Friday Faceoff – A Room Without Books Is Like a Body Without a Soul…

Standard

This meme was started by Books by Proxy, whose fabulous idea was to compare UK and US book covers and decide which is we prefer. This week the theme is books, so I’ve chosen The Physic Book of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe.

 

physicbookofdeliveranceThis is the offering produced by Hyperion Books in May 2009. It’s a beautiful, eye-catching cover, depicting the old fragile book that has been passed down through the family. This is my favourite cover.

 

physicbookofdeliverance1This cover produced by Voice in April 2010 takes several of the main elements from the original design, but has included the figure which I think makes it look rather cluttered and messy.

 

physicbookofdeliverance2This cover, produced by Penguin, also depicts a book with another title – I’m assuming it’s for the US market – but the tone is way off. The book isn’t horror, but it is certainly grittier and more hardhitting than this rather flowery, fanciful design conveys.

 

physicbookofdeliverance3Whereas this German edition, produced by Page & Turner in August 2009, has gone to the other extreme. This cover suggests severed goats heads and frantic virgins tethered to the altar, which isn’t what this book is about, either. If I’d picked it up thinking that’s what I was getting I’d be thoroughly fed up, so it isn’t doing its job.

22 responses »

    • Oh yes – it’s a really engrossing read. There’s a link to my review, if you’re interested:). I see what you mean about the third cover which is pretty and if it was depicting another type of book, I’d like it, too.

  1. Completely agree on that first cover. What a strange change in title! The original title has much more intrigue to it. That Lost Book of Salem includes such cliche stuff–centuries old curse and such. I’d ignore and move on.

  2. I really enjoyed this book and love your cover choice. Wish I’d thought of this one! I also considered the Diane Setterfiled book Thirteen Tales but decided against it as I wanted something with a more fantasy feel.
    Lynn 😀

    • Thank you:). I was all set to go with Fahrenheit 451 – but then remembered I’d reviewed this one back in the day and also recalled it was a cracking read. I love your choice, but figured that someone else would go for it.

Leave a Reply

