Friday Faceoff – Ho, ho, ho to the bottle I go…

Standard

This meme was started by Books by Proxy, whose fabulous idea was to compare UK and US book covers and decide which is we prefer. This week’s theme is drink, so I have chosen Dandelion Wine – Book 1 of the Green Town series by Ray Bradbury.

 

dandelionwineThis is the cover produced by Bantam in 1968. While I love the disturbing artwork, which accurately portrays aspects of Bradbury’s wonderful, shocking writing, the clunky chunk of black across the top really intrudes on the cover design, I feel.

 

danelionwine1This cover was produced by Earthlight in July 2000. The artwork is lovely – I particularly like the portrait of the young boy set against the apple blossom and the dandelion clock. The mood achieved is poignant and thoughtful – though I can do without the band of raspberry pink across the top of the cover for the title and author.

 

dandelionwine2This offering, produced by William Morrow Paperbacks in April 2013 is more like it. The night sky dotted with stars with the half-blown dandelion clock in the foreground is beautiful and evocative. I’d rather there wasn’t the ugly yellow blob announcing the National Book Award – but it might encourage folks to buy it and at least the yellow chimes with the dandelion flowers.

 

dandelionwine3I think this Harper Voyager edition produced in 2013 is ghastly. What a revolting shade of green and the dandelion seeds more resemble nails. Gone is the poignant delicacy of all of the previous covers in favour of a somewhat desperate bid for catching the eye, which it does – in the worst possible way.

 

dandelionwin4This 1973 edition produced by Bantam reprises the bottle of wine – but this time around they have lost that heavy border and thick band for the title and author. This gives us an opportunity to focus on the intricacy of the wonderful artwork, which makes this my favourite cover.

What about you – which cover do you prefer?

17 responses »

  1. The William Morrow Paperbacks is the one that stands out to me from these, when i scrolled past them I actually stopped there to take a closer look. I like the bright colors and the focus on the dandelion on that one. While the others might fit the mood of the book better, they wouldn’t quite catch my attention.

  2. I agree with the bottle. The night sky cover is pretty, but it doesn’t have that dark, ominous feel the wine bottle’s image contains. Was the block of text and/or color around the image a common trait of book covers from the 60s?

    • Yes, looking back I think it must have been… I’ve seen so many covers from that era – and it went on a long time – that have that ugly band behind the title and author.

  3. Hmmm, tough choice on these… I think the second one is my least favorite, and I find the rest equally appealing (though between the first and the last – the last wins 🙂 ).

Leave a Reply

