Friday Faceoff – The first Noel…

Standard

This meme was started by Books by Proxy, whose fabulous idea was to compare UK and US book covers and decide which is we prefer. This week’s theme is angels, so I have chosen The House of Shattered Wings – Book 1 of Dominion of the Fallen series by Aliette de Bodard.

 

thehouseofshatteredwingsThis is the cover produced by Gollancz August 2015. I love this one. I think it is one of the most beautiful covers I have ever seen, as well as accurately depicting the slightly mysterious and disturbing tone of the book. So it’s my favourite of the covers here.

 

thehouseofshatteredwings1This is the cover produced by Roc in August 2015 for the hardcover edition. Once again, I think it is a lovely effort – while it may not quite achieve the shimmering awesomeness of the Gollancz cover, the flaming feathers against a night sky is a haunting, beautiful image.

 

thehouseofshatteredwings2This edition is also published in August 2015 by Gollancz – and I’m not quite sure why… It is also a paperback edition, same as the first cover. While there’s nothing wrong with the cover or the design, it certainly feels like the downmarket version of the first offering, given it has lost the fantastic rainbow effect and raised stippling of the feathers that gives the original cover its wow factor.

 

thehouseofshatteredwings3This is the CD edition, produced in August 2015 by Blackstone Audiobooks. Yet another excellent cover, this design features a gothic arch so typical of many Parisian churches. I also think the font on this edition works very well.

All in all, while this penultimate set of 2016 covers might not exactly bristle with Christmas cheer, they are certainly lovely and otherworldly… Do you agree with me – which of these covers is your favourite?

18 responses »

  1. Woah! I like each and every cover on here . It’s so hard to choose but I do think the first cover is the best looking of them all

  2. I agree with that first cover. There’s a definite sense of other-wordliness with those wings. They look like they’re made of ice: strong, but fragile, too. The second cover, I think, loses quite a bit with the stone throne being the focus. Were the feathers on fire a bit larger–I thought them mere bits of ribbon at first, but your caption made me look closer–perhaps I’d like that one, but I think that one a step down. The first contains LOADS of wow–love it!

  3. I also love the first two, and I agree with you that the first one depicts the book’s mood much better. But the second one is soooo pretty! *drools*

Leave a Reply

