Sunday Post – 12th February 2017

Standard

 

Sunday PostThis is part of the weekly meme over at the Caffeinated Book Reviewer, where book bloggers can share the books and blogs they have written.

Another busy week with the Northbrook courses going well and my sessions with Tim now less pressured with the extra session. The catch is this week Himself’s shift pattern meant I had to pick him up from work at stupid o’clock in the wee small hours. A lot of the time that isn’t too much of an issue but this week, for some reason, I wasn’t getting back to sleep all that quickly so I’ve been rather sleep-deprived – even for me. As a confirmed insomniac, I’m used to functioning on not much sleep, but I only managed three hours on Thursday night/Friday morning.

On Thursday, Mhairi and I got together for a writing day – we work really well together and manage to get a great deal done. It’s also helpful to have someone you know and trust to bounce ideas around, along with lots of tea and laughter. It was the West Sussex Writers’ monthly get-together on Thursday night. This month was the manuscript surgery followed by an excellent Open Mic session where a variety of amusing and thought-provoking prose and poetry highlighted just what a talented membership we have. The Friday morning planning session regarding Tim’s progress went really well – intense, but we realised we are on track and now just need to focus our efforts on moving forward.

This week-end we have the pleasure of the grandchildren staying over. As ever, they are a joy – which is more than can be said about the bleeping weather. Oscar is suffering with a heavy cold and bad cough, so taking him out and about in the bitter cold – yesterday it was snowing quite heavily though thankfully it didn’t settle – won’t be doing him any favours. We nicked out to get a few vital supplies, but are mostly hunkering down for cosy indoors activities.

This week I have read:
The Bear and the Serpent – Book 2 of the Echo of the Falls series by Adrian Tchaikovsky

thebearandtheserpentManiye, child of Wolf and Tiger, has a new soul and a new shape. But as Champion of the Crown of the World, does she represent an opportunity for the North – or a threat? Travelling as a bodyguard to the Southern prince, with her warband of outcasts, she hopes to finally discover her true place in the world, though she is quickly pitchforked in the middle of a crisis that puts her at the eye of a political storm.

I loved the first book in this shape-shifting epic fantasy set in a largely bronze age society, The Tiger and the Wolf . My firm advice is to tuck into this one before you reach for this offering as you are simply missing too much wonderful worldbuilding and rich character development if you plunge into this series with this one – which proves to be another real treat.

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

heartlessCatherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next queen.

This prequel to Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland is a respectful and skilful addition to this famous classic that provides a fascinating take on what has happened to some of the major characters in the story. Highly recommended.

 

How To Cheat a Dragon’s Curse – Book 4 of the How To Train Your Dragon series by Cressida Cowell

Reluctant hero Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III must rescue his best friend, Fishlegs, from the deadly howtocheatadragonscursedisease Vorpentitis. The only cure is rare and almost impossible to find…a potato. But where will Hiccup find such a thing? He’ll have to dodge the terrible Sharkworms, battle Doomfangs, and outwit crazy Hooligans if he’s going to be a Hero. Again.

Oscar and I completed this slice of Hiccup’s madcap adventures that takes him into the territory of one of the Hooligan tribe’s deadliest enemies in an effort to save Fishlegs’ life. Once more we giggled and gasped through this adventure together. Being a granny gets to be so much fun with books like this to share…

 

My posts last week:
Sunday Post – 5th February 2017

My 2016 Reading Year – the Statistics

Teaser Tuesday featuring The Bear and the Serpent – Book 2 of the Echoes of the Fall series by Adrian Tchaikovsky

NEW RELEASE SPECIAL – The Turn – Prequel to The Hollows series by Kim Harrison

NEW RELEASE SPECIAL – The Bear and the Serpent – Book 2 to the Echoes of the Fall

Friday Faceoff – Diamonds Are Forever… featuring Diamond Mask by Julian May

NEW RELEASE SPECIAL – Review of Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Interesting/outstanding blogs and articles that have caught my attention during the last week, in no particular order:
12 Thoughts Every Book Lover Has Had At Least Once https://athousandlives01.wordpress.com/2017/02/11/12-thoughts-every-book-lover-has-had-at-least-once/ This amusing post had me grinning and nodding in recognition – especially numbers 1 and 11…

8 Useful Computer Shortcuts and Hacks https://anaslair.wordpress.com/2017/02/11/8-useful-computer-shortcuts-and-hacks/ These commands Ana has compiled can save a lot of time and frustration – I’ve certainly bookmarked them.

