d get it at the end. I didn’t and had to read it again 20 years later. Anyway, yours sounds interesting. I’ve not read Tricia Sullivan before and it sounds a bit off the wall but I’d give it a go if I see that you got it at the end. Thanks for dropping by my blog earlier today. Cheers!

    • You’re very welcome:). I’ve read her work before – and while Sullivan does always take it ‘out there’ so far I’ve never been left waving in the wind. She’s a clever, mind-bending author with a unique vision, but also knows how to structure a story. I’m really excited about this one!

  3. How interesting! I’m always drawn in straight away in a first person narrative, but whether it keeps me attention or not depends on where it goes. I haven’t read anything by Sullivan before. Thanks for sharing, Sarah!

    • She is, in my opinion, a very underrated writer with an original and quirky take on the world, who always pushes the boundaries with her writing. But she also tells a great story.

    • Yes – that was my immediate response and I’ve nearly finished it and have loved it. Such an unusual, quirky read full of interesting and original ideas. And her writing just sings off the page…

Leave a Reply

