Teaser Tuesday – 20th December, 2016

Standard

tuesday

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by The Purple Booker.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This is my choice of the day:
The City of Ice – Book 2 of The Gates of the World series by K.M. McKinley
55% “Teach her to fight.”thecityofice
“Are you serious?” said Bannord.
“If I get you to teach her some of the more masculine arts, perhaps it will blunt her fury at me,” he said. “The women in my family! None of them seem content with their lot. She reads too many books.”

BLURB: Deep in the polar south stands a city like no other, a city built aeons ago by a civilisation mighty and wise. The City of Ice promises the secrets of the ancients to whomever can reach it first. It may prove too little knowledge too late, for the closest approach of the Twin in 4000 years draws near, an event that has heralded terrible destruction in past ages. As the Kressind siblings pursue their fortunes, the world stands upon the dawn of a new era, but it may yet be consumed by a darkness from the past.

This is a NetGalley arc due out at the end of the month. As you can see, once more I’ve acquired a second book in the series without realising it. However, although this one starts slowly I’m very much enjoying the complexity and tensions depicted in the worldbuilding. In multiple viewpoint with some intriguing other species that don’t automatically fall into the elf/dwarf/fae offerings, I am now keen to see where the story takes me. This looks like a promising series for fans of epic fantasy.

30 responses »

    • I think it depends which sub-genre you end up in. I’ve just read a slew of fantasy and sci fi reads that are all first person, single narrative pov and recently published.

  1. And don’t feel bad about not starting with the first book in the series. I do it often. And if I enjoy it, I go back and grab the other.

    • Yes – I tend to regularly crash into series and if I like them and feel I need to know more about what’s going on, then I’ll backtrack – but quite often the second book brings you up to speed, anyway:). NetGalley don’t flag if a book is part of a series and I’ve only recently started paying proper attention to the arcs to check.

  2. Yes, I think I saw this on NG and thought it looked good but I didn’t request it as I also haven’t read the first. I look forward to reading your review of this one.
    Lynn 😀

Leave a Reply