Booklovin’: What It Is and Why You Should Be Using It https://bookishnessandtea.wordpress.com/2017/02/11/all-abloglovin/ Ava’s excellent article helps those of us who enjoy reading blogs but have problems keeping track of our favourites.

The Best Poems for Valentine’s Day https://interestingliterature.com/2017/02/10/the-best-poems-for-valentines-day/ In preparation for a certain date coming up next week, those fine folks at Interesting Literature have a stock of romantic poetry to wow that special person in your life…

Proverbs from Africa https://siuquxebooks.wordpress.com/2017/02/09/www-siuquxebooks-wordpress-comproverbs-africa-josbons/ Josbons has compiled these favourite African proverbs, which make fascinating reading.

Many thanks for visiting and taking the time and trouble to comment – and may you have a wonderful reading and blogging week.

42 responses »

  1. Glad to hear you got some writing done! nothing like having the support of a writing friend 🙂 Hope you sleep better this week. Happy Reading!

  2. How To Treat A Dragon’s Curse looks so cute! Sorry to hear some of you are ailing. There’s all kinds of crud going around right now. It’s hot here and running the AC. Wish I could send some your way, Sarah!

    My Sunday Post

  3. Your monthly session sounds fabulous! Hope your weather moderates some and that you had a lovely, relaxing weekend. And hope you have a nice week ahead.

    • Thank you Greg:). Yes, I really enjoy attending the West Sussex Writers, especially now I have stepped down from the committee and no longer am responsible for the success of the meetings! I hope you, too, have a great week.

  4. Things sound good on the work and writing fronts but sorry you’re struggling with your sleep. I started taking some tablets several months ago but I suspect they’re getting less potent as I’m starting to struggle with sleep again. (Which means I struggle to get out of bed!)

    • Fortunately, as Himself is on leave at present, the situation has eased, somewhat:). But I do sympathise – I don’t rise all that early in the mornings, but if I did – I’d be in trouble.

  5. Sorry about the lack of sleep :-/ But the writing session sounds great! I’ve been to open mic poetry type things a couple times. They’re always a good time, and some people are very talented. I’d never have the guts to get up in front of people to share my work like that! Have fun with the grandkids 🙂

    • Yes, the Open Mic session was great fun. I didn’t contribute this time around as I haven’t written anything recently that would be short enough, but I have done so in the past. Thank you – it was lovely touching base with the grandchildren, again:). Have a great week, Kristen.

  6. I wonder if the wether has anything to do with your sleeping poorly? I have struggled the last few weeks to and just feel groggy all the time. Sure having to get up when you sound like you were already asleep doesn’t help. Hopefully you will feel a little more refreshed this week.

  7. I hope you are able to get some sleep. Glad to hear though the coursework is going well. The Open Mic session sounds like a lot of fun. I’ve never been to anything like that–just seen it on television shows or movies. I hope your weather improves soon. Ours is nice today. We’ll be getting more rain before the end of the week. I am glad you had a nice visit with your grandkids. My in-laws and mom will be coming to town next month for my daughter’s birthday.They don’t get to see her enough. I hope you have a great week, Sarah.

    • Thank you:). I’m hoping the weather improves, too. I HATE the cold:(. Oh, the family get-together next month for your daughter’s birthday sounds lovely. I’m aware I’m very, very lucky to have so much contact with my grandchildren. I really enjoy Open Mic evenings as you get to hear a real variety of writing and I’m very fortunate as there is a lot going on locally.

      • It all seems very up and down. We now have snowdrops and primroses making an appearance and it will only be a matter of days before the daffodils start flowering here. And we have had a couple of great days – but just now we are being blown inside out by Storm Doris (the stupidest name for a storm I’ve ever heard).

      • It’s similar here. We had about half a meter of snow last month, but now it’s all gone… until next week when it’s supposed to be snowing again.

      • I’m in the Northern Arizona, at the foot of a mountain (2100m/7000ft.) which means the year has normal seasons: about -10 to 0 C in winter, and up to 35 C in summer. Two and a half hour drive south, to Phoenix, and you get 25C in winter, and over 40 in summer.

