Friday Faceoff – The First Men in the Moon

Standard

This meme was started by Books by Proxy, whose fabulous idea was to compare UK and US book covers and decide which is we prefer. This week we got together in Proxy’s absence and decided to find covers featuring a moon. So I went back to a classic read I enjoyed far longer ago than I care to mention. And came up with a hatful of covers featuring H.G. Wells’ The First Men in the Moon, first published in 1901.

 

firstmeninthemoon

This is one of the Kindle editions, with a very straightforward, stripped down cover. Still… it’s the Moon, people, so it is still stunningly beautiful.

 

firstmeninthemoon1

This was released in 2000 by Dover Publications. I like the font and the detail below it, depicting the underground life of the moon people.

 

thefirstmeninthemoon2

Gollancz released this cover in 2001, to celebrate the centenary of the first publication. I think it’s rather fun and nicely evokes the period feel without trying too hard.

 

thefirstmeninthemoon3

This edition was published in 1965 by Airmont Publishing Company. There is something about covers from that time that I really love.

 

firstmeninthemoon4

This is another Kindle edition, produced this year. There is a real period feel to this effort, with lots of enjoyable detail. I think that concentrating on the ship and the two space travellers is a smart move. My favourite is the 1965 cover – which do you prefer? There are shedloads of others, by the way, I just cherry-picked my favourites.

15 responses »

  1. I also prefer the ’65 cover – which is so odd because a few years ago I wouldn’t have looked twice at that cover. I’ve developed a real taste for some of these classic covers from that era – probably helped along by my month long challenge during Vintage Sci fi last year where I looked at a different classic book each using covers.
    Great choice.

  2. It’s amazing to see how books that have been around a long time have worn so many different covers. I know that’s certainly the case for LOTR and The Hobbit, and many of Ursula K. Le Guin’s stories, too.

    If I had to pick one… I’d say the 100th anniversary cover by Gollancz. I like how you can see Earth from the lunar surface. It puts a different perspective on things (or, rather, a different one from Earth’s view of the moon).

    • They certainly do stack up a variety of covers, don’t they? And that doesn’t include the plethora of foreign covers – I could have gone on and on…
      Yes – it’s interesting to note the difference in tone and approach to the cover design before and after 1969 once we’d actually landed on the Moon.

Leave a Reply

