Friday Faceoff – Who’s at the door?

Standard

This meme was started by Books by Proxy, whose fabulous idea was to compare UK and US book covers and decide which is we prefer. This week we got together in Proxy’s absence and decided to feature covers with a door or gate on them – so I’ve gone with the second book in Meg Cabot’s enjoyable vampire tale – Overbite. Though looking at it, I’m now wondering if I should have used this one for last week’s Lady in Red…

 

overbite

This cover was released by Harper Collins back in July 2012. It is stylish, with plenty of eye appeal – though whether it effectively reflects the sheer fun and humour of this book is debatable…

 

overbite1

This is the German publication, produced by Blanvalet Verlag in June 2011. This version of Meena (presumably that is the mysterious woman depicted) is more demure – however we still have a door in the background…

 

overbite2

This is the Portuguese version, published by Galera Record in June 2011. I’m not sure if Meena is even dressed to go through the door! Still rather brooding and menacing, whereas the book is anything but…

overbite3

This Kindle version was produced by Harper Voyager in 2013 – she now looks like Little Red Riding Hood. However, I personally like this cover the best. There is a playful quality about the font, hinting that this book may be funny rather than horrific. Which is your favourite?

16 responses »

  1. I think I have to agree with your choice. And, your right, it would have made a great cover for the ‘lady in red’ theme to. 😊

    I had an absolute nightmare with this theme, I’m sure there’s loads of books with gates/gateways on and I’ve probably read some to but I’ll be damned if I could find any, though I did manage to get a cover with a door way on in the end.

    Praise to Lynn, for a tough but fun theme. 😊

  2. It’s easier to pick the least good, which I’d say is the German one: It’s completely static and doesn’t even give a clue as to the content — if I saw it in the store I’d assume it was an historical romance.

    The other three all seem a bit template.

    • It’s a really funny series – gently parodying the vampire craze while also giving us a vampire story, which none of the covers really convey. However this week’s challenge was to come up with a cover featuring a gate or doorway and I didn’t go for my first choice, because I thought one of the others would:))

    • This is a meme started by Books by Proxy, who would give us a weekly subject and those of us who liked the idea went off and found books covers with several editions, so we could compare and contrast. I am a sucker for book covers anyway = but it has proved to be one of my favourite weekly posts as it’s fun to do and I’ve learnt a lot about how tastes differ along cultural lines and over time.

      • I agree! Just the simple changes with this particular example–from the elegant red dress to the little red riding hood getup–say something fascinating about what the culture deems marketable as well as appropriate for its audience. I notice the gate never changed, though…I guess we all love a dark and spooky gate now and again. 🙂

      • Yes – and what STILL fascinates me about ALL these covers, is that the book is essentially very funny and I don’t think there is even a hint of that in most of the covers…

      • Oh, yes! That reminds me of Diana Wynne Jones’ CASTLE IN THE AIR. All the covers focus on the fantasy: magic carpet, strange genie, cloud castle; etc. It has to be one of the most hilarious stories I’ve ever read, but you’d never know from the cover how much humor is woven into the dialogue and plot delivery.

  3. Great choice and your winner could have killed two birds with one stones – like you said – Lady in Red!

    Well done 😀

    Was thinking we could all submit some themes through to Proxy to populate her theme page while she’s super busy – don’t mind running my ideas by you and Drew so we don’t hit on the same ones if you think that’s a good idea?

  4. I’m torn between the first one (more classy, and the “Twice bitten. Not shy.” tagline that suggests the humour within) and the last one (a bit more of a vibe you mention, but the Red Riding Hood… it’s a no 😉 ).
    What I like in both is the clever use of red that makes you think “vampires” in an instant. The foreign covers feel too generic and feel more romance or horror-like.

Leave a Reply