      • It’s not too bad. Actually, like a bit warmer version of Poland. (Though summer over here was somewhat of a killer after Ireland. 😀 )

      • I’m sure they are – I have a suspicion the Irish climate isn’t too dissimilar to what we used to experience when living in Someret, in the West Country, which was reasonably mild most of the time but my goodness it rained a lot!

      • Sounds similar. It rarely got below freezing in winter (thought the mountains proximity to Dublin cause occassional snow falls), but it was always raining.
        In the novel I have set in Ireland, my character complains about the rain and clouds A LOT. (I probably should edit some of it out… ;/ )

  8. Sounds like you had really great and productive week. That’s wonderful! Hope this week goes well for you.

  9. We just finished a rather snowy week in Massachusetts. My town got about 18 inches last Thursday, another 1 or so on Saturday, and then 3 to 4 more inches Sunday night into Monday. So I share your feelings about the weather – though I’m sure you didn’t get as much as we did!

    Apart from that, sounds like you had another busy week, but a productive one, too. I hope you’re able to get some more sleep this week, btw!

    • Oh my word! Now I’m plain embarrassed at moaning about our rather sad snow flurries – 18 inches! Ours didn’t even settle… So you must now be still coping with all that… stuff. And yes – far more sleep this week, thank you. Himself is on leave, so no midnight drives to ferry him to work:)

      • Please don’t worry about it. We live in different parts of the world that experience very different winters. Last week’s storm wasn’t unusual, but it’s already made me winter-weary. :/

  10. Only three hours of sleep, wow that’s very little. I wouldn’t be able to function on that. It’s so annoying when you can’t fall asleep or don’t sleep well.

    Sounds like you had a productive writing day! That open mic session sounds fun. I hope you enjoyed your time with your grand kids. have a great week!

    • Thank you Lola:). Fortunately, I’m very used to functioning on small amounts of sleep – but that wasn’t enough, even for me! Thank goodness, I’ve now caught up:). Yes, the week-end with the grandchildren was lovely. I hope you, too, have another successful and busy week!

  11. We’re both reading a stand alone by Tchaikovsky while we are waiting for the out of town library loan of the Tiger and the Wolf. My Better Half narrated chapters one through seven (He went into such detail it took the whole 40 min ride.) on the way home and through supper, and I will begin reading at chapter seven tomorrow. We are using two place markers at once. He read the book for a couple of hours tonight instead of watching TV, which he would have done since he is giving a test tomorrow and has no prep for class. We both have Fridays off, so I predict the book will be back at the library by Sat. He says the “guy is an excellent writer.” He is definitely an excellent narrator–he grew up telling “Fat Man, Skinny Man” funny stories to the kids in the neighborhood, sitting on the back steps because there was no TV. What the kids didn’t know was they were fleshed out from the Laurel and Hardy serials he saw at the movies on Saturdays. Quite inventive and creative to have turned out to be a mathematician!

    Have a good weekend coming up.

    Rae

    ________________________________

    • I’m delighted you both like his writing:). It’s great when you both fall in love with an author together, isn’t it? Often the kind of bonding moment Himself and I have:)). Which of his books are you reading? Wishing that you, too, have a lovely week-end.

      • We are reading Spiderlight. I never thought I would enjoy a book with a giant mother spider and a spider magically turned human in it. Even getting the book was a team effort; found out about it after getting the author’s name and recommendation from you, then My Better Half started reading it first and liked it enough to re-tell what he’d read so far in over an hour’s time.

      • Oh yippee! It was one of my favourite reads of last year. I think it’s such a clever, poignant and funny book – all at the same time! I’m dying to see what you make of it by the time you get to the end…

  12. I hope you’ve been getting some more sleep this week!! Going without what you’re used to (even if it’s less than most!!) is tough.

    I was happy to see you enjoyed Heartless – I loved that one!! Also I’m really wanting to try out the How to Train Your Dragon series – it looks so sweet! My little one is probably too small, but I have a feeling she’ll be interested in a year or so!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier this week – sorry I’ve been slow in getting back around to everyone!

    • Don’t worry, Di – many thanks for making the effort to swing by:)). Oh, I HIGHLY recommend How To Train Your Dragon when she’s the right age. How old is your daughter?

Leave a Reply

