Friday Faceoff – There’s blood on thy face…

Standard

This meme was started by Books by Proxy, whose fabulous idea was to compare UK and US book covers and decide which is we prefer. This week we are looking at covers featuring blood. I have gone for Matt Haig’s witty, clever book The Radleys.

 

theradleys

This offering was published by Canongate Books in 2010. I really like it – the white picket fence with a dribble of blood. Spare and effective, it captures the uncomfortable collision the Radley family encounter between their everyday suburban life – and their hidden vampire selves struggling to foreswear their blood addiction…

 

theradleys1

This version was produced by Free Press in 2011. It alludes to a particular event in the book. Another effective cover, with the young girl in the floating red party dress.

 

theradleys2

This edition was published in 2010 by the Free Press and closely follows the Canongate design, but the main difference is the more eye-catching font in blood-red.

 

theradleys3

This is the paperback edition produced by Canongate in 2010 and again, features a blood-red font that gives a sense of the comic content, yet still giving a sense that it isn’t a cosy read.

My personal favourite is the first cover. I really like the darker font, which allows that dribble of blood to really pop on the white fence. Do you agree?

20 responses »

  1. I like all of them. Like you, I prefer the first cover, but the other ones look fun. I take it there might be some humor in this book.

  2. I’ve actually read this book years ago, I can’t remember a lot about it though. It’s neat to see all the different cover versions for this one. The cover of the girl with the red dress might fit the story, but it sure stands out among the other covers, the feel is very different and the others are more cartoonish? I think my copy had the last cover, I like that one and the first one the best. The first one is a bit darker and more serious, were the last one is a bit more comical, but still hints to the darker parts as well.

  3. I really like the first one for balancing between a very artistic and tasteful cover and the Twilight-like colour-scheme. I also like the last one, because… well, because it’s pretty.

  4. Honestly, I like the last one best. The coffin door and bats flying allude to the vampire theme. The first one, I almost missed the dribble of blood, but when I saw it thought more of murder than vampires. The girl in the red party dress is very eye-catching but I don’t know if the book is a rom/com but that’s what I would think with that cover.

    • I agree about the cover with the girl in the red dress, it could well look like a rom/com. I suppose because the white picket fence cover is the one I read and it was so much fun, that is why I like it so much. You’re right – the last one references vampires more clearly than the others. Have you read it?

Leave a Reply

