Teaser Tuesday – 26th July, 2016

Standard

Teaser

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This is my choice of the day:
The Fifth Season – Book 1 of The Broken Earth trilogy by N.K. Jemisin
10% But it is not as hard to leave as you thought it would be. Not now, with your former neighbors’ stares sliding over your skin like rancid oil.

BLURB: Three terrible things happen in a single day. Essun, a woman living an ordinary life in a thefifthseasonsmall town, comes home to find that her husband has brutally murdered their son and kidnapped their daughter. Meanwhile, mighty Sanze — the world-spanning empire whose innovations have been civilization’s bedrock for a thousand years — collapses as most of its citizens are murdered to serve a madman’s vengeance. And worst of all, across the heart of the vast continent known as the Stillness, a great red rift has been torn into the heart of the earth, spewing ash enough to darken the sky for years. Or centuries.

Now Essun must pursue the wreckage of her family through a deadly, dying land. Without sunlight, clean water, or arable land, and with limited stockpiles of supplies, there will be war all across the Stillness: a battle royale of nations not for power or territory, but simply for the basic resources necessary to get through the long dark night. Essun does not care if the world falls apart around her. She’ll break it herself, if she must, to save her daughter.

Well this is different! As you can see, parts of this book are written in second person viewpoint – which is as rare as hens’ teeth… I can only recall a couple of other books I’ve read which used it. It’s early days and I found the omniscient Prologue a bit off-putting and the odd viewpoint is different – but the writing is strong and this is Jemisin, so I’m in for the duration. I’ll let you know how it goes in due course…

21 responses »

  1. If you enjoy epic Fantasy I’d give it a go… It’s a remarkable reading experience and Jemisin is a punchy writer with a style I find utterly addictive.

  2. Hmm, probably not my cup of tea, but sounds interesting. I think the second person POV feels weird, too; so does the omniscient perspective. I recently read a book with the omniscient view, and it took a while to get used to it.

    Thanks for sharing, and for visiting my blog.

    • You’re welcome Laurel:) Having said that – I think she’s pulled it off, I’m now 20% into the book and I’ve stopped thinking about the pov, and am immersed in the story.

  3. I can see why the viewpoint might be a bit offputting. It would probably take me a little while to adjust. Like you, I so rarely read books that are written in second person. It’s not very common.

    I really need to give N.K. Jemisin a try. I have two books by the author, but both remain unread at this point in time.

      • I don’t think I’m going to make it before the new book’s release. I’m somewhat stuck reading Prince of Thorns at the moment and it’s going slower than I expected.

Leave a Reply

