Sunday Post – 9th October

Standard

Sunday Post

This is part of the weekly meme over at the Caffeinated Book Reviewer, where book bloggers can share the books and blogs they have written.

A much quieter week, getting back into a routine -and working very hard line editing Netted. The catch is, I have to keep breaking off, otherwise my effectiveness falls through the floor, which is annoying. On Wednesday evening my wonderful writing buddy, Sarah Palmer, provided me with valuable feedback on Dying For Space after beta-reading it for me. So I’ll be performing surgery on the narrative arc and tweaking the ending, using a good, sharp scalpel once I’ve completed my rewrite of Miranda’s Tempest. It seems this is to be the year of the rewrites – but if that’s what it takes to go on improving my writing, then so be it. It’s pointless writing new material if my current body of work is not the very best I can produce.

On Thursday, Mhairi spent the day with me. Although it was only a fortnight ago we last met up, it seemed much longer as a great deal has happened since then. It was great to be able to chat over things with a sympathetic listener – there’s a lot going on at present and not all of it good…

J and I went for a walk over Kithurst Hill yesterday – it was the first time I’ve done a proper walk since I started my Pilates and Fitstep and was delighted that I was able to complete it without limping. Sadly I forgot to take my camera, but we’re also aiming to go out again tomorrow, so long as it isn’t lashing with rain, and I try to remember to get a few photos.

My reading has slowed right down this week:

How to Be a Pirate – Book 2 of How To Train Your Dragon series by Cressida Cowell
howtobeapirateHiccup Horrendous Haddock III was a Viking Hero–dashing, brave, and ever so clever. But even Viking heroes have to begin somewhere. In this rip-roaring adventure he recounts his early days–when he still had a lot to learn about swordfights, shipwrecks, and homicidal dragons…

Events quickly stack up, as Hiccup, Toothless and Fishlegs, his best friend, trail along in their wake. Sure enough it all goes from dodgy to disaster fairly quickly as the Hairy Hooligans sail off in Stoick’s ship, the Lucky Thirteen. There are adventures, fights, treasure, shipwrecks, more fights and more treasure sufficient to thrill the heart of a child of any age. I was enthralled. I’ll take these funny, exciting books over the tepid film version every time.

 

 

Escapology by Ren Waroom
Shock Pao is the best. In the virtual world the Slip there’s nothing he can’t steal for the right price. escapologyOutside the Slip, though, he’s a Fail – no degree, no job. So when his ex offers him a job, breaking into a corporate databank, he accepts—it’s either that, or find himself a nice bench to sleep under. Amiga works for psychotic crime lord Twist Calhoun so when Shock’s war comes to her, it’s her job to bring him to Twist, dead or alive.

While Warom’s writing has the gritty lyric quality of the best cyberpunk when it comes to the world-building, she also excels at characterisation, which isn’t always the case with this genre. This is one of the most enjoyable cyberpunk offerings I’ve read and a mightily impressive debut novel from a very talented author – and the good news is there is another book in the series due out next year.

 

 

My posts last week:

Review of Necessity – Book 3 of the Thessaly series by Jo Walton

Teaser Tuesday – featuring Escapology by Ren Warom

2016 Discovery Challenge – September Roundup

Review of How To Be a Pirate – Book 2 of How To Train Your Dragon series by Cressida Cowell

Friday Faceoff – Consumed by the darkness, it hides all our sins… featuring Dark Eden – Book 1 of the Dark Eden series by Chris Beckett

Review of Escapology by Ren Warom

Interesting/outstanding blogs and articles that have caught my attention during the last week, in no particular order:

Why Villains Need More Respect in Books http://lovelypagesreviews.com/why-villains-need-more-respect-in-books/ This enjoyable article articulates some of the frustrations readers have when authors don’t pay sufficient attention to the baddies in their stories…

Lola’s Advice: How to Run a Giveaway http://lolasreviews.com/lolas-advice-how-to-run-a-giveaway/ This excellent blog is one I frequently visit and as ever – her feature addresses the topic with readable thoroughness

Richard Ankers’ micro fiction often packs a punch – I found this offering particularly moving… https://richardankers.com/2016/10/06/the-drowned-and-the-drowning/

Before the Call https://gloriachao.wordpress.com/2016/10/03/before-the-call/ Gloria Chao had her writing dream come true when she got her agent and then a publishing deal – and is now generously sharing the nitty gritty details of her preparation towards that dream

Chronicling the Craft: A Conversation About Beta-Reading, From Nailing Your Critiques to Finding Your Candidates https://saraletourneauwriter.com/2016/10/06/beta-reading-conversation/ I seem to have been particularly drawn to how-to articles this week – and this is another gem for writers who wish to improve their work

Many thanks for visiting and taking the time and trouble to comment – and may you have a wonderful reading and blogging week.

