The Spirit Animal Award Nomination

Standard

I am honoured to have been nominated for this award by Charles French at https://charlesfrenchonwordsreadingandwriting.wordpress.com/. Do drop in and visit his blog if you haven’t already. He is presently busy at an exciting stage in his writing career as he has recently released his horror novel Maledicus – Book 1 of The Investigative Paranormal Society series.

spirtanimal

The rules of the award:
*Thank the blogger who nominated you, and link back to his/her blog.
*Post the award picture on your blog.
*Write a short paragraph about your blog and what it means to you.
*Answer this question: if you could be any animal, what would it be?
*Choose and notify ten  three nominees (yep – I’ve changed the rules on this one…)

What does my blog mean to me?
I love blogging about books. Reading is my main hobby and the fact that I can now share my thoughts and opinions with other book lovers around the world never fails to fill me with awed delight. I grew up in an era when reading was mostly a private affair and while I could discuss books with family members as we swapped our library books about, there was no way I could reach out to anyone else. However, now I can read reviews on any type of book I choose and exchange recommendations with readers who share my tastes. I am now in a position where I can request review copies through the likes of Netgalley and help spread the word about new releases that I’ve enjoyed. It is truly a wonderful time to be alive.

This other consequence is that as I exchange opinions and chat about books, I’ve got to know a community of wonderful people online – people I now count as friends. People from all over the world who I’ll probably never meet, but I now know what they read, what they do for a living and their views and opinions on all sorts of subjects. People who can have me laughing aloud as I sit reading their words, or whose kind comforting words cheer me up when I’m down. Thank you, all of you…

What is my spirit animal?
As for my spirit animal – it’s the elephant. I’ve loved these amazing creatures since I was a child and feel very sad they are being continuously hunted for their ivory. There was an excellent programme on Radio

pixabay.com

pixabay.com

4 about them, where I learnt that most of their communication is carried out sub-sonically, below human hearing range and that they choose their matriarch leaders for their kindness and nurturing skills. Which just goes to show how much more evolved they are, compared the sickening violence we visit upon each other by dint of choosing the most ambitious to be our leaders.

The females live in family groups and they look after each other when they are ill or injured and raise babies together. When not hunted, they can live up to the age of seventy. They are nomadic and roam across large tracts of land and their apparent destruction can help vegetation as their manure contains seeds and fertilises the land, while they snap off dead and dying branches during grazing. I just hope when my grandchildren and their children are adults, elephants will still be roaming around Africa and Asia – the outlook for them right now isn’t looking all that good.

My nominations
I’m going to nominate three awesome bloggers:-
The Captain’s Quarters – https://thecaptainsquartersblog.wordpress.com/. A fabulous nautical blogger whose reviews on a range of entertaining books are a delight to read.
SCy-Fy – the blog of S.C. Flynn – https://scflynn.com/. Author Stuart Flynn is bound to have an interesting spirit animal, given the subject matter of his book Children of the Different.
Kristen Twardowski – https://kristentwardowski.wordpress.com/. A writers’ blog, whose blogs on writing are always worth reading.

12 responses »

  1. Congrats Sarah! I agree with you on making friends here on the blogosphere that I’ll probably never meet in person, but they do mean a lot!

    Elephants are amazing animals. I honestly think the cutest baby anything is an elephant calf. Sooo cute!

    Thanks for sharing this with us and have a great day.

  2. It really amazing the way we’re able to connect with people all over the world about books. In middle school I had friends who read and we would all share books, but in high school up until I started blogging, I didn’t have anyone to talk about books with. The social aspect is my favorite thing about blogging, and the community is amazing!

    That’s lovely about how elephants choose their matriarch by which is the most nurturing and kind. Wouldn’t the world be so different if we humans ran things that way? It’s so sad the way so many animals are slowly being killed off :-/

    • I agree about the community, Kristen:). It is such a wonderful aspect of the internet – you always hear of the darker side in the news. I do wish sometimes the fact that folks like us can chat about our hobby right around the world could also be highlighted. And yes… it’s heartbreaking about the elephants, isn’t it? Such remarkable, caring creatures.

  3. What a lovely award, and congratulations for being nominated, Sarah. 🙂

    I agree with you about the amazing “powers” of blogging. How it brings people from all corners of the world together, people who might not get the chance to meet in real life but can connect through mutual interests / passions / dreams, etc. I’m grateful for having that experience through my own blog, too.

    I didn’t know that elephants chose their matriach for her kindness and nurturing. What a different place our world would be if humans functioned the same way… I think I’d prefer that over whatever results we might get in our presidential election.

    • Thank you, Sara:). It is lovely award, isn’t it? And you were one of the people I was thinking about when I was writing about the community and friendship:)).
      It is a wonderful way to choose a leader, isn’t it? Leaders have to be kind and nurturing to become the head of the herd. Wouldn’t the world be a better place if we selected our leaders in the same way? And maybe elephants wouldn’t be so endangered…

Leave a Reply

