*NEW RELEASE SPECIAL* Review of KINDLE Ebook Ever the Hunted – Book 1 of The Clash of Kingdoms series by Erin Summerill

Standard

Having all the depth of a pavement puddle, I’ll confess it was the beautiful cover that had me clicking the Request button on NetGalley for a copy of this arc…

everthehuntedSeventeen year-old Britta Flannery is at ease only in the woods with her dagger and bow. She spends her days tracking criminals alongside her father, the legendary bounty hunter for the King of Malam—that is, until her father is murdered. Now outcast and alone and having no rights to her father’s land or inheritance, she seeks refuge where she feels most safe: the Ever Woods. When Britta is caught poaching by the royal guard, instead of facing the noose she is offered a deal: her freedom in exchange for her father’s killer. However, it’s not so simple. The alleged killer is none other than Cohen McKay, her father’s former apprentice. The only friend she’s ever known.

It’s an intriguing premise, though it could have so easily slipped into yet another Hunger Games imitation – and it didn’t. Britta is a strong, likeable protagonist and as I became engrossed in the story as she attempts to uncover the truth about her father’s killer, I relaxed into the narrative and enjoyed the ride. The inevitable romance was well handled, so while there was sufficient about her growing feelings for the object of her affection, it didn’t slow down the pace of the narrative or get in the way of the unfolding adventure. Meanwhile Britta’s search uncovers some shocks about her own family that she didn’t know. There were some moments of real poignancy with plenty of surprises along the way.

I didn’t guess who killed Britta’s father, though that doesn’t mean very much – I generally don’t bother to try all that hard, preferring to leave it to the author to reveal the suspect. My only slight niggle was that after a difficult hunt full of tension and adventure, I did feel the final act tidied everything away rather too hastily for the amount of effort it took to get there. However, it’s not a dealbreaker – I really enjoyed the vivid worldbuilding, the unfolding political situation and learning about Britta’s backstory, so that I’ll definitely be on the lookout for more books in this series. Receiving a copy of Ever the Hunted from the publisher via NetGalley has in no way affected my honest opinion of this book.
8/10

10 responses »

  1. I might have to borrow this from my local library. When I read its blurb recently, my first thought was, “Wow, this reminds me a little of TKC.” (Which isn’t a bad thing for the sake of finding comp titles for your novel, but still….) But they’re definitely not the same story, from what I can see in your review.

    If I don’t talk to you again beforehand, Sarah – best wishes for a fun and safe New Year’s weekend and a happy, healthy start to 2017. 🙂

    • I don’t think it is all that similar – while Britta spends a fair amount of time in the woods, they are not fae and the story is essentially a murder mystery. However, I think you’d enjoy this one, so by all means get hold of it from the library. And thank you – I very much hope you have an enjoyable week-end’s celebrations and a happy, successful 2017, Sara:).

      • Actually, it was more about the revenge / vengeance idea and the female MC with archery experience. (Both of those pop up in TKC.) Those were the similarities I noticed when I read the blurb, but that was all. 😉

  2. Sounds interesting, but it doesn’t feel like a “must read” to me. I’m sure, though, that this cover will catch my eye again – and who knows, maybe I’ll give this book a chance?

Leave a Reply

