Teaser Tuesday – 7th March, 2017

Standard

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by The Purple Booker.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This is my choice of the day:

Amunet by Robert Harkess

1% Amunet had been warned this day would come, told over and over what she had to do. They had even warned her of the pain.

Yes, the time is now, child. Be strong.

The words whispered through her thoughts and she tried to reach out to them, to claw back a measure of comfort or respite. The effort made the hurt spike deeper, and she turned back to the pain, pasping as she tried to hold on to the place where it hurt the most, to wrap herself around it.

BLURB: Amunet has a unique talent; she can talk to the dead. She had been told all her life that this is the key to rescuing her mother, who has been taken by mysterious and powerful forces. To unlock her mother’s prison, all she has to do is find the Locksmith. Posing as a Medium, she scours Europe for the one person who can help her.

Harry and his father are investigators, employed by the Church to hunt down Mediums and hand them over to the mercies of the Inquisition. Harry has always believed he, and the Church, were doing the right thing. Until now.

I’ve literally just opened this one up – but it’s been on my radar since I attended the book launch last year at Bristolcon. And judging by the beginning and intriguing blurb, I reckon this is yet another good’un…

21 responses »

    • Yes – in a very alternate world, where Britain is the hub of the Inquisition, overseeing a Victorian country where anyone with any kind of psychic power is denounced as evil and a witch. Great stuff!

    • I’ve had a chance to read further and it’s full of tension and excitement. I’ll definitely be reviewing this one:). Thank you for dropping by, Sherry:).

    • I’ve had a chance to read futher during the day and I’m really enjoying the writing and the unusual plot and spiky, difficult protagonist. Thank you for dropping in, Lola:).

    • I’m really enjoying this one! Full of tension and intrigue – I’m about halfway through and still not really sure what’s going on, but I really want to find out! Thank you for dropping by, Laura – and the Twitter share:).

    • Thank you, Sandra – yes… I had a chance during the day to tuck into this one and I’m thoroughly enjoying the story. It’s certainly got an unusual vibe.

  1. Wow! Your teaser sounds enticing.
    Mine comes from Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok:
    A Chinese immigrant girl who is commenting on an affluent guy at a prestigious private school at which she is a scholarship/work student says, ” Curt broke his leg skiing in January of tenth grade, when I had just turned sixteen. He had to have surgery before he could fly back and was stuck in Austria for several weeks. We’d hardly spoken after that incident with Tammy in the eighth grade, When he’d defended me [against accusations of cheating] to Dr. Copeland, although we did continue to have some classes together.”
    He calls after this and asks her to tutor him. Will this be a girlish romantic dream come true or open the nightmare of him finding out the extent of her poverty and the “embarrassment” of meeting her mother?

      • Finished it last night. Had a good, but not completely happy (or sappy) ending. I was very glad I had read it! The author is very interesting judging from the back inside-cover blurb. It was a good read and went fast. Two “musts” for me.

      • Glad there wasn’t a sappy ending:). It’s a lovely feeling to read something and have that warm glow caused by completing something you REALLY enjoyed!

    • It really is a cracking read – full of action and reverses… I grew to very much enjoy the heroine, spiky though she is and the alternate world is a delight:).

  2. I like the lines you quoted A LOT, but for some reason, the blurb kills my interest. I guess I’m a hard sell when it comes to historical fantasy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