30 responses »

  1. That’s great that you’re taking the time and putting in the effort to make your writing as good as it can possibly be. I’m sure the work will pay off in the end 🙂

    Escapology sounds interesting. I had said I wanted to try more cyberpunk after enjoying one cyberpunk (I think) earlier this year, so maybe I should give it a try.

    Have fun taking pictures on your walk, and have a great week 🙂

  2. I need to take more walks! (Meaning, some walks, as I’ve been lazy lately, curled up with my books, or with my nose in my office nook).

    Good luck with the edits…and enjoy your week. Thanks for visiting my blog.

    • I know what you mean – the trouble with being a bookworm AND a writer is that I don’t get out and exercise enough! And it is beautiful time of year, here. Thank you for your good wishes regarding the edits – they are going reasonably well so far. Have a great week, Laurel.

    • Thank you, Kimber. Yes, we’re hoping to walk more now that the weather is cooler. I don’t mind walking in the heat, but Himself hates it. Hope you, too, have a wonderful reading week in that lovely chair:)

  3. Escapology sounds great, I like cyberpunk but don’t always find books in that genre I like, if that makes sense. So maybe I like the idea of cyberpunk more than the actual offerings? Anyway characterization is so important and if this one melds that with cyberpunk maybe I should give it a shot.

    Glad you’re having good progress with the editing. I hope you have a wonderful week.

    • Thank you, Greg:). Escapology is a really great read – too much cyberpunk is all about the landscape and setting to the detriment of character – not so this one. Hope your week is also great.

  4. I’m glad your pilates and fitstep have helped and you’re able to walk without limping. It sounds like you’ve had a productive week and I suspect the rewrites are a necessary evil. A blogging friend of mine is self-published and it’s interesting reading about her structural and line edits and so forth. She uses a professional editor also.

  5. My, you are busy. I hope your writing goes well for you. I can’t begin to imagine how much focus you need for that. Your walk sounds wonderful. My son and I walk when we can. Had to give it up for the summer as I was afraid of heat stroke! Just kidding, but it gets so unbearably hot here in the summer. Wishing you a less stressful week and hope things work out.

  6. I actually meant to talk a walk this Saturday… But I need new walking sneakers for home, since I brought those in to work to replace the old ones I needed to throw out. So I need to go sneaker-shopping soon.

    Anyways, I’m glad you were able to go for a walk this past weekend, and I hope went yesterday as well (and got to take some photos, too). About the rewrites: It sounds like you have the right mindset about them despite the disappointment of not being able to move on to the next phase as soon as you’d hoped. But you’ve got feedback to help, so I’m sure you know what you need to do, and I’m cheering you on. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing my beta-reading post, btw!

    • Thank you so much for your kind encouragement. You’re right – it feels as if I’ve been trudging up a constant editing mountain this past couple of years. But I know that if I don’t produce the very best work I possibly can – which takes time and careful effort – then I’d bitterly regret it. However there are times when it does feel a bit overwhelming…

      • And you’re very welcome regarding the beta-reading post – it’s an excellent how-article on a subject that causes writers a lot of problems. As ever, you approached it with your usual thoroughness and rigour.

      • It can be overwhelming, I agree. And I think that feeling is something we can run into at any time in the writing process. But it doesn’t stop us from writing, does it? 😉

      • No, it doesn’t:). It doesn’t EVEN stop me editing… I couldn’t stop writing if I wanted to – I’m thoroughly addicted!

  7. Good luck with all the rewrites! I hope it helps to make your writing even better and it must be nice to get good constructive feedback from others. It sure is a nice season for walks! I hope you’re bale to go out for another one soon if the weather allows it.
    It does sound like two good ones you read. i am curious about Escapology and will keep an eye out for your review of that one.
    Thanks so much for linking to my giveaway posts and your kind words about my post! I hope you’ll have a great week with good reads!

  8. I guess we’re on the same boat when it comes to rewriting/editing. I agree that writing new material makes no sense if you never get anywhere with what you’ve already written, so I’m curious. Are new stories that pull on your brain a motivator (to finish rewrites faster) or a distraction to you?

    • They are an almighty motivatior. My best and favourite writing moments always come when crafting the first draft – and while I’ve become a lot better at the editing process and hope to continue to improve, it isn’t what makes my heart beat faster or where my passion lies.

  9. The year of re-writes isn’t a bad thing. 🙂 Good luck with all of them though. And hope you have another awesome week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

