Teaser Tuesday – 12th July, 2016

Standard

Teaser

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This is my choice of the day:
Machinations – Book 1 of the Machinations series by Hayley Stone
47%: This is how the memory looks in my head, but there’s no way of knowing whether it’s accurate; I machinationscould be filling in the blanks with what makes sense to me, what I’d like the past to look like, warm and friendly. I’ve begun to wonder how much I recall is actually real, and how much is stuff I’ve made up, cushioning the loss in my head.

BLURB: The machines have risen, but not out of malice. They were simply following a command: to stop the endless wars that have plagued the world throughout history. Their solution was perfectly logical. To end the fighting, they decided to end the human race.

A potent symbol of the resistance, Rhona Long has served on the front lines of the conflict since the first Machinations began—until she is killed during a rescue mission gone wrong. Now Rhona awakens to find herself transported to a new body, complete with her DNA, her personality, even her memories. She is a clone . . . of herself. Trapped in the shadow of the life she once knew, the reincarnated Rhona must find her place among old friends and newfound enemies—and quickly. For the machines are inching closer to exterminating humans for good. And only Rhona, whoever she is now, can save them.

This book starts with a bang as Rhona dies – and doesn’t let up. The writing is strong, the characterisation layered and sophisticated, making Rhona a great protagonist. I was expecting an exciting adrenaline-filled tale of adventure and action – and have found something more profound and satisfying. Fingers crossed the ending of this first book in a very promising series manages to deliver.

17 responses »

    • I’ve tracked down your review – seems extremely fair to me and you’ve raised a couple of the niggles that I’ve got with the book. That said, I’ve been very impressed with the characterisation of Rhona, which is nicely complex and very well done. Have a great reading week, Cap:)

  1. Starting with a character’s death (and not going into a flashback after that) reminds me of Richard Morgan’s “Altered Carbon”. Have you read it? It’s a nice cyberpunk story with a noir feel (the following two novels in the series are more sci-fi). Having said that, “Machination” seems interesting too, like a mix of the said Altered Carbon with a Terminator premise.
    I’ll be looking forward to your review! 🙂

    • Yes, I have. I really loved the first 3 of Morgan’s series, but wasn’t so keen after that. I’ve just completed Machinations and will be reviewing it shortly:)

      • I didn’t even know there was more after the 3 parts (I don’t think they got translated into Polish, and when I moved over to Ireland, I forgot about the author).

      • You’re right! I’ve just checked up and realised there aren’t any more. I did try the first of The Land Fit for Heroes series, but didn’t enjoy it that much.

      • I didn’t really pick up anything else by Morgan either. I had one fantasy book, but never got to read it really.

      • That’s still better than I did with Goodkind’s Sword of Truth (I didn’t make it past the first page). Anyways, looks like Morgan’s fantasy is a definite “no” then.

  2. Yes, that is so true! I’ve had memories that I was certain was real, but it turns out that they weren’t (and which left me with the wrong impression of what chicken pox was like for about ten years)

    • Yes… memory is a tricky issue, isn’t it? And given how much of ourselves we invest in our memories and our own story of past events, it is disturbing just how fragile those recollections actually are – as some unscrupulous therapists have managed to prove.

  3. Really good teaser. As others have pointed out, there is truth in it. Sounds like an interesting book, and a logical choice that machines would make as an answer to end war.
    Thanks for coming by

Leave a Reply

