Friday Faceoff – The sun did not shine, it was too wet to play…

Standard

This meme was started by Books by Proxy, whose fabulous idea was to compare UK and US book covers and decide which is we prefer. This week’s theme is storms, so I have selected Storm Front – Book 1 of The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher.

 

stormfront

This is the cover produced by Penguin Roc in April 2000. It is certainly dramatic, with lightning splintering across the sky, featuring the Chicago skyline and Harry’s little house right in the foreground. I really like this effort.

 

stormfront1

This version was published by Roc Fantasy in April 2000 and is the one I tend to associate with the book. In this version we get to see Harry – and this is definitely how I imagine him, with the Chicago streetscape in the background with the inevitable downpour lashing down…

 

stormfront2

This offering, published by Orbit in May 2011, uses the classic cover changing the font and focusing on the figure of Harry, while losing the black bar across the top. I think it is an improvement, giving a cleaner, sharper look to the cover. I also prefer the font – this is my favourite.

 

stormfront3

This is the cover for the audio book, published in February 2009 by Buzzy Multimedia. Again, it has gone back to one of the original covers, producing a cleaner version. Another strong addition.

 

stormfront4

I’m a tad torn over this one. It is by far the most boring cover and it is significant that while it was produced by Orbit in September 2005, they went on to use one of the earlier covers in their 2011 edition as you can see above. However, this is the cover of the book I read and subsequently bought and so I have very happy memories of getting lost with delight in this amazing urban fantasy.

21 responses »

  1. My husband is a big Jim Butcher fan and the Roc 2000 is the copy he read. Not having read the book myself, I didn’t identify the skyline behind the character, but to me, the picture is perfect.

  2. I think the same cover is my favorite, but that also might be because I’ve seen that one the most online. Although the others are nice too. I do think the last one is my least favorite of these as it doesn’t have that dark urban fantasy feel the others have, but I can see how if you have that version it brings you happy memories.

  3. Oddly, I think I like the most boring one the most. There’s something playful about a story playing hide-and-seek with its cover; plus, the cover gives a sense of reality to the story–rather like the history of quidditch books and fantastic beasts books Rowling created for charity years ago.

  4. I think the third one is the best: an interesting image with the main character and all the right colors (its predecessor, even though it uses the same image, comes across a bit dull due to the color choice).
    I share your mixed feelings about the last one: it could have been great (great idea and something new, contrasting the most UF book covers), but it’s lacking. Too dull and too plain.

Leave a Reply

